We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an exercise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Ranked #33 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an exercise!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were there for 7 days. Epic spot, right close to many attractions. The staff were good, noteably the activities staff! Ozeal and manuel were both standout guys and we would literally return just to party with them again. Room service was also excellent and everything was very clean. The only weakness within the resort I found was the food. Other than that everyrhing else was awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    964
    395
    157
    93
See reviews for
620
846
106
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my 20 year old daughter and we both had a relaxing enjoyable time. The location was conveniently close to the heart of the city. The food was good and changed every night while we were there. It is small , but that ended up being a plus for us as we got a chance to know everyone else staying there and the waiters knew us by name and what we drank by the second day.

Room Tip: iur first room faced the next building and was quiet and cool , but a little dark , so we asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Met with Andreas, manger of the hotel & was shown the upgraded rooms. I cannot believe the change in this hotel!!!! The rooms are unreal & the staff is second to none. Restaraunts have changed the menus and the whole concept of staying here is fantastic--close to all the amenities P.V. has to offer--Cost for All Inclusive stays are a real deal. Our 4th trip here, but wiil NOT be our last. If you are looking for an AWESOME place in P.V. THIS IS IT. Watch for Jesus & Jorge at the pool bar----These guys are unreal.

Room Tip: ALL are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gringoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel was nice staff cared not very many people in June wasn't a party place. Although Oziel the event coordinator took us out on the town and made sure it was fun night life exactly what we were looking for he was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I'm not sure why others have reviewed this place positively but this was not my experience here. Stayed here for one night as we were flying standby and needed to stay another night. This would be the only night I would stay here. To be fair we were staying at a higher end resort throughout our stay, and there was no comparison. The rooms are run down and at a 2 star level, beds were so hard it felt like you were sleeping on the floor, shower was dirty and run down, furniture was stained and beat up, and there were no plugs in the room besides the one the clock was plugged into. The food is typical of a low end all inclusive, your typical grill and one restaurant. Drinks served in undersized cups, and trying to get service at the pool bar was next to impossible even when nobody was waiting. The beach is non existent here, rocky and on days when there are rolling waves there is this disgusting foam. Security harassed us constantly after 6pm when we came back the resort, they were just trying to see the wrist band but approached it in the wrong way.
The good features, they had internet included and there was a good bar/restaurant nearby (not on the resort), and it was close to the airport.
We paid $100 to stay there for the night, we could have stayed at our original resort for $160, big mistake.

Room Tip: If you chose to roll the dice and try this place, go for the ocean facing condo type rooms, we had f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sir_Hayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Beautiful hotel on the beach, above and beyond food, an amazing staff who really CARE about your trip, clean-clean-clean rooms and grounds, tons of activities like aqua aerobics, volleyball, and shows almost every night. There is also para-sailing, jet skis, banana boats, horseback riding, street vendors and other activities on the beach. They offer wonderful tours right at the hotel that are outstanding like swimming with the dolphins, "Rhythm of the Night" tour that encompasses a boat trip to a wonderful "island" and includes a terrific buffet dinner and musical show in a huge amphitheater built on the mountain trail. It's a phenomenal tour that you shouldn't miss. Puerto Vallarta has many great places to dine, great clubs and lots of shopping venues. A special thanks to Kathy and Marlon Mendoza for their unerring advice, patience and caring at Canto del Sol.

Room Tip: The second floor ocean front suites have a huge deck with private jacuzzi. They have two bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 331331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was my first time staying at this resort, but second time to Puerto Vallarta. I would have to say my overall experience was amazing.

We were greeted by the activity staff daily, with smiles and enthusiam. The staff memeber that really went out their way for us was OZIEL.
He ALWAYS had a smile on his face and got us involved in daily activities such as beach volleyball, blackjack and night life. He also took the time to get to know us personally and some of our life stories. Although all of the staff are friendly, I can't say that all went out of their way to engage so much with the guests as Oziel.

As for bartenders, DANIEL was also incredible. He always knew what we were drinking and we didnt even need to ask, he always had drinks waiting! He was friendly and smiling. He also took the time to get to know us a little bit aswell.

Overall my time at Canto del Sol was great! Thank you to OZIEL and DANIEL for making us feel at home and that we welcome in your beautiful country. I am confident we have made lifelong friends! And YES, we will be back!

Nicole, Canada

Room Tip: Ask for a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
2.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
2.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#34 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
9.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Property: Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, right on Banderas Bay, breathtaking sunsets draw visitors and locals alike to the evening display. Canto del Sol’s colonial-style resort offers guests outstanding value, with an extensive All-Inclusive Program that features: a championship Tennis Club with four outdoor clay courts and four covered Laykol courts; windsurfing; water polo; tequila volleyball; and dance lessons. Guests can choose a vacation as active or as relaxed as they like.The sparkling turquoise water of Mexico’s Pacific Riviera caresses the beachfront of CANTO DEL SOL PLAZA VALLARTA. This perfect vacation resort offers an atmosphere of Fun, Tradition and Tranquility, where guests have everything for their wonderful Puerto Vallarta holiday. Escape from the ordinary, and discover this magnificent oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing