We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Villas Loma Linda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Loma Linda
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We traded into Villa Loma Linda thru Interval for the week of April 9 thru 16. There were 5 adults and we had a 2 bedroom/2 bath villa with a full kitchen, livingroom that opened up to a huge patio with a hot tub and a view of Puerto Vallarta that was absolutely incredible. Every night the most beautiful sunsets from our hot tub. What more could you ask for. The front desk was very helpful for directions and calling taxi's for us. Because the Villa is built on a hill there are a lot of steps to deal with but after the first couple of days you get used to them. This Villa is not on the beach but with the 2 pools and our own hot tub we really didn't miss the beach. It is a 10 minute walk to downtown or the beach which really was no big deal.
We were told that this property will be converted to owner occupied only in 3 years, so if you have any desire to trade in I recommend doing it soon.
If you want comfortable, authentic Mexican accomodations, this is the place for you.
A couple of tips: bring potholder's if you plan to cook in. There is a gas grill on the patio and is great for cooking on. There is a huge water cooler with purified water which is replaced as needed so bring canteen's. The bed's are hard so be prepared. Bring ziploc bags for food storage as they have little ants that can into food stuffs.
Call ahead to reserve a hot tub on the patio if you are requesting a 2 bedroom Villa. Not all of them have it. You will pay an extra $100 for the week but we felt it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wpsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 75 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

Do NOT stay here! Felt Very unsafe - one break in, right beside us, occurred while the couple were in their unit SLEEPING!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melanie131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We exchanged our TimeShare for this unit ...... We were a little concerned with the number of stairs mentioned in other reviews. I didn't count them from our unit 'C1' to the top, but there were many landings to stop and rest when necessary so it was not as big of a problem as I had thought.

C1 was spacious ... huge deck, the hot tub was tiled but a little uncomfortable but nice to sit in at night. Not private but we did not worry about being 'exposed'. Everything is made out of concrete, the couch was a concrete base as was the bed. The mattress was 6 inches of foam and we easily bottomed out making us sore by weeks end. The openness of the unit was great. For us the 'no air conditioning' thing wasn't a problem. The only real problem or annoyance was the amount of street noise. Mexico Hwy 200 is right at the pool edge ... we were 30 ft above but noise rises. Our friends were in the middle of Zona Romantica and they heard all the night clubs ... so it's a trade off.

Victor, who checked us in was very helpful with suggestions. He trekked the suitcases down the hill ... I was glad for the help, he was excellent. The suggested 'TIP' was fine considering the help as was the maid service, she came and went and kept the unit nice and clean. Wireless Internet is available for $25.00 for the week, not bad considering what some hotel charge, I would have preferred it being free.

Overall Villas Loma Linda was a place I would suggest to my friends, they have 4 Studio Units that have great views, If you didn't need the room I would get the studio. The pool doesn't get full sun but there is a great place on the top of D building, infinity pool and areas to sunbathe.. and great Sunsets!. There is no food service on premises or 'Bar'

Food Shopping, unless you need lots of food don't go to Sam's Club or Costco. There is a Walmart next to Sam's but Soriana's or Mega have everything you need and they are closer to Villas LL.

We used Taxis while we were there. I recommend: Jesus Carrillo, he has a 14 passenger Toyota Min-Van lots of room for luggage too ... his Ph# from the USA is 011-521-322-135-3771 or his cell phone is 044-322-135-3771. We never had to wait long and he was there when we asked to get us to the airport.

Lastly ... BRING bug repent especially if you plan on going into the jungle, do the zip lines etc. There are 'No See Ums' ... and they WILL BITE! And bring Benadryl Itch Stopping Gel ... extra strength ... it works great or you will scratch your self silly.

I will post photos when I get them all transferred to my computer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This was a great vacation myself and a friend and our two mothers went check is was great the unit was B1 74 steps down from street level but few steps to the pool which was a great pool never busy and light salt water. Having non air conditioned units was not to bad 93. degrees most days and i am an air condition junkie, knowing this in advance helps which you are told in advance. The unit we had 2 bdrm 2 bath jacuzzi tub on patio was nice. Very authentic mexican....The 2 workers in the resort were great carried bags to room and called taxis for us and recommended places to eat. We chose to taxi most places because of the hills and steps outside the unit. which being 4 of us came to $1.00 per ride per person Total $4.00. to go to town, of course the farther you go the price goes up a bit. Please do not believe ythe bad reviews on here people this is a nice resort left in a older time period, not a modern resort at all. But clean and nice. I have traveled all around the world and these accommadations were just fine. maid service goog clean towels everyother day as in most times share exchanges, did the dishes swept and dusted and changed linens. I would go back tomorrow, no tv no phone no problem had a cell and had computer with dvd's. Thanks Loma Linda for a Great Time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tyler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Villa C3 has a fantastic view! No A/C but being on a mountain and keeping the ceiling fans running made it comfortable and even cool at night. The villa is HUGE andbeautiful! Very open, no screens/no need/no bugs. Be prepared to HIKE!! We walked down two flights to the villa, down 3 flights to the pool (which was under repair) then up two flights to the rooftop "infinity pool". It's about hip deep and maybe 10x14 feet, but it was cool and relaxing. There is a bar there, unfortunately it is not open. Front office has sketchy hours and asking them to call for a taxi is hit or miss. There are taxis at the bottom of the steep hill! Walking to town is possible, but it is a STEEP walk and a real workout, lost 5 lbs! We had a hot tub which was great, but it needed tile work. The living area seating was not comfortable and there are no lounge chairs on the beautiful patio, just a table and chairs. The villa was kept very clean. Be prepared to pay a $3 a day maid fee as you leave. We were told in a letter to pay the office staff $20 each for their services, but we did not do it because we rarely saw them and twice our called for taxi did not show up. However, when we did see them, they were friendly and informative. We were asked to allow the villa to be shown for sale and we agreed. We were awakened on our last day by construction on the overhang. Other than that it was very quiet only 5 other guests in the entire complex! Oh, there is no "convenience store" just a rack of chips and cold drinks in the office fridge.
Would I stay here again? Probably not. The view is one I'll never forget; the experience was really unique, and it is sad that such a gorgeous place is so inconvenient. I would only recommend it as good but with lots of challenges.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

What an amazing view from our B1 suite overlooking the whole Bay! Never tired of the whale and dolphin sightings. Use of the private hot tub was a nice bonus.
The suite was well equipped and clean.
The staff are helpful and made our stay the vacation we anticipated.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HandyRandy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Simply the best vacation of my life! Went in 2008 with my aunts, cousins and sister. We had such a great time that we are doing it all again very soon. We can hardly wait and hope to have even a better time than last time. The guys at front desk were amazing and took good care of us....we hope they are still working there when we arrive! We always felt safe and secure and our villas were very clean and cared for. If you are looking for a true vacation....leave the tv, hair dryers (too humid anyway!), makeup and modern ammenities and enjoy life as it was meant to be!!! Simple!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluteinchoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
5 mi away
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
#60 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
169 reviews
4.7 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,458 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#24 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
1,641 reviews
4.8 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,820 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
#14 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
8,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Loma Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Loma Linda

Address: Hortensias # 37 | Fracc. Amapas, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $90 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Villas Loma Linda Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing