We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Costa Club Punta Arena
Nearby Hotels
$351
$279
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$184
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$356
$273
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$307
$257
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$378
$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$168
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$423
$140
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$129
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$242
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$132
$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveler rating
114
155
147
72
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
155
147
72
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabandoned hotelmexican familieswalking distance to the maleconclose to downtownadult poolall inclusive dealbus stopmexican hotelrooms were very cleanwhale watchinghamburgerbedroom suitetime share presentationlobby barmexican foodbeach vendorspool side
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 576 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just got back yesterday after spending one week at the Costa Club. While it is not the Bates Motel, it did not live up to the standards of Fawlty Towers. Our first night was in tower 3 but we asked to be moved due to extremely loud karaoke at the lobby bar which rattled our patio doors until past 1AM. Our new room in tower 13 was somewhat quieter except for the kids who liked to pound on doors and run away after the pool closed. They obviously have only one set of towels, barely enough for all rooms as the towels were removed when housekeeping made up the room but fresh towels did not come back until 5 or 6 o'clock.
The food, while plentiful, had chicken as the main dish for every lunch and dinner and even for some breakfasts. Hot dog weiners masqueraded as sausages throughout the week and liver and onions seemed an unusual brakfast selection even to some Mexicans we spoke to.
Although seating at the pool and beach was technically not supposed to be reserved, they were covered with a towel or a shoe by 8 am every morning with not a seat to be found. Bar service was OK.
The à la carte restaurant had a good athmosphere and good service but the food was mediocre at best.
The resort was clean but maintainance was obviously a significant issue. Most of the staff were just going through the motions and had little care or concern for quest comfort. Two notable exceptions were Wendy at the lobby bar and Genesis at reception. Both of these young ladies went above and beyond.
All in all, a stay at the Costa Club is not an experience we would likely repeat.

Room Tip: There may not be a good room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pa_uthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We are just back from a week at Costa Club (Mar.23-30). We were pleasantly surprised at the resort. We had a huge room in Tower 15 with a king size bed. The room was cool and had plenty of hot water and was quiet by 10 pm. Our stay coincided with Semana Santa, Mexico's biggest holiday. There were many tourists from all over the country. Our resort was 99% Mexcan families. It was great to be imersed in their language and culture. People were friendly and the staff went out of their way for us. The resort was clean and well kept. There was plenty of food with enough variety for the week .our location was very central with easy access to taxis and busses to go wherever we wanted to. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dan961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

An older hotel, that they keep very clean, and are improving the entrance, with a new palapa, fresh paint and friendly front desk. It is an all inclusive, but we went downtown for most of our drinks and meals. It is what you pay for. Clean, cheap, lots of hot water.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveFairview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Room: When I first arrived at the resort, I was pleasantly surprised. It is a small, simple property, nestled between 2 empty resorts, one abandoned and one being torn down. The noise of the construction was a bit annoying during the day. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and it was clean, simple, and well appointed. Our ground floor unit 1902 was perfect for us as our daughter napped during the day, but we got bright afternoon sun on our patio, and our baby monitor reached to the snack bar.

Drinks: The drinks were again simple, but totally fine. 2 types of beer, tequila and rum based drinks. Mario is an excellent bartender and would deliver drinks to our patio during nap time!

Food: GOOD> first I should say that the clientele for this resort was almost entirely middle-class Mexican families. We were among the only white English-speaking guests. The best part of this is that their buffet was an excellent reflection of authentic Mexican cuisine! I can honestly say it was some of the best food we've had a resort. The buffet was somewhat small, but delicious and frequently changed. The highlights were the soups, fresh fish, frijoles, and there was usually something being made by a chef on the spot. NOT GOOD > I wish there was fresh juice available. Except for the watermelon agua fresca, all of the juice was sugary artificial junk. We would often walk down the street for fresh juice from a stand close to downtown. The snack bar was some of the worst food I've ever had. Weird processed cheese, hotdogs, chicken nuggets, and fried hamburgers, and fries, were greasy and disgusting. However it was always crowded so some people must like it. It needed some of the fresh delicious Mexican food that made its buffet so nice. However at night the snack bar served quesadillas and tacos on fresh tortillas which were excellent. Why not more of that during the day?

Beach: the resort is beach front and has a lovely clean and sandy place to wander and play. The surf is extremely rough and not suitable for swimming past mid-thigh depth. Not child friendly at all, but many enjoyed splashing and jumping the waves.

Proximity: This resort is very close to downtown and it took us about 15 minutes to get to the beginning of the boardwalk. Every morning we wandered the length of the boardwalk with our stroller and it took us about an hour to get to the end, and we were happiest if we could make it back before 10:30am when the day got hot. We went out one night for a walk and drinks and could see how anyone out for a partying vacation would have a great time in Puerto Vallarta. I also like how there is a Mega store next door, so were able to buy unexpected things like Tylenol and fresh fruit for snacks.

Overall: We travelled here with Sunwing Vacations as a last minute deal for extremely cheap. While it doesn't compare to some of the luxurious resorts we have stayed at, it was a nice vacation especially for the price. We don't like to stay at the same place twice, but I would definitely recommend it to families look for a fun, relaxing vacation on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just came back from a 2 week stay march 3 to 17 and i was at first concerned about staying here as was my future son in law and daughter who live in puerto vallarta BUT we were more than pleasantly surprised we loved it !!! We really enjoyed seeing all the mexican people than came on weekends i mean after all we are in mexico........ i found the food great and it changed often we did not get to eat supper there as we were out with the kids at night but this hotel was clean not fancy and people were always fixing ,painting,cleaning......THERE IS NO TIMESHARE PEOPLE at this hotel they do have a tour desk but it is NOT affilliated with timeshare ..... it was very quiet by 10:30pm, the bar at the front across from the reception stayed open till 10:30pm the beach bar closes at 6pm and the pool bar at 10pm.I want to thank ISEBEL (bartender) JOSE(bartender) Mario (bartender)Nestor(bartender) Wendy(waitress dining) Edwaurdo (bellman) sry for the misspell of your name and all the front end staff especially the young man that wore a purple shirt and glasses who's name im afraid i forgot and a security guard out front who was very helpful who's name i also forgot i again THANK-YOU because you all had a hand in making our stay so very wonderful in one way or another ...... we will be back again to see you all till then Michael and Sheila Sears say adios!!

Room Tip: wi-fi was not very good in the rooms on deck was better
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raven154v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews