We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury”
Review of Hacienda San Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda San Angel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for the last three nights of our honeymoon and it really was a treat! We were there in January 2005 and enjoyed the individual service in addition to the fact that the staff left you alone otherwise. We swam in the pools, had a lovely dinner there one evening and loved the afternoon band that played in the courtyard. I was glad we spent at least 3 nights there so that we had the time to enjoy the amenities.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Angel's Dome Suite with a private balcony where we had breakfast one morning. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hoosiers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 267 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed in the San Miguel Suite as a birthday present surprise from my husband. The view is breathtaking and I felt like a movie star. All of the details were taken care of flawlessly, the staff was attentive and lovely. We had dinner at the restaurant below our room and were treated fantastically there as well with spot on food. This was our second visit to the restaurant and it does not disappoint. The front desk coordinated morning massages on our balcony and if anyone has had a massage in Mexico, they are simply the best! We will definitely be back. The love is in the details here.

Room Tip: We were able to view most of the rooms while there and none of them would disappoint me. However, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Hacienda San Angel is far and away the best place I've EVER stayed!

I considered not reviewing HSA at all, because the next time I go I want it all to myself again! I'm worried my favorite room will be booked or families with obnoxious kids will be scurrying about... but this place deserves the props so here goes!

Every detail, from breakfasts with Carlos in the family-style eat-in kitchen, to the gorgeous grounds, phenomenal mariachi band in the evenings and 6-trillion thread-count sheets that felt like heaven when we melted into bed, was sheer perfection.

I went with my new girlfriend and we felt like we were on a "Bachelor" reality show date! After staying there, I have NO IDEA where we could possibly honeymoon one day and have it be any more romantic & special.

Speaking of getting married, they have a chapel there that will blow your mind... the sweetest, most authentic old-school little chapel you ever saw with one whole side open to Banderas Bay and an amazing view of the fabulous church next door! I'm not Catholic, nor am I a big fan of making a big show of getting married (I'd rather put the money towards a house or something longer lasting), but I would feel honored & very lucky to get married there!

This is not an inexpensive place, so don't go if you aren't ready to spend some serious coin... but I promise you, if you stay here, you will not regret your choice!

If you have kids, please do yourself and everyone else a favor and leave them at home. Go re-kindle your romance instead :)

I cannot say enough about this hidden treasure!

p.s. with all the horrible things going on in Mexico these days, we almost didn't go... but we felt much safer walking along the Malecon in Puerto Vallarta (local police were VERY visible) than we do walking around in Santa Monica on the 3rd Street Promenade!

Room Tip: We stayed in the San Miguel Suite which has the best views, a HUGE (like 600 SF) private patio and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DogBeach90265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

from the moment you step into the courtyard, you feel the magic... the lush vegetation and candlelit staircases, the fountains, the artwork, the peace and quiet... could this be heaven? each and every detail is breath taking. not to mention the four adorable dogs roaming around the property quietly, dogs which were adopted by the owner who is quite involved with the local Humane society. the rooms are impeccable. the views are magnificent. nothing to do with the all-inclusive, trying-too-hard hotels by the beach. we have seen nothing like this before, and have already booked our next stay. literally stupendous.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank the_giulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Fabulous stay! Wonderful room ! And a terrific dinner..

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keeferers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Staying at this resort surprised us with it's old world charm and impeccable service. Sitting on the hillside with three pools and stunning panoramic views of the Bay of Banderas make this an obvious choice for travelers and their families.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tech-Guy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Husband and I had our anniversary supper there on Feb 6th, was concerned about prices, but paid about $140 US with appetizers, wine, meals and generous tip. Fantastic food and felt price was very good for what we had. Enjoyed the mariachi so much. Would highly recommend the place for special events or just because!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KRRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
566 reviews
4.2 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,944 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
814 reviews
4.4 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Angel

Address: Privada Miramar 336 | Col. Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $392 - $684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda San Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda San Angel's sixteen luxuriously appointed suites are situated among a verdant oasis of lush gardens dripping with fiery bougainvillea and fragrant jasmine. Meticulously pairing Mexican Colonial decor with lavish amenities, the traditional hacienda atmosphere offers a comfortable yet refined respite. While each suite is distinctly different, all offer air conditioning, spectacular coastal views or private balconies, and a magnificent array of antiques and fine art dating to the 17th Century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda San Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Angel Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing