We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“PLAZAMAR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plazamar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plazamar
Save
You added Plazamar to your Saves list
Ranked #74 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PLAZAMAR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great condos! Great prices! Great location to beach and Zona Romantica. Very, very clean. Jeff was very easy to work when I needed to downgrade to a smaller room. I felt safe 100% of the time. What more could you want???

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JefferyPsota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in 203 for 4 years, 6-8 weeks at a time. Loved the location and access to the beach and local restraunts. The view of the ocean however, is blocked by the bars on the beach.
The not so good part was the noise from the Burro's Bar and the drunk people walking home from the bars at all hours of the night. It started with the employer of the Burro Bar screaming at his employees every morning about 7:30 AM. If you noticed, the kitchen to bar is directly below the balcony of #203 and the smells from the kitchen are atroshis, especially when they cleaned the grills about 9:30 every night. So we had to make sure the doors to the terrace were closed at that time. We talked to other tenants on either side of us in the building and they did not have the smell problems. So if you are planningto to stay at the PlazaMar, we suggest you stay on the Third floor or higher. We have since moved to a condo where is is much quieter and only a block from the beach.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Canadian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you are looking for a condo in PV, look no further. I was here for a week last year (first time in PV) and am now here for two weeks. Last year there were two of us and we stayed in the corner unit on the fifth floor. It was spectacular. The large wraparound terrace was a delight. It is very spacious and affords ocean and mountain views. It was also well equipped with very comfortable outdoor furniture to enjoy breakfast or sunsets.

This year I am here solo, and when I first started thinking about a vacation this was the first destination that came to mind. I am in a one-bedroom at the end so it is very quiet. (It is also low season.) The building is very secure, which I appreciate as a solo female traveller, and ideally located. It is also very clean and well maintained.

I was a bit skeptical booking online for the first time last year but everything exceeded my expectations. I also highly recommend dealing with Jeff Musto. I suspect I will be back next year as well. Thanks Jeff!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tohearncanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I have been coming to Puerto Vallarta for over 15 years and this is the 5th place I have stayed at. This is where I will continue staying as it is by far the best in so many ways. Location, location, location, what more can be said. Beachfront with spectacular ocean and city views. The city views are breathtaking because the Old Town of Vallarta is buit up a bowel that cascades into the sea. Many restaurants are all within walking distance as are many bars with all kinds of nightlife. WE stayed in Jeff Musto's unit 306 March 2011 which was very well maintained. I enjoy cooking and every utensil I needed was available. The king size bed was comfortable and there was ample closet space as I am a heavy packer. The room was cleaned very well every other day. There is a large gas grill on the rooftop next to the pool that is available for a small fee. Ah the rooftop pool! The plantings are very well maintained but I must admit that the water was a bit cool but very refreshing if you got too hot while sunbathing. The views from there were wonderful and there was a community fridge which was convienent if you wanted to keep some beer cold. I don't spend all day in the sun like I used to so the covered area was a real treat. I could drag my chaise under the roof and still enjoy the pool and roof top views. There are 2 washers and 2 dryers on this floor which we used mainly for our beach towels and beach shorts and T shirts.

The building is very secure as the front gate is locked at all times. You must ring a bell and then the person at the front desk buzzes you in. There is a computer in the loby that is available for a nominal fee. WE had a laptop so we did not use it but I saw others did. There is a small central courtyard that is well planted and is a nice place to gather if you are going out with others from Plaza Mar for a night of merry making. The entire building is kept very clean which is no small task since most people keep their windows and doors open. Speaking of doors, all units have an iron grill which locks over the front door so you can leave the door open for cross ventilation. WE felt totally secure and are anxious to return to what I feel is the best location in PV. WE were there during the "owners annual meeting" so we got to meet several of them. They all seemed to take pride in the building and in their unit.

This year we are returning in Oct for 3 weeks. Several years ago I went the in Oct and there were spectacular thunder storms in the evening with wonderful lightning effects. I am hoping for a return performance as the views from the balconys would be superb. I have stayed several times at another large complex very very near Plaza Mar and it does not compare in so many little ways. Plaza Mar is a star in the crown of the Romantic Zone.

Robert

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms have ocean views only. Side rooms have ocean views and city views. I prefered th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enrique2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Our stay was wonderful – and so very relaxing. The town seemed a bit quiet for the season, but that’s exactly how we like it. We also stopped in a few times at Page In the Sun. I couldn’t spot your cousins, but enjoyed some pastries and dropped off the many magazines I brought with me and read during our trip.

With respect to your unit, it truly felt like home. You have all the right amenities to get settled in quickly. My husband was very appreciative of the extended cable channels considering the NCAA college basketball tournaments were in play during our visit. Not all area condos have that – he was very excited.

And you were right, you’ve made several upgrades to the kitchen and bathroom that really make a difference – it’s been completely transformed and the new bathroom tiles look great.

We’re planning another trip for next year to 406.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We have rented Plaza Mar #605 in the past, looking forward to our second visit next month. Great beach, easy part of town, affordable (?) and nicely appointed condo. We will return.

Room Tip: There are various condos available in this building, we rent from the Puerto Vallarta Properties web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curtphoto d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed here Dec 25 through Jan 08,2011 and loved everything about the place. For that reason we stayed there again May 21 through the 29th, 2011 in condo #404. The place is huge but wasn't as clean as it could have been. My family and I attributed this to being there in low season. Since it was a weekend, it took two days for maintenance and housekeeping to take care of our list of problems but they did.
Then, three days later the termites moved into the master bedroom. I was told by the front desk, "They won't hurt you. They always come out this time of the year. No, you can not sleep in another condo and we don't have blow-up beds or Raid. Put on the air conditioner, open the outside doors so they can leave, and leave the lights on. They don't like that."
None of his ideas worked and my 4y/o grandchild refused to sleep in that room, since they were crawling all over the headboard and mattress. Therefore, four people were forced to sleep in the smaller bedroom on the other side of the condo, next to the hallway. It was so sparce, even the bugs stayed away. A beautiful vacation turned into, we can't wait to leave.
I read that other people moved in 2 days after we left and marvelled "at how clean the condo was". Guess why??

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank rnroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.0 mi away
Eloisa Hotel
Eloisa Hotel
#73 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#59 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#54 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yazmin
Hotel Yazmin
#61 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#23 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plazamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plazamar

Property: Plazamar
Address: Calle Lazaro Cardenas 155, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Plazamar Puerto Vallarta
Plazamar Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing