We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Hacienda San Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda San Angel
Certificate of Excellence
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
389 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place has a MAGICAL feel about it, when you walk in your eyes will see lights on the stairs, antiques, paintings, fountains and then you will be escorted to the balcony, where you will dine and if you go about sunset, you will see a marvelous view and colors reflecting from the sky into the water.
There is no detail that has been missed, (even the napkins and plate has a monogram on them). Yes this is a little high. but well worth it, because you will take your time dinning and listening to the lovely mariachi band.
Two different people said you must go there, and now I can tell other to do the same.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    30
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
31
126
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had dinner overlooking Puerta Vallerta in this wonderful, historic Mexican home.
At one time it was a religious convent than bought by local legend... Richard Burton's first wife The waiters will tell you good stories about who really lived in this house but it is all part of the eventing entertainment. Once you have arrived a. Marachi band begins a long segment of romantic love songs...and does requests while you wait for your dinner..nice..
The food...was good...higher priced than most in the area but did come with outstanding service. It was just a memorable night in Puerto Vallerta and worth it in our book We asked about the rooms as it is a boutique hotel ...our waiters were happy to explain the differences in decor each room offered. Did I tell you about the view...??? worth the vist as you dine outside on a veranda surrounded by beautiful Mexican works of art.

Room Tip: Ask to see all the rooms available or look on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plumlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Would recommend this scenic restaurant to anyone who enjoys great service, interesting dishes and amazing mariachi music. We were taken by surprise from the moment we walked through the door of this historic hacienda. Everything about this experience including the reasonable check was memorable. Recommend it highly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a stunning hotel, when you walk through the front door you step back in time to a wonderful venue full of antiques. On to a courtyard and then up the stairs to a rooftop restaurant with incredible views.
We were a party of 15 for my neices birthday, super food, good wine and a great night. We will return again soon.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We dined at this restaurant on WEd. Nov.13,2013. My friends and I were 10-15 min late. The male that let us in...very curtly said I thought you were not coming. Then he walked away from us without saying a word and went into his office. We were left standing there and did not know what to do. He finally finished a phone call and took us up to the restaurant. We had a very arrogant waiter which made the evening more uncomfortable. The Marachi band and singers were excellent. The food was just okay and very overpriced. We asked for our bill and to our surprise we were charged 20% Gratuity. Not that we have a problem with 20% gratuity but there was no notice and we ordered a couple of very expensive wines. iu dont like paying 20% on $100 bottles of wine when they are already marked up ridiculous. This was our 3rd time to this restaurant and our last. Puerto Vallarta has wonderful restaurants that would treat customers much better.

Room Tip: We never used the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sorochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I loves this hotel and all of it charm and elegance!
Even the sheets are beautiful and the rooms are individual and so comfortable.
I loved the way it is tucked away and you would never have any idea driving by the property what is hidden behind the front doors.
On the weekends the Most marvelous Mariachis group of about 10-12 play wonderful lively Mexican music in the restaurant.
The only complaint I would have of the Hacienda is if the price came down especially in the off season I think it would be a lot busier.... In other words it is expensive for the city of Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

when you ring the doorbell to get in you have no idea what is in store for you. you walk in to a beautiful courtyard filled with statues and fountains. then you walk in to the garden area which has no less that 200 candles that light the stairway in the evening. your first 300 feet in to the building is amazingly beautiful, and it is just getting started. You are then led up a little stairway to the roof which at first glance will stop you in your tracks. you have a total view of the bay and at sunset you literally will just stop and stare to take it all in. we sat down at 6 PM and the sun set a few min later. the sky was filled with gorgeous reds, yellows and pink. then the food experience begins. Our Server was Oscar, he was very attentive and was spot on with his recommendations based on our preferences. right after our appetizers were delivered the Live entertainment came. it was a 12 piece Mariachi band, all with strong voices, including one women. (not something i have seen before in a mariachi band). they played throughout our dinner and it was a wonderful way to round out the entire experience.

Room Tip: didnt stay in a room. was there for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjfullhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.2 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,840 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,531 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,346 reviews
4.4 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Angel

Property: Hacienda San Angel
Address: Privada Miramar 336 | Col. Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda San Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda San Angel's sixteen luxuriously appointed suites are situated among a verdant oasis of lush gardens dripping with fiery bougainvillea and fragrant jasmine. Meticulously pairing Mexican Colonial decor with lavish amenities, the traditional hacienda atmosphere offers a comfortable yet refined respite. While each suite is distinctly different, all offer air conditioning, spectacular coastal views or private balconies, and a magnificent array of antiques and fine art dating to the 17th Century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda San Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Angel Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing