We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for a clean, well-located three-star resort...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Ranked #30 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value for a clean, well-located three-star resort...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

As an avid readers of Tripadvisor , hubby and I arrived to PV and Canto del sol with our sun-seeking heads filled with information. We had ear plugs for any noise, lowered our expectations for food (just happy someone else would be cooking), knew the beach was small and subject to closure, brought fistful of U.S. one dollar bills for tips and those fabulous, crazy buses that whip you into town in minutes... and practiced our best brush-offs for the timeshare sharks. I guess it worked as we had a great time. You know it's a wonderful vacation when you start talking about what you're going to see and do on the NEXT trip within the first few days of the current one! BUT be advised you can't show up in Mexico and complain about the type of food, infrastructure and daily customs being so different or inferior. Don't bother going. We heard someone say she booked last minute on some el cheapo travel site a trip to Canto and was horrified to learn that it had only one pool. Do your research!! (Canto's one pool is clean and perfect for a cool off.) Our room was on the quiet side of the resort directly over the tennis courts and had a nice view of the mountains. We knew it might be more scenic but a tad noisier in rooms with a pool/ water view. (But if we asked I think they would have accommodated our wishes to move...) The resort is very clean, the staff friendly and the activity group of guys and gals-- energetic. The beach is rarely actually closed as we walked it every day but the tape is up to enforce the idea that swimming might not be a good idea. Further down the beach there is a lifeguard.
As timeshare owners we have slowly learned how to extricate ourselves from the timeshare sellers. Just say no....or smile and shake your head. In Mexico the saying goes that everyone has two jobs -their regular one and their timeshare gig. In a country where bartering has been the norm I suspect Mexican timeshare sellers can come across as quite annoying....Be prepared and not surprised with this reality.
As we booked through RCI we had the option to purchase the all-inclusive package which we did on two our our seven days. One day the food was so-so (but we ate it happily) and on the other...it was very tasty. If you want to...you could live on the fast food offerings at the snack bar. BUT by all means every traveller to PV has to get themselves into town to eat and drink out. Our suggestions: Blakes and Tsunami (both just steps from Canto) and further into town along the Malecon and in the Zone Romantica...Cafe de Olla, Apoca, El Arrayan, Cheeky Monkey, La Dolcce Vita...These are only a few of the great eats in PV. For a drink? Order a beer or margarita at Burros (on the south side of the river and is right on the beach...) Highlights of the trip were a day excursion to Yelapa and a wonderful 2.5 hour tour of four fabulous villas. This is a fundraiser through International Friendship Club...Wed and Thurs until April. Tickets go on sale those days at 9 am at 513 Ollas Altas? $35 US. Worth it!! We would also recommend Las Caletas which we've done as a day excursion during a cruise.
On our return home, as I am want to do...I started checking out other places in PV for our next trip just so we could do and see something new...however, when stacked up against what Canto offers for the price (it had by far the best daily optional all-inclusive package price) and location, I think that Canto del Sol as your PC base would be hard to beat...(But we do love the old town and Romantic Zone and so would consider just renting a condo in those areas one day.) .Remember...be safe, do your research, be open-minded and soak up both sun and flavour of the destination to which you're headed. You're on holidays for heaven's sake!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CruisingCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    957
    393
    157
    93
See reviews for
613
837
105
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed at the Canto Del Sol from January 19th to 26th, 2010. It was myself, my husband, our daugher who is almost three and my parents travelling together. When we arrived the check in went well and the front desk agent was nice enough to accomodate us so that we could have rooms side by side, this was great. The rooms were backing the tennis club but we didn't complain as we don't spend much time in the room and it was a nice set up being so close to each other since my parents were helping out with our daughter. The rooms were very clean which was another plus.

The pool was great, it was the nicest I have seen after being on several all inclusive trips. It was heated and had seats all the way around, also the kids pool was great-it was shallow enough that you didn't have to worry and it was blocked off from the main pool. However the pool was very busy during our entire stay and I think this was partly due to the beach being closed due to the rough ocean. That was a big downer....we were only allowed on the beach one day out of 7 as the water was coming up to the walls of the resort-they had it all taped off so you couldn't go down.

Last the food....this was something to be desired let me tell you. I am normally not a picky eater but found the food at this resort to be terrible! Also the buffet restaurant is way over populated, needs more tables a larger buffet selection and better quality of food. We did eat at the Mexican restaurant one night and it was great. We chose the Tennis grill as our second Dinner and this was not as good...steak was very tough and potatoes were raw.

Overall a nice resort but would not return due to the food.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jantraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

My husband and I got back last nite after a week at Canto del Sol and would certainly go there again. It's very clean, lots of plants, the pool is inviting, the buffet is pretty good. The Mexican a la carte was wonderful, ask for the flaming coffee, it's worth it even if you dont like coffee, to see how it's made. Food there was great.

Our first room overlooked the tennis courts so I got us changed to a better room the next day, with ocean view and balcony. King bed was pretty firm but nice, room was huge, big screen tv too. Nice furnishings. The shower was great. The maids did a great job every day and left us a bunny made from towels and a shell made from a facecloth, very cute.

The snack bar has great burgers and fries along with pizza, nachos etc. The bar by the pool was always busy, the drinks were really good.

Each nite was an entertainment show with singers and dancers who were amazing, I really enjoyed them each nite. On Sun. nite they had a big screen and showed Wall-E as we lounged beneath the starts. Awesome!

Everything was very clean, the plants and trees were well cared for. Waiters and staff were all friendly.

If you want to book a tour, go across the road from the front entrance to the mall, and go left, on the outside, to XLNT Tours, owned by Pedro. He has much better deals than the hotel does for the same things. We booked a jungle tour for $20 Cdn each and part of it was a tour of a tequila factory which was fun, and we all got 5 shots of different tequilas.

The bus is only 6.5 pesos, or about 50 cents. No need for taxis to go downtown, or you can walk to the Malecon in about a half hour. The Malecon is fun, the naval museum there is free. Too many vendors for my liking but they back off when you say no.

Saw Liz Taylor and Richard Burton's houses which are under reno. Met a lot of great people. We like to walk, so we were all over the place.

I'd love to go to PV again, and if Canto del Sol is #21 out of 110 hotels, boy I'd like to see what the top 20 are like as this place was awesome. I hated to come home.

In the plaza across the road is a laundry and the lady will wash and dry your clothing and fold it too, for a low price. We had a sack full done for $4.00 Cdn.

The only negative thing is the timeshare sharks, they will nab you if you make eye contact, so focus on where you want to go and ignore them. They are much worse at the airport and I think they should not be allowed to hassle people like that. Say nothing, keep walking.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Funkynassau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

My husband, and I along with another couple just arrived back from a two week stay at the Canto Del Sol. We stayed from January 9 - 23, 2010. I must say at first we were alittle disappointed with the buffet restaurant. There was almost always a line up to get in for a table and the selection was quite small compared to other resorts we have stayed at. But, after a few days we came to realize that there was always something we could enjoy at the buffet and the food was good. We did all three of the a la carte restaurants and without a doubt we loved the Italian the best. The ribs and steak at the Grill were very tough.
As for the rooms, we upgraded to a kitchenette and had a bar fridge, mini stove top, sink, and microwave. The rooms were very clean, as was all of the resort. And as stated in other reviews, the staff are more than helpful and ready to serve you.
If you are planning on working out while you are there, you will be disappointed, there are only two stationary bikes, both very old and some weights. We walked down to the sports field a few blocks west to use the track.
One bad part of our vacation (which has nothing to do with the resort) was the ocean. It was so rough that there were only 2 days in 2 weeks that we could sit on the beach. The waves were coming right up to the wall and there was sand right up to three steps from the top! It was crazy. Some resorts have no more beach at all, the ocean brought up tons of rocks. We saw a water spout on the 15th, that was way cool!!
Alot of the people staying there, have been coming back for many years, so that should tell you something. Enjoy, the weather is hot and the people are friendly!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twoblue_iis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

This is my 3rd year travelling alone to Puerto Vallarta , and my first time at Canto del Sol
All of the staff, from the front desk (David y Hector), the maids (Paula), bartenders (Trinida y Omarand others), pool waiters( Jorge), restaurant waiters( Chuy, Rafael,Ramirez,Gerardo, y Efren) kids club staff (Lucy) and the 'fun' guys at the pool... Joshua and Isla are absolutely the BEST ! They are all fountains of information, and most helpful, a few pesos at the beginning of your stay, and then again towards the end will ensure u are treated like royalty. Maids, wait staff all pool the tips which are split up at the end of each shift, so if you want to do something personal, take some little $ store things with you, and leave them for your maid each day. I had fres flowers in my room daily and little 'critters' made out of the towels. Food in the buffet restaurant is decent, the drinks plentiful and not watered down. Big bang for your buck at this resort. Walking distance to downtown Puerto, heated pool. You really can't ask for more !!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardenwitch201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

This was my first time to Mexico, and my sister joined me. We chose Canto Del Sol because of the reviews it had on here, and I have to say, it did not disappoint!

It is great for those who want to be kept busy and entertained. The pool is a perfect size, but if you want a lounge chair in the sun, you have to get down at about 7:30am. The beach is small but adequate. It was closed the entire time we were there, so I didn't really get a great feel for it, but I enjoyed stadning in the waves for a bit. There ARE a good handful of vendors milling about, but a polite "no" will keep them away if you are not interested in their wares.
The entertainment staff are all fantastic at their jobs! They keep activities and games going all day long, like pool voleyball (made better when they add a little tequila!), beach volleyball, water polo, card games, painting classes...you get the picture. And the evening shows are entertaining too, if you don't have anything else to do. The more the audience is into it, the better it is.

Our room was great! For the first night, the hotel was overbooked, so we were put into a somewhat dirty and outdated timeshare suite, but we were put into our real room with no difficulties the next morning. A simple call to the bellboy and our bags were moved and we were presented with a new key card. The new room was clean, new, and the perfect size. And we had a balcony! The AC was noisy, but made the perfect white noise for those of us who went to bed 3 hours before everbody else. :)

All the staff were always smiling and ready with a friendly "hola!" and were willing to lend a helping hand with anything.

The proximity to town is good. It is a short one minute walk to the main road where the blue and white bus comes to bring you downtown. 6.5 pesos and 5 minutes and you are there! And you hardly ever have to look for a bus stop because there are buses about every 30 seconds.

Another good thing about this hotel: the time share people don't bug you! Besides at the airport, I was not approched by one of them the entire time.

There was a whole range of ages there, and we felt very comfortable and enjoyed our visit to Mexico a lot! You should go!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LariJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumby BC Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

Althought not a four star hotel as discribed, Canto Del Sol certainly was affordable and met our expectations. The room was clean and well cleaned daily. An older hotel with lots of charm. The staff was excellent (from front desk, to cleaning and bar service) The only real issue we had was the Time Share personel at the hoterl (was bad enough at the airport, we certainly dind't need it at our hotel as well) Location is ten minutes from the airport and ten minutes from down town by cab. Shopping is located near by (if your not interested in walking the Malacon) over all 7 out of 10

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spiderman4142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
2.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
1.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#34 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#43 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Property: Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, right on Banderas Bay, breathtaking sunsets draw visitors and locals alike to the evening display. Canto del Sol’s colonial-style resort offers guests outstanding value, with an extensive All-Inclusive Program that features: a championship Tennis Club with four outdoor clay courts and four covered Laykol courts; windsurfing; water polo; tequila volleyball; and dance lessons. Guests can choose a vacation as active or as relaxed as they like.The sparkling turquoise water of Mexico’s Pacific Riviera caresses the beachfront of CANTO DEL SOL PLAZA VALLARTA. This perfect vacation resort offers an atmosphere of Fun, Tradition and Tranquility, where guests have everything for their wonderful Puerto Vallarta holiday. Escape from the ordinary, and discover this magnificent oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing