We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returning after the 24-year timeshare had expired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Ranked #32 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Returning after the 24-year timeshare had expired”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My daughter, who just turned thirteen, and I spent a week at the Canto del sol hotel/resort in Puerto Vallarta before the rates jumped for Christmas week. I had been a timeshare owner there for twenty four years but that had expired, so this time we purchased an all-inclusive week. It used to be that the Canto del sol was not all-inclusive, but most guests, even with an option to not do so, go with the all-inclusive. For the best rates, it seems best to consult TripAdvisor and to compare pricing on Orbitz, Expedia,Canto del sol, and other websites. This time, we purchased through Orbitz which had a discount going on.

The taxi from the airport costs 195 pesos or 18 US dollars, and you purchase the voucher or ticket for this at the last windows by the exit doors just before walking outside from the terminal. Taking a return cab from the hotel to the airport costs 80 pesos or approximately 8 US dollars.

We paid in US dollars every time we needed to pay for anything on the trip.

Canto del sol has a very nice pool, a pretty lobby, a buffet restaurant open all day, three on site restaurants: an Italian one, a Mexican one, and a grill. For each two nights of all-inclusive, guests are able to reserve at one of the restaurants. Our preferred one was the Italian, so we went there twice. If you like coffee, you may wish to order the Spanish coffee which is prepared at your table with a lot of flame and fare.

The evening shows are at 8 p.m. outside. Each has a different theme and is presented by the activities staff. These shows usually consist of dancing and lip synching. There is also a BINGO night. Friday night is their Mexican fiesta with and outdoor buffet, games played for play pesos followed by an auction, and then the evening dance program.

The staff at Canto del sol is one of their best assets they have there, as everyone is friendly, likeable, and very willing to assist you. This is probably one of the major reasons that my family and I have continued to return.

The large pool area is the main spot with activities offered throughout the day. The pool bar offers a variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, but when ordering for children be sure to say “SIN LICOR” or you may encounter your child making a strange face upon taking a first sip.

The beach area is average for Puerto Vallarta. The hotel has a section of lounge chairs roped off. Vendors are usually on the other side of these ropes selling their wares all day long.

MEGA is one of two different stores that are a sort of Walmart that are in walking distance of he hotel. This one is located about five blocks from the resort and is where one can go for groceries and the like.

The hotel also has a tennis facility formerly known as the John Newcombe Club. There are four outdoor clay courts and four covered hard courts. With the all-inclusive, guests may reserve an hour a day.

Individual tipping is up to the guest, but we left a tip on the bed each day for the cleaning ladies, and a dollar or two on the table each time we ate at the buffet, and more when eating at the restaurants requiring a reservation. We also would give any waiter bringing us beverages from the pool bar at least a dollar before we left.

While conversing with different workers during the week, I found out that the average wage for many of them is equal to 6 US dollars per day. For those dealing directly with hotel guests, any tips were in addition to this. It is a good idea to take along a lot of one-dollar bills for tipping, but it is also considered lucky by many to have a two-dollar bill. So, that may be something to request when going to the bank before travelling to Mexico.

Should you accept the timeshare breakfast invitation? That is a good question. We have done so twice at Canto del sol in recent years, but only because of the incentives. The first time was a few years ago when we were there but did not have the all-inclusive. We were offered massages and 50% off the all-inclusive rate per day. That got us to try the all-inclusive, and the all-inclusive reservation became our preference upon returning a year or two later. This last time my daughter again wanted the free massage so I agreed to listen and to go through the motions.

In the end, though, I caution everyone and advise not to not sign anything there. Taking notes during the presentation is a good idea and helps clarify what is being offered. It would not be a bad idea to ask the salesperson to initial your notes after discussing them once again together. This reconfirms what was promised as part of the purchase and helps avoid misunderstandings. If you are told that this is the only day or time that the offer can be made to you, it is in your best interest to disregard this statement and say that you cannot make the decision on the spot. Leaving without buying is best.

Then, if you are actually interested, you can research the offer on the internet by googling for information concerning any purchase of type you are considering. (The hotel has a computer room for free usage that has two laptops.) Finally, there is supposedly a Mexican law that gives you only five days to rescind any purchase of this kind. That being said, we like Canto del sol and feel comfortable there but prefer not to have any contracts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ASpanishTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest of Canto Del Sol,

We thank you so much for your preference of Canto del Sol. We certainly like the very detailed evaluations like the one you posted; they give us the opportunity to improve our service. So, thank you very much for your time you did spend for this review. We are glad your stay was satisfactory and we did fulfill all your expectations about facilities, staff service, activities, shows and culinary experiences.

We do have different time share plans for all type of guest requirements. But indeed, this is not a mandatory presentation; we would never bother any of our guests, therefore these 90 minutes chats with our vendors are optional.

We will forward your pleasant comments about our employees to our so hard working staff; we thank you very much for considering them in your comments.

We remain at your service for any further comments, questions or suggestions at guestserv@cantodelsol.com It will be a pleasure to host you and your family once again in your home away from home Canto Del Sol.

Sincerely,

Paulina Gallardo

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    963
    395
    157
    93
See reviews for
619
845
106
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We are here now and staying for 4 weeks this December 11- January 8, 2014.
Some great upgrades of all tile from Lobby through pool area, bar area to ocean. Some freshening up with painting, etc....
Good changes with snack bar food.
Entertainment, under new management, new shows with some new staff. Great fun to watch and take part in. Joshua, new manager is really putting it out there. Some new entertainment crew like Lucas who has got a contagious smile, charm and an extremely entertaining dancer who gets the place hoping! What a great new addition! Saul too really puts it out there also. They speak great English also if your Spanish isn't good. Happy to be back, like family here. The staff makes this place wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charly007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest of Canto Del Sol,

We thank you so much for your nice comments and sharing them with the Tripadvisor community, we appreciate it very much! We also would like to thank you for the recognition of the activities staff, we are very pleased to hear they are making you feel at home, besides doing all the activities and night shows that you did enjoy. We will certainly let them know about this review.

We all at Canto del Sol are working hard to offer continuously more comfortable and better quality facilities, along with providing our excellent service to exceed the expectations of all our highly valued guests.

We remain at your service for any further comments, questions or requests at guestserv@cantodelsol.com It will be a pleasure to host you and your family soon again at your home away from home, Canto Del Sol.

Sincerely,

Paulina Gallardo

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkland, wa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We booked a package deal to visit PV for the first time. We loved our stay in Canto Del Sol. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Both restaurant reservation desk staff and activity planning desk staff are very accommodating. We went one week prior to Christmas. The hotel was not fully booked. So it is easy to get reservation to the specialty restaurant. For very two nights, you get one night to eat at the specialty restaurant. We liked the Mexican themed restaurant better than the Italian one. The buffet place is good too- some days, we can have our favorite things to eat and other times, you can just get something to fill the tummy. The snack bar is great too with many options for finger food.
Our kids loved the kids club. They can do craft project and play games with other kids with prize. The week we went- there are not too many kids in the resort. So sometimes the activity will be cancelled.
The pool area is beautiful and we love the aqua exercise they have. The construction is almost done. We can barely notice any work was carrying on.
When we first arrived, we were somewhat disappointed with our room. Maybe because the price we paid, we got a room facing north, dark and narrow. The bathroom was looking old and some areas within the hotel can also get some touch ups. And our sheets and pillow are not smelling fresh. It gets a run down feeling. So do not have a high expectation for your room. Our safe box did not work at first. After maintenance crew came, I found out it is me not knowing how to use it. Read safe instructions carefully you will not make mistake like me. After staying there for a few days, we are used to this hotel and seem to be fine with everything. Peeking into other hotel rooms where it faces sunny side, the room has a better looking than ours. I do need to point out, one of rooms we have is 286, the safety hatch on the door was missing, the safe deposit box does not have a lock and the patio cannot be locked. We talked to front desk about he patio lock but knowing this might not be a quick fix during our stay.
We attended timeshare seminar. The model room was very nice but the price they offer cannot beat my booking price. The sales associates are very friendly. We learned a lot from them about PV. Be aware this is not a 90 minutes sales presentation. We spent more than 3 hours there.
We joined tropical city tour. It was not as good as we expected. They took you to the downtown for half hour, broad walk and church, then a remote place for the Tequila factory. Last stop was at a juggle where Arnold filmed movie Predator. Only one restaurant there cost like 20 bucks for a plate. The plate was huge. You can share one plate with two people. The road condition to the juggle was a little bit rough. You have to worry about your safety. The tour runs from 10- 5pm. We think time will be better spent in the hotel by the pool, than on a shuttle bus. You can ride local bus to the board walk, which might be a better option.
The best thing we loved this resort is- we checked out at 11 am in the morning and our flight was 4pm in the afternoon. They allowed us to keep our wrist band and activity card till our departure. So we can still eat the buffet lunch and play in the pool. Save us tons of hassle and money.
All in all, we liked our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waikiki_sunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest of Canto del Sol,

It is a pleasure to know that your stay was satisfactory. We thank you the time you spent to let us know all your comments about the hotel and your nice experience with our staff, we always like to congratulate our coworkers to motivate them and keep providing our guests a unique and unforgettable experience.

We have rooms with beautiful partial ocean views; ocean front views, pool views, even Sierra Madre mountains views and some of them are garden views. We are constantly updating the resort facilities, as for example our brand new floor around the pool areas. We are sorry you didn’t like the room assigned, but please give us the opportunity to host you one more time so you can experience Canto del Sol as you should.

As many people like our facilities and location of our resort, we offer a member ship to join a time share program. Our staff at the hospitality desk invites you to hear about our deals and they are also very helpful giving Puerto Vallarta advices and tips, but the 90 minutes chat is optional.

We remain at your service for any further comments, questions or requests at guestserv@cantodelsol.com It will be a pleasure to host you and your family again in your home away from home Canto del Sol.

Sincerely,

Paulina Gallardo
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

It's located in a decent part of the city that is centrally located but it's a little run down and attracts a party crowd. That's not really my scene. I was a little underwhelmed by the hotel and probably would not go back.

Room Tip: Try to avoid staying near the pool area as it can git pretty loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest from Canto del Sol,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Canto del Sol for your recent holidays. We are sorry you didn’t like the room assigned, but please give us the opportunity to host you one more time so you can experience Canto del Sol as you should. We have rooms with nice partial ocean views; amazing ocean front views, pool views, even mountains views and some of them are garden views. We are constantly updating the resort facilities, as for example our brand new floor around the pool areas.

Our activities staff is always having fun activities and night shows to entertain all of our variety of guests, just to mention some of them: we offer kayak tours, black jack tournaments, craft projects for the little ones or aqua aerobics with cheerful music to encourage our guest to participate.

We remain at your service for any further comments, questions or requests at guestserv@cantodelsol.com It will be a pleasure to host you and your family again in your home away from home Canto del Sol.

Sincerely,

Paulina Gallardo
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I traveled to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico for my very first vacation this year! Myself and 3 Friends stayed at the Canto Del Sol, I was impressed with the service and total overall Atmosphere of the hotel were excellent. The staff they have working at the resort were very attentive and hardworking. There were recreational activities and crafts even for us big kids! Thumbs up to the resort and staff for making my first trip a very memorable one!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear guest of Canto del Sol,

Thank you very much for the time you spent in writing us your wonderful comments.

Our mission is to make your vacation an unforgettable experience by offering activities for the little ones but also for the big ones with children hearts!

We are grateful to know we were part of your first trip in our beautiful destination. But even more grateful and proud to know we exceed your expectations!

We remain at your service for any further comments, questions or requests at guestserv@cantodelsol.com It will be a pleasure to host you and your family again in your home away from home Canto del Sol.

Sincerely,

Paulina Gallardo
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Errington, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We traveled back to Canto Del Sol in Puerto Vallarta but this time it was not as good as before. There was far too much construction going on with the replacement of the tiles around the pool. They offered a free 45 minute massage that was far less than even OK. Food was good as always and the staff was again great! The last four days of our trip 900 kids came in for a Soccer Tournament. The noise and chaos was ridiculous! We could not get a "good drink" so all-inclusive was not worth it. We ended up bringing in our own Kaluha and made the best of it. The air conditioner started leaking so we asked if maintenance could fix it but in the process filthy water was spilled all over our clothing and shoes and we had to ask to get that somewhat cleaned up.
Just kind of disappointing this trip.

Room Tip: Closer to the Time Share suites are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest of Canto del Sol,

Thank you very much for your evaluation and comments regarding our facilities. We are always concerned about having our facilities in unsurpassable conditions, which is the reason we had to apply some works in certain restricted outdoor areas. We like to offer more comfortable and better quality facilities, in order to keep providing our excellent service and exceed expectations. The new outdoor floor we have now is an appealing, clean and elegant artwork.

This time we did have a big group of teenagers and we all know sometimes is difficult to control them all. That is why we had constant guards of our operative team to support our security staff and be able to control them better. And, as a consequence, we will avoid to host these group of travelers in the future, to ensure a relaxing and quiet holiday experience to our guests.

We are constantly maintaining our air conditioning system to make sure each is working properly. Besides, we are working on a project of replace the mayor amount of this equipment during the first quarter of this year; furthermore we have re-forced our maintenance staff structure with a new leadership to ensure that all equipment is permanently working without any failure.

We remain at your service for any further comments, questions or requests at guestserv@cantodelsol.com It will be a pleasure to host you and your family again in your home away from home Canto del Sol.

Sincerely,

Paulina Gallardo
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Excellent value - nice resort, great service, good food, pool, and atmosphere. There were recreational activities offered that we enjoyed. All the servers were friendly, attentive, and hard working. There was some construction going on well into the night but that is always the case in Mexico and didn't bother us too much. The housekeeping staff was also great. The beds are a little hard but no big deal.

Jose the bell boy, Richard and Hugo the servers provided us with superb service!
We will go back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest of Canto del Sol,

It is a pleasure to know that your stay was satisfactory. We thank you the time you spent to let us know all your comments about the hotel and your nice experience with our staff, we always like to congratulate our coworkers to motivate them and keep providing our guests a unique and unforgettable experience.

One of our goals is to make your vacation as fun as possible, for this reason, we offer all kinds of activities for all the family!

We did have some maintenance works going on around the pool, because we are always concern about having our facilities in unsurpassable conditions.

We remain at your service for any further comments, questions or requests at guestserv@cantodelsol.com It will be a pleasure to host you and your family again in your home away from home Canto del Sol.

Sincerely,

Paulina Gallardo
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
2.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,464 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
2.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,425 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Property: Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, right on Banderas Bay, breathtaking sunsets draw visitors and locals alike to the evening display. Canto del Sol’s colonial-style resort offers guests outstanding value, with an extensive All-Inclusive Program that features: a championship Tennis Club with four outdoor clay courts and four covered Laykol courts; windsurfing; water polo; tequila volleyball; and dance lessons. Guests can choose a vacation as active or as relaxed as they like.The sparkling turquoise water of Mexico’s Pacific Riviera caresses the beachfront of CANTO DEL SOL PLAZA VALLARTA. This perfect vacation resort offers an atmosphere of Fun, Tradition and Tranquility, where guests have everything for their wonderful Puerto Vallarta holiday. Escape from the ordinary, and discover this magnificent oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing