We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Punta De Mita @ the Four Season”
Review of Surf Mex

Surf Mex
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Marieta Island Snorkel Tour from Sayulita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Join us out in the waves and exploring the beauty and wildlife of Punta Mita, Sayulita and Puerto Vallarta. We provide a safe and fun environment for families to enjoy a selection of life-changing, eco-friendly experiences in paradise. Nature is our inspiration and our source, that's why we have such strong commitment in promoting ocean conservation by providing amazing adventures with very low impact on the environment, offering unique connections between people and the ocean.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Punta De Mita @ the Four Season”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Unfortunately, many locals or regular travelers don't have access to the amazing beaches there. But, I stayed at the Four Seasons and loved the white sands and great service. My advise is to make a lunch reservation at one of the Large hotels so you can have access to the beaches.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Phillip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    87
    39
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saltillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small beaches along the coast”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We went to Punta de Mita to paddle surf. I've never been to an actual beach here. It was breathtaking. The beaches were small and not crowded (like the rest of Puerto Vallarta that week). The restaurants on the beach made some of the most delicious food.And the view onto the bay was gorgeous. I recommend getting out of Vallarta to go through the jungle to Punta Mita. You won't want to leave.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Good,The Bad and The Ugly”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Area is terrific and at off season is less crowded and weather is excellent. Rained at night but by daylight had light breezes and blue skies. This is more of a laid back area (1 hour north of Puerto Vallarta and is a little peninsula that juts out into the Pacific Ocean. Great views and good swimming. This was the one of the good parts of our (10 of us adults and teenagers mixture of two families) vacation. The Bad was our Alamo rental car experience at Puerto Vallarta airport...nice airport, very welcoming. We reported to the Alamo counter in the airport as instructed, they had our reservations and quickly called for our pickup. Vans arrived almost at once and we were driven to the off airport car pickup place. Lots of scurrying around and filling out of forms and two hours latter we got into our cars(not the midsized we ordered and more than what we had agreed to,,,I will never rent from Alamo again at least not at the Puerto Vallarta airport...by this time we were all too tired to make a fuss grabbed our cars and went our way. If one is just going to stay on the Punta Mita peninsula and basically vegetate you could take a taxi to your destination about $80 one way. However, we wanted to travel around a little and were happy to have the means to do so. We discovered the little (2,000 residents) town of Sayulita: cobblestone streets, right on the ocean full of excellent restaurants (recommend Don Pedro's right on the beach) with a very pretty town square just freshly painted. Be sure you get specific directions to the town as the only turn off is very poorly marked and while small Sayulita has some one way streets which are also poorly marked. we eventually rented some ATVs and horses and everyone had a good time.Lots of things to do but we especially enjoyed the off season laid back feel to the entire town. During tourist season I am sure the town is jumping. Will do another review on Sayulita itself.Now to The Ugly: the roads. Not very well maintained, do not speed and watch out for the speed bumps. They come in clusters if you don't slow down your car's undercarriage will get mangled or worse.Getting to Syulita is not easy but worth the trip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Walt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Long way”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hard to get in and not like the south need a car , taxi is $80.00

If you like $500 per night it is great

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not much Beach”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

It was something to be seen they have a nice little Marina and cute little restaraunts.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimmylovestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Mex also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Surf Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing