We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The local Festival” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Church of Our Lady of Guadalupe

The Church of Our Lady of Guadalupe
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.00*
and up
Food Tour in Puerto Vallarta: Off-the-Beaten Path Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful cathedral featuring its trademark crown of angels.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The local Festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is such a charming festival during December there are parades and floats lot of mucic and cultural events to enjoy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank carmenmarie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,154
    867
    211
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
203 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Magnificent tour of this Cathedral and the Bell Tower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had such a great tour of Our Lady of Guadalupe Church in Puerto Vallarta. Having been to PV many times in the years past, we decided we wanted to learn more about this Church and to see the Bell Tower.... so before we went to PV, we called to see if we could have a tour. The answer was, "yes!" Our private tour was amazing and we learned so much about the history of this Church. They never do tours, so to us, this was very special indeed. And walking up the "special tiny iron wrought spiral staircase" to the roof of the church and then again, an even tiny-er iron wrought spiral staircase up to the bell tower landing was outstanding in itself. The 180 panoramic views from the church roof and all over Vallarta, including Banderas Bay were something I will never forget. The magnificence of those bells! WOW! That was the highlight of my whole trip!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 777Deana777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
203 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Magnificent Church and Bell Tower!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had such a great tour of Our Lady of Guadalupe Church in Puerto Vallarta. Having been to PV many times in the years past, we decided we wanted to learn more about this Church and to see the Bell Tower.... so before we went to PV, we called to see if we could have a tour. The answer was, "yes!" Our private tour was amazing and we learned so much about the history of this Church. They never do tours, so to us, this was very special indeed. And walking up the "special tiny iron wrought spiral staircase" to the roof of the church and then again, an even tiny-er iron wrought spiral staircase up to the bell tower landing was outstanding in itself. The 180 panoramic views from the church roof and all over Vallarta, including Banderas Bay were something I will never forget. The magnificence of those bells! WOW! That was the highlight of my whole trip!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 777Deana777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

it is located very nicely right in the center of the town so if you are there already why not to take a peak or at least take a picture with the church in the background. Facing the church on a Hidalgo street on a right corner, across from church is a little restaurant which I recommend for a meal, big portions, local flavor and not over priced.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diadora15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
280 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE ALONG THE MALECON”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

One of the most popular sites in Puerto Vallarta, at least according to what I've read. It's a VERY short distance behind the Malecon, but you will easily find it as you walk along. It's very quaint, very beautiful (in a simple way).

There was a wedding going on when we were there, so we only got to "peek" inside, rather than explore it, but seeing the GORGEOUS bride in her GORGEOUS dress and hearing a BEAUTIFUL rendition of Ave Maria more than made up for that.

There is a beautiful, haunting statue of St. Francis of Assisi outside.

Easily reachable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jahhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Church of Our Lady of Guadalupe also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to The Church of Our Lady of Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing