We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mayan Palace in the Marina Going Downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #26 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton Ont, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mayan Palace in the Marina Going Downhill”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Mayan Palace in the Marina is not what we purchased in the 90's. Upon check in we asked very nicely for an Ocean front room. The young man said i am sorry we don't have any rooms left with ocean front view. I proceeded to produce my Vida Fel card confirming we were owners there in another time frame. The guy called over another gal who also proceeded to say there was no ocean view for us. Even though we owned a unit that sleeps 8 with ocean view included in our contract no matter how we come in, on exchange or using our own week. Instead they said you have a suite and a lock off hotel unit. We went to our room and noted the water we could see was between the trees of the Marina across the street about a mile away. We were very disappointed and were instructed if we went over to Mayan Palace sales desk they sometimes have ocean front we could switch for. I proceeded over to the sales desk and asked a gal if we could please have an ocean front room. She went on to say RCI exchanges have no privalages with them. However if we agreed to come to a tour of the new Grand Mayan and their other properties they would try real hard to move us. Of course we were not about to do that. They ignored that we are owners and on an exchange with RCI. Another day we filled our soft sided cooler with ice pack and some drinks and snacks, we were approuched by ground security and informed you can no longer have any type of cooler on the property, of course not they want to ring up your credit card with charges. The only place you were allowed was on their beach, which is a joke as the tourists go down 7a.m. and put towels on the chairs and take up all the chairs and palapas available.

The hotel has really took a turn for the worse for the up keep for the decor and maintence of the rooms. The fridge we had trouble all week with it not wanting to stay closed. We were phoned 4 times to go to a presentation for more time share. Upon check out we asked where we get ready for the airport. Keeping in mind they have always had a room to shower and change in to get ready for the airport. The gal told us the manager does not do that anymore, that the owner Mr. Chavez has taken away many things they use to have. Also if you do check out late after 10. There door card states they will charge 1/2 of your yearly maintence fee. So I ask you with so many wonderful choices would you go here and be treated like that.

Room Tip: Ask upon your arrival if there is a room on the ocean you can see and ask if you can have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bluangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear bluangels:
Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at the Mayan Palace.

Comments like yours enable our continued pursuit of improvement for perfection on our daily performance. Rest assured they will be taken into consideration in order to provide you everything that you need to make the most of your vacation.
We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

With all good wishes,
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    311
    121
    51
    62
See reviews for
269
296
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our room was adequate and the kitchen was nice (we had a 2 bedroom unit). The location is really nice as you can walk to many restaurants at the marina. The beach area is small but we never had a problem getting a seat and the pools were all nice, especially the swim up bar during happy hour. The internet was pricey so we went across the street for breakfast and they signed us up free. However, remember to take pesos - they gave us an exchange rate of 10:1. Some local restaurants (like across the street) don't take credit cards. The restaurant 'Pizza and Beer' across the street was a nice casual place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mer4555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent a week at the Mayan Palace and overall had a pleasant experience. No problems with check in or check out, everything accurate and quick. The room as a whole looks nice and appreciated the second vanity station outside the bathroom so there was plenty of room for bathroom supplies and getting ready. The kitchen is well equipped with stove/cookware, microwave, toaster, blender, coffee maker and dishes/utensils...my only complaint is the dorm size refrigerator and non existent freezer. There is an ice bucket and ice machines scattered around though just don't buy freezer food at Wal-Mart! It took a couple of days to conquer the temp in the room. What we thought was cool enough to go to sleep didn't quite cut the moisture in the air and you felt the dampness in bed so crank the thermostat down a few degrees more before retiring and that goes away. The bed was on the firm side and the sheets were a bit scratchy but the pillows were wonderfully plump so with the help of Benadryl we slept well!

We chose not to attend any timeshare crap this time and am glad we didn't waste an afternoon doing that. We received a phone call shortly after getting to our room that we could have an upgraded room (aka view...we saw someones room that was "upgraded" and everything was the exact same except for location) if we changed our mind and I think it is a little unfortunate that they can't give the best service to everyone that pays to stay there, regardless of sitting through their mumbo jumbo. I booked all our excursions online through Vallarta Adventures at the buy 3 for the price of 2 standard promotion (identical to what was offered to us at check in if we went to time share presentation) but online I was also able to get an additional 15% off that as well. Seriously, save your vacation time and book online!

We enjoyed pool activities several days of the week and ordered from the poolside menu those days. Everything we ordered was very good (had fish tacos, club sandwich and cajun chicken sandwich) and after the first day, learned the portions were rather large and we split everything from there on. Average cost was 110-130 pesos which is pretty comparable to restaurants in the area and splitting it made it one of the best priced meals we had. The pool unfortunately was frigidly cold and took your breath away to get in...they really should look into controlling the temp a bit so it is usable year round. The ocean was warmer than the pool! We also attended the Tex Mex beach party night and for $30 per person, there is a huge variety of appetizers, meats, sides and desserts and free flowing wine, beer and alcohol. The band was good and they somehow got us up on stage for the couples contest and we ended up winning (2 free drink tickets) so all in all, we got our moneys worth out of it!

Ask the concierge for the shortcut to the Marina and the walk there is around 3 minutes. We ate at Tequila y guacomole, Fajita Banana and Luigis...all very good with reasonable prices. I had read pleasant things about Tacos and Beer/Pizza and Beer across the street (and we needed to use their free wifi) so we went there for lunch...maybe we ordered the wrong thing. We both got fajitas and the tortillas were so thin and greasy that it was kinda gross. Guess maybe stick with tacos or pizza and you will be better off!
We used the bus every day we went into town and had no problems...at 6.5 pesos you can't beat it! When we weren't sure when to get off, there was always someone more than willing to help out and by the end of the week we were helping others!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank OUsoonergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Recently spent 8 nights at the Mayan Palace Marina with my husband, my sister and her family. We had a beautiful 2 bedroom suite overlooking the marina. The furnishings were modern, beds were comfortable, and the kitchen was complete, but the fridge was small. Oh and there was no oven, but I have learned not to expect such a thing in tropical countries. The staff are great. Very friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable about what to see / do in PV. Thankfully we were not bothered at all to do the timeshare tours.

Honestly, my only complaint with the Mayan Palace Marina in Puerto Vallarta is the cost of their internet. I had read reviews on here about how much it cost and I thought "that can't be right", but OHHHHHH yes it is. 950pesos for one week. At today's exchange rate that is about $72.00 dollars per week which is more then what many pay for a couple of months service. Thankfully there are two restaurants across the street that offer free wifi and most restaurants along the marina do as well.

The marina location makes for a 80p taxi ride into town or a 60p ride to the hotel zone. Buses run every 15 minutes and these same trips cost 6.50p. If you don't feel the need to visit old town there are enough restaurants along the marina to keep you satisfied. VICTOR's is often mentioned on tripadvisor and I now know why. Every night the place is packed. The food is great, the service is quick, and Victor himself is on hand to make sure you are enjoying yourself. Will definitely be returning to Victor's on my next trip to PV.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dana-Rae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The week before Thanksgiving is usually pretty busy at timeshare stays, but this one wasn't overcrowded or under-occupied. As Goldilocks would put it, it was just right!

Only a 5 minute taxi ride from the airport, Mayan Palace is in the Marina; which made for short walks to great restaurants, bars and shops. To get into downtown, where most of the nightlife is, is only another 5-10 minute taxi ride. The staff at MP is great, very efficient and thorough. By day 3 many of them knew us by first name, even if they'd only seen us once or twice. Our room had a large living area the kitchenware was ample for our party of 5. Every afternoon the staff turned down our bedding and brought us extra chocolate kisses.

All in all, great stay, great location, excellent service. We're already planning our trip for 2013!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huneyb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I enjoyed staying at the Mayan Palace in Puerto Vallarta.
It is older than the Mayan Palace further north in Nuevo Vallarta and not as luxurious. However the location is much better because it is easy to walk to local restaurants and you do not need to eat at the hotel. There were plenty of poolside activities including yoga, water aerobics, tequila volleyball, Spanish lessons etc. The poolside music is also very pleasant and melodic not raucous noise that some establishments play.
The Mayan Palace Puerta Vallarta is also close to the marina for enjoying the many water oriented activities.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the hotel section as opposed to the timeshare it is advantageous to get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hola - I purchased this one week trip through Groupon for $399.00 and really didn't know what to expect aside from checking out the resort online and reading the previously written reviews. My brother and I knew going in that there would be a timeshare presentation so we were prepared for that.

This was our first visit to Mexico and obviously our first visit to the Mayan Palace and we both LOVED it! The rooms were clean and spacious, the staff were awesome and very helpful. We ate at a few of the resturants on site but preferred the option of exploring the area, that's the beauty of this versus an all inclusive. We saw alot and did alot in 7 days including swimming with the dolphins and the sea lions, highly recommend this experience! The weather was perfect everyday with a light breeze to keep you cooled off between jumping in the pool. I did the water arobics everyday along with the water volleyball, what a hoot!

We talked to alot of people by the pool everyday who've been coming to this resort for years and they just love it here, they also shared their timeshare stories and yes ... we ended up buying a timeshare. We dealt with Susan at Vida with absolutely no pressure and she gave us a great deal on our unit at the Grand Mayan.

The beach was close by (although I preferred the pool area) and the vendors had some great deals on lovely silver pieces, it was fun bartering with them over the prices. The marina is only a short walk from the resort and has all kinds of resturants, I wish we found this area sooner. On our last day we had lunch at a shrimp resturant, (can't remember the name) but it's the very last resturant at the end of the marina and they had the BEST meals and the BEST prices. As soon as you sit down they drop a bottle of tequila on the table and you help yourself to shots which is included in the price of your meal ... no wonder this place was always packed!

We took some cab rides and were suprised to see that everything was a flat rate which is very nice, especially if you're stuck in traffic watching the meter tick away but we also took the bus and it's great that you can just flag down the bus just like you would a cab. The area is very safe and it was easy to get around. All in all we had a great time at the Mayan Palace and a wonderful vacation, we can't wait to come back year as owners!

Maurina & Steve, Port Moody, BC

Room Tip: The resort was full so our room didn't have a view but really ... who cares!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
#43 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
#104 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#31 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta

Property: Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur S/N | Fracc. Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Wyndham Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Mayan Palace
Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing