We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“15 of us went and had 3 different 2B/2B condos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #33 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“15 of us went and had 3 different 2B/2B condos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The property is beautiful and very clean. It is at the marina and walking distance to shops, restaurants, spas, etc. The rooms are great. Not as big as the Mayan Riviera Maya but still very nice. You get a small fridge and a two burner stove, microwave, coffee pot and toaster. Bring your coffee. The staff was amazing and the recreation director was great. WE DID a timeshare presentation just to get discounts and to see the other resort. This resort was closed for a month and was dead when we got there. Only 5 families checked in the first day and we were 3 families. They did not do the Friday night Mexican Buffet as there were not enough people. The food specials did not start until the following Friday which was the day we left. There were several happy hours at the pool though throughout the day and the drink prices were fine. We cooked oatmeal and toast and made mac n cheese, grilled cheese, and quesadialls in the room. The pool was fine. No lazy river. The beach was very nice and lots of chairs and umbrellas. There is water and sand volleyball, ping pong, and daily games around the pool. My favorite was BlackJack! It was kinda nice having the resort to ourselves most of the week. The boat in the picture was no longer there. The resort grounds, walkways, rooms, all bathrooms, etc were spotless. Maid and turn down service is provided daily. The bar by the ocean was amazing. We ordered dinner and watched the sunset our final night and it was great! It rained almost every day and so the rivers made the ocean very very murky. The water was clearer in the am. If you are along the beach, the locals try to sell you massages, clothes, hats, henna tattoos, jewelry, etc. It can get annoying. We visited the other property and it was HUGE. Honestly, it was too big and away from everything. At the Mayan Marina, you could walk to the store, Starbucks, shops, etc. Bus lines come all the time to go downtown, etc. The other resort had better pools but it is so spread out, we were fine at the Marina resort. The timeshare was only supposed to be 60 min. after breakfast but it was more like 2 hrs. and they were selling all during breakfast and would not take NO. We went through 5 people and finally got out of there. It was worth the nice FREE breakfast buffett for 15 people and massages by the ocean at our resort for $25 each plus 10% off our total bill. We also got discounts to the Dolphin experience at the water park which was the highlight of the trip for the kids. We did the Royal Experience which was an hour with the dolphins and 25 min. with the sea lions. So worth it! The water park was really fun too and we have tons of water parks in Texas. We also did a snorkel tour with BEACH BOY and it was terrible and I would not recommend it. Worst day and very unorganized. Now, back to the Mayan, they charge for the safe, WiFi, and gym. I got the gym waived since they had just opened and did not have any food specials but the food specials were advertised in the elevators. The Mayan missed out on a lot of money from us because of the wifi. I refuse to pay $90 / device for the week when there were 6 of us. So what did we do??? Walk right across the street and eat breakfast and dinner and get FREE Wifi. Yep, we would have eaten at the resort but the teens wanted to check their social media and text some friends and my husband and I needed to tap in our offices some. HUGE mistake on the Mayan's Management! They would have gotten a lot more money from us as the food was really good especially the FISH TACO's! So to sum up, great resort, great location, fabulous staff, nice rooms and great bed. Do the Dolphin ROYAL tour and skip the Beach Boy tour!!! Have fun and book with confidence!!!! I do want to say as for a spa, this resort doesn't have one but you can do a massage at the beach in a so called "SPA". It was the best massage I have ever had!!!!!! It was $25 due to timeshare but omg, worth $200!!!!! I have paid way more and been so disappointed! This lady was AWESOME!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dalestacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Dalestacey:

Thank you so much for choosing our Mayan Palace for your vacation and for sharing your review with us. We are pleased to learn our staff’s service was efficient. They work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most enjoyable experience ever. We are also happy that you consider our resort to be beautiful and enjoyed the facilities and accommodations.

Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    266
    113
    43
    59
See reviews for
215
248
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
242 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

As a guest of a friend who has time sharing it was a very inexpensive vacation for me...the room was spacious and the room service excellent, everything at the hotel works like a Swiss clock, what bothered me most was the insistence on having to pay for the little things like internet..

The MAYAN PALACE is only pone of man hotels at the resort that is ever expanding and carefully planned and run, very efficient and far enough from the city of Puerto Vallarta so that most guests just stay on the premises using the pools, beach, gym and restaurants available. There is no competition between the restaurants on prices...The least expensive meal is around $20 if you include a drink and tips, but for most meals you run into the $30-$40 range which is still reasonable, the food is tasty and the service excellent

June- July is off season and almost every day you have a few hours of rain which is actually a blessing...

My hat off for a well executed project and a great place fro a family to spend a week

Room Tip: rooms are assigend
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Easybob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Easybob2014:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options, our facilities and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We truly appreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our second spring break vacation at the Mayan Palace. There are so many things we like about this place: spacious suites for our family of five; nice pool and beach; excellent, friendly service by the wait staff, maids, and concierge; delicious food at the pool bar and restaurant; on-site booking agent for Vallarta Adventures (we recommend Los Veranos for zip lining and "Rhythms of the Night" for great food and entertainment); short walk to shops and restaurants at the marina; and bus stop across the street for getting anywhere in PV.

Room Tip: Suites in the "annex" (not the main building) are closer to the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cubhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear cubhawkfan :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at Mayan Palace. We are so glad you had a blast with your friends enjoying our pools, restaurants and our staff’s service. They work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Mixed reviews about this place. Right on the beach and very nice but probably could have been better in many ways. As RCI members I knew we were going to get not so great rooms. Sure enough we got a room right above reception with trees covering our balcony, could barely even see the street. Asked for a room change and they said they couldn't of course.............but to our surprise they called the next day and said they could move us on day 3. Move to other building and had a nice view looking north. Thank you Staff!!

Didn't eat at any of the restaurants but other people seemed happy. Beach and pools were great. Chair saving game going on all week but still were able to find some decent spots. Room was ok and the kids enjoyed sleeping on the sofas that pull out.

As others have said this place has no night life at all. Really not much excitement during the day either. Lots of older people enjoying the sun and pool mostly.

Stayed in old town last year and would probably recommend that side of town more although as I boater myself I thoroughly enjoyed walking the marina and looking at the massive yachts. Nice restaurants nearby and that was a key for my family to get out and have some excitement.

All in all a decent place but PV is full of these so we will probably not be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QCbulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WORTH
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent a week at the Mayan Palace in early May. The resort's location is excellent - on the beach and a short walk to the marina. Downtown and old Puerto Vallarta are a very short cab ride away. The Mayan has good facilities including a nice gym and restaurant. We had a 1 bedroom condo, and it was roomy, with a good view of the beach and mountains.

However, what could have been a 4 star review is downgraded to a 3 star because the resort is in need of substantial investment in renovations and upgrades especially in terms of furniture, finishes and technology. The feature we enjoyed most is a fantastic covered veranda on the beach with day beds, a bar and great service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emichaeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This is a great resort if your like me and don't want to walk 6 miles to your pool!! The activities people are awesome and the service is attentive!! Loved it!! Excursions were safe and friendly!! The city tour was soo quaint and the tequila stop even better!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wolverine031001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear wolverine031001 :

Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation. We will gladly share your comments with our Activities' staff as well. We are certain them will gladly receive your feedback, as all our staff is always looking to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!


Happily,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed on an RCI exchange April 25-May2. 
Check in was smooth and easy. Read a lot of reviews with the complaints that they don’t give ocean view units to those who come through RCI. However, I asked for it and got 2-bedroom unit switched from Marina to Ocean view. We also had another (hotel) unit for our son; that one wasn’t changed to ocean view, but he didn’t mind. We stayed in the main building back from the beach by the pool areas, and had nice view from the rooms. The 2-bedroom unit is actually a combined one-bedroom with hotel unit. We had one timeshare offer, but we declined because had a bad experience with Vida in Cancun. We were not bothered by timeshare people anymore.

Good maid service, plenty of towels, very clean. Furniture and TV are new comparing to 4 years ago. Kitchen equipment the same, but they don’t provide coffee and tee bags as before. No salt and pepper either as we usually get in other RCI resorts. We bought all food including coffee and sault in Wal-Mart. However, they do provide plenty shampoos, soap and lotion of a good quality.
We ate breakfast and few lunches in the unit - the table in the dining area is big and we were able to seat all 8 family members around it. There are a lot of good restaurants in Marina and Puerto Vallarta; Mr. Cream (pancakes and waffles) was a favorite one for breakfast, and Victor’s - for dinner. Visited Old Vallarta – nice for evening walks, also lots of restaurants and bars.

This was our third stay in this location. We’ve been also in Mayan Palace and Grand Mayan in Nuevo Vallarta, but despite newer rooms and bigger properties, we like to be in this particular resort much better. The rooms are closer to the beach, and it’s closer and cheaper to go to Puerto Vallarta city in the evenings.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms if possible, or Marina view rooms on 4th - 5th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank I C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Inna C :

Thank you so much for choosing Mayan Palace for your vacation and for sharing your review about your stay. We are delighted to find out that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!


Happily,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
#43 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
#105 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Valla...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,606 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclus...
#50 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta

Property: Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur S/N | Fracc. Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Wyndham Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Mayan Palace
Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing