We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Information needed for this villa”
Review of Villas Loma Linda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Loma Linda
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Information needed for this villa”
Reviewed February 25, 2008

Villas Loma Linda is perfect if you are over the age of 65. If you plan on not talking or laughing after 11:00 p.m., this is the place for you. I was there with three other friends and we came in talking and laughing, and sudedenly we heard loud threats coming from one of the other units. Their remarks were very inappropriate and racial. They complained about us making too much noise; but when I complained to Sylvia about the remarks and their shouting loudly, she made no comments. I am sure everyone staying in the villa heard these rude, loud remarks.
We stayed in a two bedroom/two bathroom. If one person was in the shower in one bathrm. then there was no hot water in the second bathroom. Also, bring your own towels; towels were very thin and hard. Also, towels are not replaced on a daily basis.
Villa Loma Linda is located in a good location and Juan can tell you everything, from where to eat, shop, or just relax. Cab fare was very inexpensive and there was no waiting for a cab.
These are very old villas, so don't expect any modern convience.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank kait530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
16
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

I just stumbled across the photos from our stay at Villas Loma Linda and all of the wonderful memories came rushing back!

We own a timeshare and exchanged for Villas Loma Linda. Our stay was WONDERFUL! We had a HUGE 2 bedroom villa. I called ahead to make sure we got a villa with a n outdoor jacuzzi. They asked for an extra $100 for it, but it was worth every penny! We watched every single sunset from that jacuzzi. One thing in PV you cannot miss is every sunset! Just don't do it.

It's true that Villas Loma does not have air conditioning, which we knew going in. Being from New Hampshire, though, on our first day we thought we might have made a mistake. But once the sun set, and through the rest of the week, we never gave it another thought. Besides, sleeping with the balcony doors open towards the ocean was just lovely. And the fans are very effective. (Keep the time of year in mind when you visit, though. If it were 5 degrees hotter, my husband and I would have wilted! We visited in early May, and the locals said it was a little on the cool side for that time of the year.)

There is construction on the hill, so if you are a light sleeper, I would rethink Villas Loma Linda for now. It wasn't the noise on the hill that was bad, it was the large trucks at the bottom of the hill that made the most noise. It's such as shame that a great place like Villas Loma Linda has to deal with that commotion!

Our hosts Carlos and Juan were absolutely wonderful. They called our taxis for us, they helped us book excursions, and were generally very helpful all around.

One thing I wanted to share is that this place is VERY rustic (which we LOVED, by the way). You really feel a part of Mexico when you stay here. BUT... if you like the modern conveniences, this place is not for you! The floors are endearingly uneven, there are many steps to climb to get to your room (try to get a room closer to the top of the hotel.. that's where the front desk is), there is no TV or clock or telephone.

And in the summer, there is no food available on premise. We walked to the supermarket downtown and had a blast shopping. A taxi was waiting for us to take us back up the hill. Just ask Juan or Carlos and they'll give you a map with the grocery store marked. We had a gas grill on our patio, which was just over the top for us. Steaks, grilled chorizo, and chicken... with sliced avocado and locally made tortillas on the side... yum!

Would we stay there again? Yes, but only if we had the same 2 bedroom villa with the jacuzzi.

  • Liked — The view, the jacuzzi, the service, the grill, and did I mention the view?
  • Disliked — Some bathroom fixtures could use some updating
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank thewolffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

Just got back from PV. Stay at Villas Loma Linda was nice. I know that Villas denies the need for air-conditioning, but I do not agree. Maybe if you stay there from Oct-May you might not, but if you stay is during June-Aug. you definitely need air-conditioning. It was soooo humid sometimes it was like a sauna, even with all the doors and window open.
The room was very nice. Bathrooms were big. Master bath had large jacuzzi tub. The view was spectacular from the balcony !! We stayed in C7 (what we called the penthouse) 2 bd. condo with jacuzzi on the balcony. Since it was a timeshare exchange we did pay an extra $100 to have a room with a jacuzzi. (my husband called in advance to request this). We had to pay the $100 cash when we got there, they would not take a credit card? Not sure if this was a scam. Either was it was worth the $100. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. We arrived early (1000am) and we were able to get our room at the time.
As stated before, Villas Loma Linda is situated on a very steep hill. There is tons of construction going on. The only time we were not awakened at 5:30am was on Sun. The locals only day off. Very Very noisy!!!.
To get to the beach you have to walk down 160 very steep steps. It is a major chore going back up. A taxi will cost you $4.00 to take you back. We did this several times! As you get to the beach if you go to the left you will find many umbrellas with beach chairs avail. I will warn you that the hotel were those chairs are available is a Gay/Lesbian hotel. If this does not bother you the place is great. You do have to order from the bar or meal menu to use their chairs.
All in all this place is very nice. Its a little far from the Hotel Zone, but walking distance to El Malecon (the boardwalk), where there are many shops and restaurants.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Steep Steps
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank BREZ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2007

Have been to many places in Mexico but never Puerto Vallarta. What an amazing place - Villas Loma Linda has that "old town" feel with all the amenties of home. The open beautiful view of the Banderas Bay, with the most wonderful sunsets one can see... The Gecko Poolside grill has AMAZING food. The staff is wonderful, the price downright outrageous awesome (a steal!) We recommend it to everyone!

  • Liked — clean, wonderfully maintained, great amenities
  • Disliked — nothing...
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank teresaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2007

We stayed in Villa Guillermo, B4, which is privately owned. We were pleased beyond expectations at the villa. Well supplied. all amenities required. We had breakfast in and many dinners in. Awesome view of the Bay and city. The bathrooms (recently renovated) are a dream. Huge Jacuzzi tub for 2, the other bathroom has a shower for 4!!!!! All marble enclosed. The area was noisy during the day due to massive construction project up the mountain, but at night it was quiet and a delight to sleep due to the gentle breezes off the Bay. We used the pool area a lot, well equipped and large pool. Lunch is available, prepared by 2 affable men who will also cook your dinners with sufficient notice.
The daily maid service (including your dinner dishes!!) is excellent. All the staff, especially the front desk staff are very helpful with information, directions and entertainment ideas. We so enjoyed our stay that we booked for 4 weeks, next year.
Walking down to the beach and old town is not difficult, I could not climb back up, but a $3.00 cab trip saw you home safely. 2 very happy guys from Victoria, B.C.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank Victoriaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
britishcolumbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2006

we have never stayed in this part of Puerta vallarta before and we enjoyed the friendliness and beauty of this resort. Up in the hills and not an easy walk for older folk to get to Los Muertos Beach but for 30 pesos a taxi could take you there. The same price took you into town to the main sqare and the Malecon.
There was lots to see and do within walking distance. A new Mexican Naval museum had just opened near Los Arcos and the old museum down near the River Cuale is revamped and opened Tues and thurs.
The big Flea Market is right there too. and an interesting Tile factory off Badillo. for those who yearn for Pancakes try The pancake house at Basilio Badillo and Constitucion yummy pancakes and excellent Mexican menu also and a wonderful coffee and tea shop . Open 8 am to 2.30 pm so do not be late.
The 2 bedroom was spacious with a lovely big living room and dining room. The kitchen was small with a bar with stools but was well eqipped and a big container of water was brought whenever it was needed.The dishes were pretty and in a lovely cabinet and guess what a lovely matching tea pot which got used several times a day . Maid service was great and she even did the dishes for us.
We spent a lot of time on the large covered deck and enjoyed loungers up there . It was like sitting in a delightful tropical setting. We could see the firework displays most nights.
We did not need air conditioning as the villa was built understanding the climate and had fans and doors that opened to the outside like a large loggia.
The gardens and swimming pool which was a proper pool deep enough to swim in not like so many at the Big Resorts where one hits ones knees! were attractive. We even had a singing gardener called Sentio.
There were two men down at the pool who operated a small eating bar. Excellent food and they would bring meals to your home too. They had to know in advance if you wished to have the nightly choice the roast or chicken the day before as they went shopping. Some people ordered family meals for 15 people in advance. The resort seemed to have a lot of family and friend groups.
The staff were most accomodating and pleasant. Willing to book tours or advise. A wonderful 2 weeks were enjoyed by the three of us.
There was a lot of construction going on up the hill past the Villa loma linda but we got used to it. We were on the road side of the property and would jump up to see Cruz Azul cement mixers and rebar trucks and of course workers in buses and trucks.

  • Liked — Ambiance
  • Disliked — could not walk as hotel is off a busy road
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank sheilapierson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2006

The first year we spent at Villas Loma Linda, we spent one week there and the second week at an all inclusive. We soon decided after our week at the noisy, rowdy, small roomed all inclusive that the beautiful big condo at Villas Loma Linda was more our style. We ended up going back before we left Puerto Vallarta and buying a week. We feel like we live there now when we go, we get to shop in the local grocery stores and markets, we have a beautiful bar-b-que on our patio and a wonderful hot tub from which you get an amazing view of the entire Bay of Banderas. The people are so friendly and helpful, both the staff and other residents. The pool is great and mostly we had it to ourselves or with just a couple of other people. We highly reccomend it to anyone who wants a real taste of Mexico and its people and not a cookie cutter, big resort experience. I am not saying ownership is for everyone, but even if we hadn't bought we probably would have stayed there again even on an annual rental basis as the rates are really reasonable for the amount of space you get and the amazing view.

  • Liked — Very clean, homey, and with a great view.
  • Disliked — The beds are hard, and the deck chairs are very uncomfortable, they need cushions.
  • Tips/Secrets — You need to be moderately fit or have the money to take cabs, because it is quite a hike up and down the hill.
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Cosmozerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 220
Resorts by Pinnacle 220
#39 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#11 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#13 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
V Azul Luxury Vacation Rentals
V Azul Luxury Vacation Rentals
#3 of 93 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Loma Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Loma Linda

Property: Villas Loma Linda
Address: Hortensias # 37 | Fracc. Amapas, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Villas Loma Linda Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing