We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Ranked #32 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“awesome vacation”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Our first time at this resort. We loved it!!!! we will return. Most friendly and helpful staff. Can`t wait to see them again. Loved the beach,warm ocean beautiful resort. very clean,inviting. always hot and sunny. great food.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louron63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    963
    395
    157
    93
See reviews for
619
845
106
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We just got back from Mexico yesterday. What an amazing holiday.
Canto Del Sol was beautiful. The price was excellent. The service was second to none!!
18 family went, I brought my 4 young children to have fun.
The staff was the friendliest I've ever encountered. They will go out of their way to provide great service.
The daily pool activities were the best. My children aged 12, 11, 10 were able to enjoy water volleyball, card games by the pool, football in the pool and various other activities. The activities staff(Josh, Saul & Manuel) were so friendly. Their outgoing attitudes made it so fun for everyone. My 7 year old enjoyed the services of the Kids Club with the Awesome guidance of Nubia. She was so good with the children, they loved her.
Every night there was a show or Bingo. The shows were amazing. Great dancing routines and the most beautiful costumes. The dancers were friendly and the director of the dancers, a man named Gill, was outgoing and always including the crowd. Bringing the children onto the stage to dance and laugh and sing. I loved watching my children having so much fun.
I would say overall that the staff at this hotel made our trip memorable.

Thank you to Gill, Josh, Nubia, Manuel & Saul
See you next year :-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Wutke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I thought this hotel was nice. The staff and service was excellent and I was pleased with the food and selection. It was slightly repetitive, but that's not a big deal, I'm not a picky eater so it was great for me. Try the ice cream, it's fantastic! Unfortunately they stop serving alcohol at midnight, but they do have a good selection of drinks. For people who like to party this is not the resort. We were asked on several occasions to be quiet in the evening when we were hanging out around the pool and we were asked to go back to our rooms or the beach. The rooms were decent. The back side of the hotel isn't great for views, pretty much roof tops and tennis courts and construction. If you like tennis, there's 7 courts i believe. But the gym was nothing like the picture they showed, dissapointed with that. The beach is probably the worst part of this hotel. It's super small, steep and the waves and under tow are very violent at times. The roped off section for guests is very small and Vendors sit in front of you all day and try to get your attention. There are lots of organized activities if you care to participate. I had a 1am flight back and when you checked out of your room that morning they kept your bags in a safe area for you so you could spend the rest of the day relaxing and you could use the tennis showers at any time. If you aren't big on beaches and booze this is a great resort for relaxing beside the pool and meeting people and the sunsets were fantastic. If the beach was better I would go back, but next time will be somewhere with late bar service and a beautiful beach ;)

Room Tip: Go Garden suite/ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BCJade888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Love the all inclusive, its the only way to go! We went with a nother couple, had two rooms. The hotel was clean, beds were good, breakfast at the beach front was fabulous every morning! The staff went out of their way to help with anything we needed. Stayed two weeks food was great all the restaurants, shows were good and the games were fun. Can't waite to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Debbie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed in the Canto del Sol in March with my family in 4 separate rooms. My dad really wanted to try an all inclusive. The rooms were clean enough. The food was somewhat edible... I ate salad every day for lunch. In the evening they usually had a table to the side where they carved meat (pork) onto soft flour wraps and you could add your on toppings. These were delicious and I ate them every night. The rest of the food was heavy and very average. The drinks were good... nothing wrong with them. The service we received at the pool was outstanding. Soooo, I wouldn't go back. I don't think I'm an "all inclusive" sort of person, but it was ok for a family if you're ok with just average food.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank coolauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We have stayed at the Canto Del Sol many times (it was formerly Plaza Vallarta and then Continental Plaza), most recently in January, 2011. It has been well mantained, and is very clean. Guests feel safe, and the staff go out of their way to help you. One of us required medical attention during our last visit, and the concierge arranged for a doctor from the American Hosptal to come to our room. The location is good - about midway between the marina and downtown - and one can easily walk to either place. There are several restaurants, cafes, shops and services across the street. There are pool activities during the day and live shows in the evening. The all inclusive fare is quite good, alhough with so many fabulous restaurants downtown, it would be a shame to stay on site for all meals.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank vette77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

A group of us went to the Canto Del Sol in feb 2011. We enjoyed all of it, the food was great
the service was excellant and the people were very friendly. Thanks to Pablo who works the lobby bar he makes a awsome ceasar. The pool was nice and the activities were great.
The rooms were excellant very clean . The view from the beach was great, got to see a whale
jump out of the water for along time one morning. We will be back in 2012.
The check in was fast and great service from the guest desk also.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank tan-boy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
2.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,464 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
2.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,425 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Property: Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, right on Banderas Bay, breathtaking sunsets draw visitors and locals alike to the evening display. Canto del Sol’s colonial-style resort offers guests outstanding value, with an extensive All-Inclusive Program that features: a championship Tennis Club with four outdoor clay courts and four covered Laykol courts; windsurfing; water polo; tequila volleyball; and dance lessons. Guests can choose a vacation as active or as relaxed as they like.The sparkling turquoise water of Mexico’s Pacific Riviera caresses the beachfront of CANTO DEL SOL PLAZA VALLARTA. This perfect vacation resort offers an atmosphere of Fun, Tradition and Tranquility, where guests have everything for their wonderful Puerto Vallarta holiday. Escape from the ordinary, and discover this magnificent oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing