We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Plazamar 406” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plazamar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plazamar
Save
You added Plazamar to your Saves list
Ranked #75 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Plazamar 406”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Our stay was wonderful – and so very relaxing. The town seemed a bit quiet for the season, but that’s exactly how we like it. We also stopped in a few times at Page In the Sun. I couldn’t spot your cousins, but enjoyed some pastries and dropped off the many magazines I brought with me and read during our trip.

With respect to your unit, it truly felt like home. You have all the right amenities to get settled in quickly. My husband was very appreciative of the extended cable channels considering the NCAA college basketball tournaments were in play during our visit. Not all area condos have that – he was very excited.

And you were right, you’ve made several upgrades to the kitchen and bathroom that really make a difference – it’s been completely transformed and the new bathroom tiles look great.

We’re planning another trip for next year to 406.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We have rented Plaza Mar #605 in the past, looking forward to our second visit next month. Great beach, easy part of town, affordable (?) and nicely appointed condo. We will return.

Room Tip: There are various condos available in this building, we rent from the Puerto Vallarta Properties web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curtphoto d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed here Dec 25 through Jan 08,2011 and loved everything about the place. For that reason we stayed there again May 21 through the 29th, 2011 in condo #404. The place is huge but wasn't as clean as it could have been. My family and I attributed this to being there in low season. Since it was a weekend, it took two days for maintenance and housekeeping to take care of our list of problems but they did.
Then, three days later the termites moved into the master bedroom. I was told by the front desk, "They won't hurt you. They always come out this time of the year. No, you can not sleep in another condo and we don't have blow-up beds or Raid. Put on the air conditioner, open the outside doors so they can leave, and leave the lights on. They don't like that."
None of his ideas worked and my 4y/o grandchild refused to sleep in that room, since they were crawling all over the headboard and mattress. Therefore, four people were forced to sleep in the smaller bedroom on the other side of the condo, next to the hallway. It was so sparce, even the bugs stayed away. A beautiful vacation turned into, we can't wait to leave.
I read that other people moved in 2 days after we left and marvelled "at how clean the condo was". Guess why??

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank rnroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

It was our first time staying at Plaza Mar and boy what a great location! The unit itself was clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated! It was so nice to go on the website and see a video of it beforehand also. The staff were helpful, pleasant and always had a friendly "hola" everyday for us! Booking was a breeze and we are so glad that we had the chance to stay there! Looking forward to our next visit with the kids, can't wait!!!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank safarifour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Another incredible stay at our home away from home!!!! After visting Puerto Vallarta repeatly in Jan/Feb/ July/Oct/Nov I can now say that MAY is my favouritest (hoping that is a word) time to vist.

As always Jeff is a delight to deal with (thank you for taking such good care of our friends, they LOVED their condo 402 as did Tony who wants to stay in that condo next year).



Front desk staff and all hotel staff are lovely to interact with, condo was beyond clean as usual and we truly felt like we had returned home. It is funny as we walked by Playa Los Acros the hotel that we used to stay at before friends turned us onto PVkid ......I remarked that I could not imagine staying in another hotel suite or not especially after experiencing true condo living viva la Puerto Vallarta.



OH and the new openly Sea Monkey thar just opened at Vista De Sol is AMAZING!!!!! Cheap good drinks, good service, good food and a mere 2 sec walk from Plaza Mar... Sea Monkey quickly became the new hang out fast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank quincytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Our family stayed in Plaza Mar room 505 owned by Jeff Musto. He was prompt in answering questions by Email and once we had made our reservation we received instructions to check in quickly.
A cab from the airport was 475 pesos and on the way back 240 pesos for four. I believe that if we had walked the hundred yards to get off the airport property that the rate would have been 240 pesos for the ride to the condo.
The location was perfect for us right in the middle of things and with only a beach restaurant separating us from the ocean. Restaurants and taco stands were numerous within 5 - 6 blocks. It pays to do a little research about where to eat on Trip Advisor before going out. We enjoyed Cafe Roma for the 30 peso Margaritas and 5 peso beer (off season rate, 15 peso during high season) along with the pizza and pasta and Polos for the great seafood and service. The Malecon starts right out the front door and is a wonderful safe stroll during the day or at night. Several loud nightclubs add excitement to the stroll at night. There is a great grocery store at the far end of the Malecon about a mile from the condo. We went there several times because we enjoyed the morning walk and the fresh baked goods were scrumptulous.
Our maid came twice during the week for which we were told repeatedly that the customary tip should be $28. The service wasn't worth $28 not to mention the tip which was to be left in a special envelope at the front desk. I doubt that the maid really sees all of this.
We had 4 towels for 4 people during the humid season. We had dry towels only on check in and after the 2 maid services--the rest of the time we dried ourselves with wet towels. We always took at least 2 showers a day with the humidity, the heat and swimming in the ocean. The room air conditioner in the master bedroom sounded like a washing maching spinning while running and when it turned off and on sounded like the broad side of a hammer hitting the side of the washing machine. We used the other room air conditioners and got by OK. One stool wouldn't flush, but after telling the front desk staff, this was fixed in just a couple of hours.
The balcony was large and the views of the ocean and the hills were magnificant. The kitchen is well equiped. We enjoyed the small swimming pool on the roof with very nice padded lounge chairs and an even better view of the area.
There were stained glass doors off the master bedroom and a stained glass window off the kitchen which were nice touches.
The beds are box springs with 2 inch foam pads on top. "Real" mattress beds would be a great improvement. These were NOT comfortable. Even though we were told that the king beds could be converted to two twin beds, they could not be separated unless you chose not to use the king sized 2 inch foam and just use the box springs. The sheets smelled musty.
During rainy season the streets are generally always flooded (these serve as the storm drains). We walked through a inch up to literally a foot of water almost all of the time when crossing the streets, so bring sandals that are made to get wet. Each afternoon we got a downpour and sometimes it rained all night and for part of the day. We enjoyed the thunder storms at first but it became a little too much as the week went on. September may not have been the best time to visit. During most of the year I doubt that this is a problem.
Local buses are 6 1/2 pesos and are numerous and an inexpensive way to see the city. Buses north and south of the city are priced only a little higher.
Jeff allowed us to check out late so that we could enjoy our last day before our 5:30PM flight. We were able to clean up before getting on the plane which was very nice with the hot humid weather.
The Oreo flavored smoothies at OXXOs were great!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OregonSinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

we rented condo 606 from Jeff Musto and it couldn't have been easier.....he was very patient and answered all of our questions. Paid through Paypal and truly it was easy. Mr.Quincytoo is a little (quite) unsure if he is made for condo living as he truly likes resorts and hotels. I am beyond hoteled out from constant work travel and resorts get old really fast. I want the condo roominess and to be able to think I am living in a home away from home.

We arrived and had some trouble finding the front entrance (we laughed about it later) and actually lugged our suitcases half way around the buillding to some friendly soul pointed us back in the right direction.
Got our bearing and buzzed to be let into the complex, (the front gates are locked 24/7 and you hit the buzzer located in the right hand side of the gate to be let in, very very secure). Here we met the oh so friendly Adrinna(wrng spplng sorry) she checks us in and takes our $10 deposit for the two condo keys (it is given back at the the end of the stay).
Adrinna was wonderful throughout our stay and was a great help, a very hard working asset to Plaza Mar.
We take the one elevator up to the 6th floor and unlock the iron gate then the front door and step into our condo. At first it is very hot and the AC in the bedroom and living area are not working, Mr.QT looks at me like his worst fears are realized and that we are subjected to 7 days of sauna like living conditions. Turns out the breaker was off, no worries we get it going and soon it is nice and cool.
The doors leading to the balcony needs some fixing as they don't shut properly unless latched and the latch at the bottom once latched with Mr. QT outside leaving him on the balcony till I returned. We laughed and I have just emailed Jeff to let him know.
Bed was king sized very comfortable, bathroom was a good size and everything in condo 606 and indeed Plaza Mar is spotless. Wonderful location with great restaurants, shopping, beach and people watching right at your doorstep. We were going to cook while there but only had 6 nights and abut 20 restaurants so cooking at the condo went out the door really fast. The fridge came in handy for storing leftovers from dinner for quick mid day snacks as well as holding cold refreshments.
There is a water stand in the kitchen with a huge jug of purified water that could be replaced Monday-Sat. Maid service was three times a week.

Lightening and thunder storms were amazing to watch and on the Sat night we were treated to a huge rainstorm. It was nice to come down in the summer and experience the *rainy season* of PV. It seems that it is hot and sunny during the day around 5ish the clouds come in and it pours and puts on quite the light show complete with sound then it cleared up to be nice for the following day.

The last day we had checked out and had our luggage in the lobby and dashed to the Oxxo for some 9 pesos Sols we went to the pool to spent our last few hours there before catching our flight back, we were the only people there and could hear the surf on the beach. We drank, swam, sunbathed and agreed that this was our best vacation yet and we will be back to Plaza Mar soon. :)
Adrinna at front desk is a true asset to Plaza Mar. She was wonderful to deal with and I miss her already :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank quincytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.0 mi away
Eloisa Hotel
Eloisa Hotel
#76 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#59 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#52 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yazmin
Hotel Yazmin
#62 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plazamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plazamar

Property: Plazamar
Address: Calle Lazaro Cardenas 155, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Plazamar Puerto Vallarta
Plazamar Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing