We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda San Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda San Angel
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

HSA is a must see do and eat at while in Vallarta . A romantic experienced not to be missed. Once inside the courtyard you may think you are in a Mediterranean villa . The owners have spared no expense in making this venue no less than magical . The food , the staff and the surroundings will keep you coming back .
We just had a group event at their most recent addition , The Chapel which is directly across the street . A celebration evening for 42 guests was amazing and priced similar to most US or Canadian venues however twice the atmosphere and experience .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    29
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
30
121
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I will try to keep this review fairly concise. First of all, this is categoroized as a B&B/Inn on TA and I think that tends to imply an intimacy that is not really apparent at this property. It was beyond beautiful and I would consider staying again. My husband and I stayed a week and we enjoyed the trip. We ate three nights in the restaurant (although I had a list of restaurants I wanted to try in the area). We felt the food and service was outstanding. In fact, we give a particular nod to Alex. We received great service from everyone we encountered and Juanita and Theron were helpful on a number of fronts. But, I will say I do agree with many of the other commenters regarding the owner. She did not say one word to us all week. As we were leaving, I asked her if she was the owner, extended my hand and told her how much we enjoyed our stay. She seemed unaccustomed to speaking to guests and claimed she had not seen us all week. If you are an inn or B&B traveler, this is just not what you expect. She has an incredible property and seems to have some long time staff.

I regret that I did not ask to see more of the suites- I am sure I would be happy in any one of them! We stayed in the San Miguel suite and the only thing marring that stay was the very loud renovation project taking place right next door. Not the hotel's fault but it is discouraging if you want to stay in the room and it is so lovely- you will!

You do need to know Puerto Vallarta- this property is on the side of a steep hill- if you don't or can't walk- be prepared to take taxis. It does have wonderful proximity to many key attractions and is close to very nice restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We enjoyed dinner at Hacienda San Angel this evening. We made our reservation 1 hour prior to arriving and had the good fortune of seeing the Mariachi Band play twice. We were seated at a table of two to the back of the restaurant and were able to enjoy the staff behind us working on bills etc. The ambiance of this hotel and restaurant is delightful and charming. For the prices they charge the food and service was good but not excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kfuegito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am giving this place 2 stars instead of 1 because the food was ok. Unfortunately food is not the only thing needed to make a restaurant a good place to go. We were treated poorly by the owner and the staff.

We were in Puerto Vallarta for 6 nights and were planning where to go for dinner each night. We decided to try this place on Saturday night. My parents had been there before and said to make sure to go when the mariachi band is playing and try to sit by them. They told us that we must go only when the band is playing otherwise don't go. We went to our concierge and stood by as she called the restaurant to book a reservation for Saturday and to request that we are seated near the mariachi band. The concierge booked the reservation and told us they would seat us near the mariachi band if possible.

When we arrived at the restaurant we were informed that Saturday is the only night that they DO NOT have the mariachi band and our concierge should have known. I was right there when the concierge called and the restaurant never told her that mariachi band wasn't playing that night. The restaurant blamed this error solely on the concierge and would do nothing to help the situation. The owner wouldn't even speak to us. we were told we were out of luck sorry.

This place has officially lost my business. I go to Puerto Vallarta every year and will never go back. There are far better restaurants to choose from. you can see from reading previous reviews that the owner obviously doesn't care about her customers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The most beautiful place we've ever stayed! A huge, open complex of old mansions, filled with stunning antiques, statues, paintings, trees, swimming pools (3 of them!), and extremely friendly staff. Theron and Juanita were very welcoming and helpful, full of information, and spoke excellent English (helpful to us because our Spanish is lousy!) We stayed five days, and could easily have spent the whole time in the Hacienda, it was so beautiful and comfortable. But we were also only a few blocks from the Malecon, directly above the Guadelupe Church, and a few blocks from the island on the Rio Cuale, wonderful to explore on foot. Expensive, but definitely worth it, and we will go back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Crown View Suite, and thought it was perfect, though there are also more spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drsteveallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Everytime you walk into the Hacienda the setting takes your breath away. The open air "lobby" is absolutly stunning. We stayed in Aug, the off season, so we did not get to experience the restaurant, the tradeoff was having the whole place to ourselves and a butler to bring breakfast in the morning and margaritas and guacamole anytime during the day. I was told at the front desk that a couple of other rooms were occupied, but we felt like we were the only people there. True, August is monsoon season, but we absolutly loved being able to enjoy the intense thunder and lightning storms from our room. This hacienda is actually more beautiful than shown in their photos, romantic, private, incredible.

Room Tip: Presidental has an amazing view and huge patio. For a really unique experience, I reccommend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbunny10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I decided to have one of my birthday dinners at Hacienda San Angel and the staff and property did not disappoint!!!! The property is stunning and the food was amazing. I sent a few emails to the event planner (Theron) and everything was a planned out flawlessly! When we (9 guests) arrived we were greeted with smiles and cocktails and very tasty appetizers. We were then given a tour of the property and then taken to the restaurant which was a covered outside area with AMAZING views of the city. The art and attention to detail on this property is almost impossible to describe, you really have to see it for yourself. Perfect for small to medium size groups and I would highly recommend it for intimate dinners.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 36Blaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.6 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#5 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
4.1 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#12 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#9 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garlands Del Rio
Garlands Del Rio
#2 of 74 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.7 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Angel

Property: Hacienda San Angel
Address: Privada Miramar 336 | Col. Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda San Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda San Angel's sixteen luxuriously appointed suites are situated among a verdant oasis of lush gardens dripping with fiery bougainvillea and fragrant jasmine. Meticulously pairing Mexican Colonial decor with lavish amenities, the traditional hacienda atmosphere offers a comfortable yet refined respite. While each suite is distinctly different, all offer air conditioning, spectacular coastal views or private balconies, and a magnificent array of antiques and fine art dating to the 17th Century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda San Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Angel Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing