We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Nearby Hotels
$377
$279
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$184
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$256
$195
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$321
$299
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$307
$250
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$375
$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$432
$140
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$242
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$159
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
$500
$422
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,796)
Filter reviews
2,796 results
Traveler rating
1,003
1,090
432
169
102
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,003
1,090
432
169
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf and turfsnack bartennis courtsa la carte restaurantsguest servicestime sharethomson repspanish coffeebuffet restaurantshrimp tacosactivities staffpool viewtowel cardsmain buffetevening entertainmentnightly showssmaller resort
Filter
Updating list...
1,487 - 1,492 of 2,796 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel was nice staff cared not very many people in June wasn't a party place. Although Oziel the event coordinator took us out on the town and made sure it was fun night life exactly what we were looking for he was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I'm not sure why others have reviewed this place positively but this was not my experience here. Stayed here for one night as we were flying standby and needed to stay another night. This would be the only night I would stay here. To be fair we were staying at a higher end resort throughout our stay, and there was no comparison. The rooms are run down and at a 2 star level, beds were so hard it felt like you were sleeping on the floor, shower was dirty and run down, furniture was stained and beat up, and there were no plugs in the room besides the one the clock was plugged into. The food is typical of a low end all inclusive, your typical grill and one restaurant. Drinks served in undersized cups, and trying to get service at the pool bar was next to impossible even when nobody was waiting. The beach is non existent here, rocky and on days when there are rolling waves there is this disgusting foam. Security harassed us constantly after 6pm when we came back the resort, they were just trying to see the wrist band but approached it in the wrong way.
The good features, they had internet included and there was a good bar/restaurant nearby (not on the resort), and it was close to the airport.
We paid $100 to stay there for the night, we could have stayed at our original resort for $160, big mistake.

Room Tip: If you chose to roll the dice and try this place, go for the ocean facing condo type rooms, we had friends stay in one of these and opt out of the all inclusive.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sir_Hayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Beautiful hotel on the beach, above and beyond food, an amazing staff who really CARE about your trip, clean-clean-clean rooms and grounds, tons of activities like aqua aerobics, volleyball, and shows almost every night. There is also para-sailing, jet skis, banana boats, horseback riding, street vendors and other activities on the beach. They offer wonderful tours right at the hotel that are outstanding like swimming with the dolphins, "Rhythm of the Night" tour that encompasses a boat trip to a wonderful "island" and includes a terrific buffet dinner and musical show in a huge amphitheater built on the mountain trail. It's a phenomenal tour that you shouldn't miss. Puerto Vallarta has many great places to dine, great clubs and lots of shopping venues. A special thanks to Kathy and Marlon Mendoza for their unerring advice, patience and caring at Canto del Sol.

Room Tip: The second floor ocean front suites have a huge deck with private jacuzzi. They have two bedrooms, a kitchen/dining room/living room and three bathrooms. Plenty of room to spread out and cook if you want to. The water is purified and we drank it all week.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 331,331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was my first time staying at this resort, but second time to Puerto Vallarta. I would have to say my overall experience was amazing.

We were greeted by the activity staff daily, with smiles and enthusiam. The staff memeber that really went out their way for us was OZIEL.
He ALWAYS had a smile on his face and got us involved in daily activities such as beach volleyball, blackjack and night life. He also took the time to get to know us personally and some of our life stories. Although all of the staff are friendly, I can't say that all went out of their way to engage so much with the guests as Oziel.

As for bartenders, DANIEL was also incredible. He always knew what we were drinking and we didnt even need to ask, he always had drinks waiting! He was friendly and smiling. He also took the time to get to know us a little bit aswell.

Overall my time at Canto del Sol was great! Thank you to OZIEL and DANIEL for making us feel at home and that we welcome in your beautiful country. I am confident we have made lifelong friends! And YES, we will be back!

Nicole, Canada

Room Tip: Ask for a kitchenette
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Assistant to General Manager made us feel at home away from home.
Everyone made us feel like we could fill our hearts with the "COLOR Esperenza " as we all sang there which made is most memorable and romantic. Thank you Canto Del Sol staff and the GM.
Jengiz Gocer of Vancouver BC. CANADA

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jengiz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews