We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Ranked #33 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family & I travelled here at the end of June 2014, we had a great time! Great staff, friendly,helpful & fun people! The property is very clean & well maintained. Thank you to; Raul, Veronica, Martinez, ALEX, Danny , JOSHUA(RICO) & all the Canto Del Sol staff for all you do!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    964
    395
    157
    93
See reviews for
620
846
106
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the resort from March 22-28, 2014. We had a great time and enjoyed it so much that we purchased a Canto vacation club. To begin we first met the bell person Jose Hinjosq. He is terrific on looking after our things, getting ice from the bar and his positive attitude , always smilling and saying ' Welcome Home". We want to give a huge thank you to Maritza Martinez Pwaons, Front Desk Supervisor. She's just super in explaining where to go , what route to take, giving change and giving us the room preference that we wanted. She is a key person at this resort so be kind to this person. You will be very happy that you remember this. We would like to thank Kathy at Guest Services in the lobby. She took her time to explain anything we wanted to know/ tours and we very much appreciate her interest in that we were having a super time. The food is really good. Always fresh with a huge assortment. It changes every day and we enjoyed the waiters. They really make it fun as they greet you and have fun with you each and every day. The a la carte restaurants are all good as their is lots of choice. I falled to mention that the house wine is delicious from Australia. This is included in all lunch and dinner meals. This is a nice touch. One suggestion is that they need ,more umbrellas near the pool. A very hot area. Thank you Canto and see you in February

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderful401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is great on the whole, however we were there for two weeks and the food and drink became a little bit of a spoiler.

Cleanliness - Amazing, there is constant cleaning going on, and the place looks spotless
The rooms are cleaned up to twice a day and there is a turndown service most nights, although one or two nights this was a little anti social at 9.30pm!

Facilities - The facilities are great and the hotel and pool looks fantastic. There are kayaks to take out to the sea which is great. The sea water in Puerto Vallarta is extremely unclear so we barely went swimming in it. The pool is however great and included a swim up bar.

Food/Drink - The drinks were hit and miss, a lot of the cocktails weren't always great, a lot of sweet pre mixes I think. The beer was great though and there was a good range of spirits. The buffet restaurant had a good selection, however the food was sometimes bland and tasted the same a lot of days.Although I would not miss the mexican buffet night as this food was awesome! Breakfast was always good however. The staff always provided great/friendly service.

The a-la-carte restaurants - The italian was fantastic we went more than once. The steakhouse was good, then the Mexican restaurant was pretty bad food if i'm honest.

Location - Not bad, there are a few shops around the hotel and about a 10 min walk from a hypermarket. The downtown area is about a 30 min walk away but it's a lot less effort to get the bus (only about 35p each way).

Front desk - The staff here were extremely helpful, very friendly and happy to help you. Good english skills too, they also made a big deal about my birthday whilst being there.

Entertainment - Only the kayaks provided and one attempt at tennis is all we used. The entertainment otherwise wasn't particularly inventive or appealing.

In summary the hotel looks great however after two weeks we had enough of the food and drink.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wixey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I travelled to Mexico for the first time in May, what a wonderful surprise. We were greeted with a cocktail and music, taken personally by a member of staff to our room, or rather rooms. The bedroom was very large,flat screen TV in both rooms, two bathrooms, fresh towels and bed linen daily. The food was excellent always plenty of choice. The hotel staff were very friendly, always happy and smiling.

Unfortunately on the last day of our holiday my husband was taken ill and was in hospital for nine days. The hotel staff were so helpful, they arranged for me to stay in the same room, were always there to get me a taxi to the hospital, nothing was too much trouble at a very stressful time for us both. Special thanks to Veronica.

I must also say a huge thank you to Nick Carter of Thomsons, you were absolutely amazing I really don't think I could have coped as well as I did without you, I will never be able to thank you enough for all your help and kindness, you are a star.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JulesJMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, especially if you get to it through any promotion. We went there on a package, and we think we got an excellent value for our money.
The lobby and other public areas have recently been renovated, they look great. Staff is friendly, and they all speak good English. They will try to sell you some kind of time share deal (they are quick to point that it isnot quite a timeshare, though), but they are very good sports if you decline the invitation, or if you attend I declined to buy anything.
The rooms are nice, but a little small. I don't think they were renovated as recently as the lobby. The staff will try to accommodate if you want to be moved, but it can be challenging because the hotel seems to be very busy.
Most people seem to go there on an all inclusive plan, as we did. The food is very good, you have plenty of Mexican dishes, as well as international cuisine. Besides that buffet, they have an a-la-carte restaurant that you need a reservation for.
The private beach is kind of small, but they have a lot of lounge chairs and umbrellas. They will bring your drinks do you there.
They provide a club for kids, but it's kind of small and the activities did not seem appealing at all to my children.
In summary, a cozy little hotel, comfortable, with great staff, and and a reasonable price. Don't hesitate to BookIt if you're doing it through a package.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hospitality was excellent ,although we are good tippers , once they recognize you they jump tp serve,super clean ,food was decent ,lots of fresh choices and usual fare ,Andrea the omelet lady and Alan our server were great, as were Leo and earnesto in the pool bar .lovely view from buffet quick walk to local buses and to town

Room Tip: We had a back view but don,t spend time in room anyway , pool view may have been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

If your thinking of visiting mexico for the first time it can be very confusing at first. what hotel ?Whats the best beach? I visited about 20 spots all over mexico through out my years of travel and have had my comments for each one. El Canto del Sol in Puerto Vallarta Mexico has to be the best I have ever visited. The service from not one but all the entire staff is of 5+ star rating. I was very impressed with the beverage service, most places in mexico set a limit per drink ordered at the bar. The hotel only cared on the satisfaction of each customer, make sure we were happy. The rooms are exceptional and clean with maid service that ran 24 hours a day. I am certain that i will make it a point to go to this hotel at least once a year, the reasons can only be discover by the wonderful experience the hotel gives you.
cricondo

Room Tip: every room is high quality i had 10 rooms with my group. but if you want a ocean view they have tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maribel1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
2.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
2.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#34 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
9.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Property: Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, right on Banderas Bay, breathtaking sunsets draw visitors and locals alike to the evening display. Canto del Sol’s colonial-style resort offers guests outstanding value, with an extensive All-Inclusive Program that features: a championship Tennis Club with four outdoor clay courts and four covered Laykol courts; windsurfing; water polo; tequila volleyball; and dance lessons. Guests can choose a vacation as active or as relaxed as they like.The sparkling turquoise water of Mexico’s Pacific Riviera caresses the beachfront of CANTO DEL SOL PLAZA VALLARTA. This perfect vacation resort offers an atmosphere of Fun, Tradition and Tranquility, where guests have everything for their wonderful Puerto Vallarta holiday. Escape from the ordinary, and discover this magnificent oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing