We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes you just need a great cup of coffee and a chihuahua”
Review of El Sofa Cafe

El Sofa Cafe
Ranked #209 of 1,033 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $35 - $90
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Cafe with excellent coffee, baguettes, salads and gourmet pizzas!
Colorado Springs
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Sometimes you just need a great cup of coffee and a chihuahua”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

You're in a foreign land, and you need to get your barrings. You need coffee. Serious coffee. Amaralta and crew do it right, from the pure espresso to the fancy carrot cake lattes. And Habibi is the perfect ambassador!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManitouWarren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Best coffee and eggs in town!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Been coming here for 2 years and this place is a must!! Strongest and best cup if coffee in town. And the food is delicious. Never a bad meal. Best green sauce for chilaquiles ever. And habibi the little chihuahua is adorable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ckdufresne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Vallarta and more”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Try as I might, I cannot go a day without checking in to this chill little coffee bar. I have been a winter drop-in for at least 5 years. Why? I love, love, love the staff. I love their mascot chihuahua, I love their food, and one cannot beat their coffee. Absolutely hands down, the best java in town.
They have free wifi, comfy couches, and oodles of terribly interesting clientele.
And there is always someone who knows what is happening in town. Seriously, this little cafe is a metaphor for home, for comfort, and for a hit of simple joy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank in2soap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My home away from home <3”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

It is charming, warm and full of information. The coffee is the best in town, especially the Soy Chai Latte. Many delicious food options, and always a delightful dessert when you have a sweet tooth.
One of my favorite childhood beverages is Hot Chocolate Abuelita style, THE BEST!!!
Thank you Amaranta & Conny for putting your love into the meals you prepare. And thank you Isel for having Herbalife protein shakes for sale ;-) yum

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank almatikinanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The cafe named El Sofa is as comfortable and homey as your sofa at home. I try to get there every day to pop in, see friends, and have what is without a doubt the best and strongest cup of coffee in Puerto Vallarta. They have lots to eat, too, all of it homemade. I can't praise the place enough, it's become an extension of my home.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chingado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sofa Cafe also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to El Sofa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing