We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time at Canto,guarantee I will be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Ranked #31 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed mar2-16 .Been to PV many times and have never been dissapointed.This is a very special place.Clean,comfortable,good food and drink.Good location and the staff were awessome.I go to PV with realistic expectations and always have a good time.Special thanks to Salvador,Pablo,Ernesto and Oziel.Good bunch of people working there.Also to Kunibert,Thanks for a great2 weeks.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest of Canto Del Sol,

We thank you for staying at Canto Del Sol and we are glad to know that you had a very pleasant experience with us.
Thank you for the special mention about our staff, all of them work very hard for creating you a great stay in your home away from home Canto Del Sol.

It will be a pleasure for us welcome you soon back for your next stay at Canto Del Sol.
Please feel free to contact us at any time at guestserv@cantodelsol.com

Sincerely yours

The Assistant of the General Manager on behalf of the Canto Del Sol Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,343 - 1,349 of 2,605 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

the rooms were small, but very clean, there was room for an extra cot for our friend. We weren't in the room much anyway because we were out exploring and shopping. the meals were great, lots to pick from and the restaurant staff were very friendly. You could also pick an Italian restaurant. The only thing, on the last day that we left, our plane left at 3:40 in the morning and we had to be out of our room at 11 a.m. the day before, it's too bad we would have had to pay $75.00 extra, which we didn't want to. The hotel said we could freshen up in a different room for free and they stored our luggage. All in all, it was a very good holiday and I would go there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnordsveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest of Canto Del Sol,

We all at Canto Del Sol are highly appreciating your comments and evaluation; thank you for staying with us.

The Italian restaurant called Venezzia is a specialty from Canto Del Sol, we are grateful knowing your opinion about it.

We all hope to welcome you and your friends back for your next stay at Canto Del Sol, your home away from home. It will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Please free to contact us any time at guestserv@cantodelsol.com

Sincerely yours

The Assistant General Manager on behalf of the Canto Del Sol Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

About a week ago we were in Puerto Vallarta our first time and we weren't sure about it at first but we loved it, it was amazing vacation. Everyone was so friendly. Definitely come back to see Gibran such a great guy, we miss him! Hes what made our vacation that much better, can't imagine going to a different resort without him there.. again maybe not to the same resort it wont ever be the same without Gibran! Reallly good guy i'd say! i never met anyone like him!! Thank you Gibran, we had amazing time!

Room Tip: room with a deck, lower rooms are better wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmmaleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The resort is lovely in many ways, but the rooms are a bit run down and small. The A/C was very loud and felt more like a swamp cooler; the wine served in the reservations-only restaurant was extremely watered down; the food was nothing special. But most of the waiters/servers were very friendly and helpful, and the public areas were kept very clean. Visitors should also be aware that upon check-in, the resort staff pressures guests to attend a 90-minute time share presentation. In fact, you can't get towels or meal tickets without hearing the initial sales pitch. Also, wifi internet was only accessible in the lobby, even though they advertise it as being available throughout the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PVDandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was at Canto Del Sol during the March Break with my family, we were super happy with the entire experience. The staff was one of the friendliest we have ever had at a resort. My mother walks with a walker and the staff were always willing to help her with anything. The staff went out of there way to make sure that we were enjoying ourselves. We really enjoyed watching the staff intereact with each other, you can tell that they are happy working there. The hotel was always spotless, seemed like no matter what time you looked around someone was always cleaning(even at 5am!!). The food was delish, as were the non-stop drinks. We were a group of 5 people travelling, aged 34-63, and there was always something for us to do whether it was joining the activities in the pool or just sitting around reading and playing cards. Our rooms were not anything special but the were comfortable and SUPER clean!! I think the only negative thing about this beautifully kept resort is that the ramps are a little too steep for people that have mobility issues. You can tell the were installed as an after thought, so they were very difficult by the end of the week for my mom to walk up and down. Not a big deal just if you have severe knee problems it won't be easy to get up and down the ramps.

Awesome trip!! Will go back to the fantastic place again for sure!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ontariotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our first visit to Puerto Vallarta, loved the area, not so much the hotel. The buildings are older and in need of an upgrade. Our room wasn't very clean when we arrived although it got better as the week went on. They advertise wi-fi in your room, we couldn't get it all week. Only place that seemed to have a signal was the main lobby area. Food was average at best, there was definitely some "mystery meat" served a couple of times and there wasn't the sort of variety that we have had at resorts on the Mayan Riviera. If you like entertainment in the evening, this isn't the place for you. They put on a so-so dance performance most nights that lasts roughly an hour and ends at 9:00. After that , you're on your own.A piano bar, deejay, or something else would help to keep more people out and about. Best bet is to go into the old town and check out the clubs, but that requires leaving the resort and taking a taxi, not everyone wants to do that.
We would go back to Puerto Vallarta again, but would look for a better hotel closer to downtown where you could easily walk to clubs, etc. without having to arrange for a taxi.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel was fine. The room was a bit small and the bath especially so. The balcony was an afterthought. That said, we didn't intend to spend that much time in the room anyway. The food was decent. The pool and recreational areas more than adequate. Location was very good. Lots of nearby services and we could easily walk to town.
I might go back, the issue would be variety. I think we're more the explore different places kind of people. For a mid-priced resort, we got good value.

Room Tip: Stay away from a corner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#40 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,649 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol
Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol
#66 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive ...
#21 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $148 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, right on Banderas Bay, breathtaking sunsets draw visitors and locals alike to the evening display. Canto del Sol’s colonial-style resort offers guests outstanding value, with an extensive All-Inclusive Program that features: a championship Tennis Club with four outdoor clay courts and four covered Laykol courts; windsurfing; water polo; tequila volleyball; and dance lessons. Guests can choose a vacation as active or as relaxed as they like.The sparkling turquoise water of Mexico’s Pacific Riviera caresses the beachfront of CANTO DEL SOL PLAZA VALLARTA. This perfect vacation resort offers an atmosphere of Fun, Tradition and Tranquility, where guests have everything for their wonderful Puerto Vallarta holiday. Escape from the ordinary, and discover this magnificent oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing