We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“christmas week vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #29 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Prince George, BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“christmas week vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

we stayed here pursuant to an rci exchange from our normal timeshare. We had read the reviews before our trip and of course were aware of the extra charges for the internet etc. Besides not getting an oceanview room because we wouldn't go to the presentation, which really didn't matter to us, the staff were great, service was good, food at the pool and restaurant was good. Our maid Yolanda was wonderful. We were there for a relaxing vacation and that is what we got. What we did to access the internet was go across the street, have breakfast at the little restaurant and used their free wifi. It is just unfortunate that the mayan palace chooses to nickel and dime their guests by charging the outrageous rates for the internet, room safe and second bucket of ice from the ice maker where these charges could be included within the regular room rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DANA574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear DAN A :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace, and we are delighted to know you liked the pools and our food options. Thank you as well for your kind comment about our housekeeping staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets. We are certain Yolanda will gladly receive your feedback, as all our staff is always looking to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    301
    118
    49
    61
See reviews for
250
289
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nice hotel. Our room was a suite. It is a good location in regards to the Marina. The beach is not the greatest. Very small and not the best but it is better than no beach! Rooms were very nice and large with great views.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aoertli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear aoertli :
Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace. and we are delighted to know you liked your room.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you and your loved ones.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSoto, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

During the first week of December, we spent a week at the Mayan Palace, celebrating a "0" birthday. It was wonderful! We take sister trips, often, yet had never visited Puerta Vallarta (PV). PV is a timeshare mecca. We visited 3 other resorts--yes, 3 different presentations, but it was fine. I personally prefer the Mayan Palace at the Marina--we visited the Grand Mayan in Nuevo Vallarta--it's gorgeous, it is surrounded by beach on 3 sides, it is most contemporary and humongous, but it is 20-25 minute cab drive from the city--its idyllic suburbia without grocery stores, movies, shopping! At the Marina, we were able to take the bus (kind of bumpy, kind of crowded). It got us to the grocery store, the movies and the mall within 8-12 minutes. Oh, and the Mayan! It's a beautiful resort, a bit older, yet lovely, immaculate, lush and colorful floral and fauna, a sparkling pool, great restaurants on site--the BAKAL, and the one with the karaoke night (however, the couple of nights we visited--we never found it "jumping.") We had read the Trip Advisor reviews and were prepared to be offered a room on the bottom floors. We were -- but we immediately signed up for a presentation and went directly from the 1st to the 5th floor in the main building. It was great! There were 2 bedrooms, 2 baths and a mirrored sink just outside of the master bath. There was a bathtub in the master, but not the jacuzzi to which were are accustomed in an RCI resort. There were 2 full sofas with pull-outs in the living area, a nice dining area in between living and the kitchen (no oven or dishwasher in the kitchen, but our helpful maids took care of the dishes--unlike at The VILLAs down the way). Each of the bedrooms and the living area had their own sliding door with roomy patio. Our room overlooked the Marina--we didn't get the beachview, but on the 5th floor, the view was fine. (Neither of the patio doors locked, but we paid it no mind, and I'm the scary type.) The decor was modern--TV needs updating, the beds comfortable, all the floors marble and many closets with more than enough hangers (4 women with lots of clothes and shoes). We had room service probably 4 times: 1st day breakfast, a dessert night, and a couple of separate orders for the oddball sister of the night. ALL of the food was delicious, well presented and very timely. The portions were adequate, but being from Big D, the pieces of cheesecake just did satisfy--it was yummy, but could have been a tad bit more. Wi-fi service was a bit of a hassle, we never actually got it in our room (for $80 a week) and when we went downstairs, it was sketchy and even in the Business office, there were connection problems. Everyone was cordial and helpful--they need hotel envelopes at the service desk--oh, and get your stamps there and mail your postcards and letters. We did Morning Yoga in the open salon by the Beach and pool games in the middle of the day. We did the Paradise Village presentation on the 2nd day we were there--we got complimentary bus and boat tours (got to see one of the first whale sightings of the season--less than 100 yards from our boat--scarey!--and a discount for that RHYTHM of the NIGHT Spectacular--kind of a Cirque de Soliel a la Mexico. Once we acclimated to that pesos thing, we got around the city with little help--but when we did ask for help, it was readily available. Lots of the people understand English. I said earlier, that we often rode the bus--for short trips, but always took cabs back and at night--felt very safe. Each day that we were out, we'd be heading back to our resort and one of us would sigh, joyously and say, "Another wonderful day, girls," and we'd all agree. Unfortunately, or rather fortunately, we got to stay in Puerto Vallarta an extra night when our flight was cancelled due to the iceover in Dallas. We spent the night at the Villas, near the boat terminal--dated, very dated, but again close to everything--just down the block from Pizza Inn and SAM's and Walmart. I would go back to the MAYAN, it was a great experience.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor, main building, far end, away from the night club/sports bar. Didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Maffles :

Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options, and took advantage of the promotions available during your stay. We are also happy that you consider our resort to be beautiful and you selected it to celebrate such a special occasion, happy belated birthday!

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed at the Mayan Palace Marina in Puerto Vallarta for the second time in as many years and loved it second-time-around.
We prefer it to the Nuevo Vallarta location because it has a great beach, is closer to the downtown area, is less expensive, and has a cozier, friendlier atmosphere. If you are a young couple, this may not be the place you want to stay, as the average age of guests is probably 50.

First of all, let me say that the staff is wonderful! The food is terrific, especially in the main restaurant. The beach is
very nice. The prices are very fair. The grounds are kept up beautifully. The pool is perfect.

Now for the downsides: 1) the beds in the regular rooms are double, or full size, rather than queen or king. They are also not the most comfortable beds in the world, though we've had much worse in Mexico. But upgrading the beds to offer a single queen or king, one that is more comfortable, would be a huge improvement. 2) As I said, the staff is wonderful. However, the hotel lobby staff (check-in and check-out) are too hard-nosed. They don't really make any effort to give guests, even returning guests and members, an ocean-view room. The story is always "We're sold out" when that statement is sometimes questionable. And, upon check-out, guests need to carefully check their invoice, as the computer tends to group things such as charges and credits incorrectly, leading to possible overcharges. While the desk clerk insists the computer "can't be wrong", it has proven to be.
That being said, the view from the room at both of our stays was terrific, even if not oceanview, and the walk to the ocean is short and picturesque.

But, all in all, we will most likely stay here again, but a "bed upgrade" and a more understanding and accommodating desk staff would make this a 5-star property!

Room Tip: Ask for oceanview, higher floor. If you can't get it, the Marina view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoonshineOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear MoonshineOregon :

Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food option, our grounds and the beach.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We just returned from Christmas week at the Mayan Palace Marina. This time we did not use any of the facilities, other than the concierge.
Proximity to the marina make this resort a great choice. We ate in town and the marina almost all of the time. All of the places that we ate were fantastic.
The resort was cared for very well. The grass and outside areas were manicured to perfection. Maintenance was not an issue anywhere, that we saw.
The room that we stayed in was a marina view. We had a two bedroom unit. The furniture was in great shape. It did have the smallest refrigerator that we have ever encountered in a timeshare. We made it work by buying less refrigerated items at one time. It is a dorm size 'fridge.
Maid service was excellent, as well as bellboy service. Everyone helped in any way that they could, to make our stay better. We tipped generously, and it was worth every cent.
We took my parents this time, they enjoyed the resort and Puerto Vallarta immensely. It was their first time to a Mexican resort.
We got asked about doing the timeshare breakfast presentation at check in, but that was the only time. We were offered an ocean view room and a 20% discount on resort expenses. We were never bothered again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sollover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great place to go and relax. My family and friends have been comming here for the last 11 yrs in fact we had my niece's wedding on the beach along with 50 family members and friends attend. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. After visiting for many years the staff and even the venders know us by name,so nice. What is nice,you are steps from the Marina and it's shops and restaurants and if you need to go in town, the bus stop is directly in front. We will be there March 12-22 2014 see ya.

Room Tip: We have been visiting here for the last 11 yrs, this is very family friendly. My niece had her weddi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have stayed at many different types of hotels and resorts in many cities, and this is our favorite. It is a boutique style resort which offers amenities comparable to a mega-resort. This is our second stay, and every staff member we've encountered has been friendly and willing to help in any way they could, from housekeeping's Yolanda to the bartender Cesar. The beach and pool are well maintained as are the beautiful grounds and units. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/ 2 bath both times which could have easily slept 8 people. Any food that we ordered at the resort was outstanding including the Christmas fiesta. The prices are competitive with those at similar restaurants across the street at the marina and even lower than the much reviewed and very disappointing Victor's. There are several two-for-one offers on buffets, drinks, pizza, etc. which makes it very affordable. They do push the timeshare presentation when you check in, but if you don't want to attend they leave you alone about it. We chose to go this year and it was a 5 hour commitment that netted us over $500 in shows, cash, and discounts to our bill. Our 21 year old daughter even looks forward to returning-there's something here for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenienehohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
#42 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
#100 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclus...
#47 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#7 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta

Property: Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur S/N | Fracc. Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Wyndham Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Mayan Palace
Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing