We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations on every level...loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #26 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Above expectations on every level...loved it”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Have stayed here many times. This trip was Oct 6 - 13 with nothing but perfection from check in/check out, room service, restaurant service, maid service. At check in I requested a bay/mountain view and was told if we could wait until 5 PM we would get it... and we did. Called for breakfast every morning from room service and had it within 10 minutes (above average portions). Rained for couple of hours and they had umbrellas waiting at walking paths. All this plus lobby is gorgeous, rooms were great and immaculate at all times, plus we received 2 calls from concierge to check on our stay.(1 to make sure we were pleased with our stay and a 2nd call to say we could have them print our plane boarding passes.)

They have 3 restaurants, Balche being pool bar, Bakal their main restaurant and an Italian restaurant around the back by the water. We never knew it was there, but don't miss it. Pizza 2 for 1 on Tuesdays and Thursdays and it's good.

They will track you down on the marina for timeshare and tours. We gave a guy $30 to book a boat trip which never happened. Very lucky to get our money back. These guys on the marina are relentless.

I was impressed. They want you back.

Room Tip: If they try to give you a room without the view you would like complain very nicely and they will ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    323
    125
    51
    63
See reviews for
286
309
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at The Mayan Palace the first week of October and had a great time. It was slow season so it wasn't very crowded which was great. The staff were awesome. Jose, waiter at the pool, knew our names by the second day and was very attentive. The activities coordinator at the pool, Marianna, was very energetic but didn't intrude if you weren't interested. She did a great job and was always in a great mood. The ocean water was warm and the swim up bar at the pool was excellent. There are plenty of other places in the marina to visit if you want to venture out. It is perfectly safe and we would go back again. We made it clear from day one we were not interested in any time share tours and everyone backed off. The rooms are very nice with plenty of space and a separate living room and bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I just had my honeymoon at the Mayan Palace in P.V. and it was over an amazing place to stay. The all staff was extremely nice pleaseant, front desk a little slow. Food was really good, with great service from all the waitors, after the second day they knew us by name, we felt very welcome. The maids were always staying on top of your rooms, everytime we came back they had taken care of everything, multiple times a day. Marina is walking distance, downtown is 10 mins away $8 taxi ride, beach was very nice. Lots of activities all day and night. Concierge accomadating with everything, ATM, internet, and store on premices. Dont loose towel key it will be $80 to replace. Awesome bar stools at bar in the pool what a life. Im not the type of person to go back to the same place again but I am definetly going to return to M.P. it was amazing

Room Tip: the good rooms will be obviously closet to the water and in the back corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mayan for 8 days celebrating our 28th Anniversary. First of all we are owners therefore we were giving one of the best rooms with an excellent views located in the second tower which faces the ocean.

The Good:
Execellent Location only $8 by taxi to downtown or 50 pesos by bus very clean and safe.
5 mins from Walmart which has everything that you could possibly need for your stay.

Money exchange is better at Walmart or Sam's something to keep in mind, compared toBanks or Hotel. The rate was actaully $2 more than hotel.

Very Nice staff and Eric the Conceirge is really great to work with for any type of reservations.

The Hotel overall is very clean and maid service was great. Responded to any complaints in a timely manner with a great attitude.

Needs Improving:
The rooms really need updating I was actually a little surprised at the worn furniture. During our stay the 1st Tower was undergoing a complete renovation (everything will be new) should be completed by end of year.

The Pool Bar Menu was very limited and pricy, food was not that great, Happy Hour twice daily excellent drinks simply ask for more liquor if drinks aren't strong enough.

The Adult Pool needs new lounge chairs and pool showed serious aging.

Restaurants food was not that great, better choices at the Marina (Victor) or downtown (Barcelonia Tapas) one of the best in town.

Overall the hotel has a great location and if you're not that person that has to have a 4-5 star hotel this will definitely work for you. As a Owner I expected better mainly because of the other locations that I've visited.

Puerto Vallatra will always be one of my favorite places to visit, safety is never an issue and the locals are the best. Again go expecting to have a great time and don't forget to visit the New Malecon it is simply beautiful the traffic is now limited. Another great vacation..

Room Tip: The 1st tower is undergoing a complete renovation. Must ask for Ocean View if you're not an Own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank WorkHardPlayHard081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just stayed at Mayan Palace for the past week (Friday-Friday), and really enjoyed our visit. It's the slow season right now so there wasn't a lot of people. There was about 8 adults in the adult pool most days and maybe a dozen or two people in the bigger pool. The rooms are great, very spacious. The staff by the pool are great about seeing that your taken care of, ask for Jose, he is an aweseome waiter. Internet is expensive so we often went to the marina or across the street for breakfast where you could get free Wi-fi. We also went to Walmart the first day and stocked up on food etc since this isn't all inclusive. The restraunt at the resort is very good, good variety, and prices are reasonable. We spent most of our evenings going to the marina (just a 5min walk away, very safe). At the marina we mostly ate at Fajita Banana (Ask for Fernanda or David, tell them Nebraska people sent you). This place has great good and drinks!

The resort has activities by the pool area each day which are fun, however it depends how many people are around for what activities they do and how many. We played Bingo, trivia, ping pong, and TEQUILA VOLLEYBALL!! Overall the resort was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heath L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

From what I read, I was a little nervous about our stay. Honestly, the property was very nice and very well maintained. It is not a luxury property, but it is nice.

When you check in, they do hold 6000 pesos on your credit card (approx $500 US), they also give you a towel card and let you know that if you do not return it at the end of your stay, you will be charged 400 pesos. The prices at the hotel are a little expensive (in comparison to Mexico prices) but you're at a resort, what do you expect? It's not terrible and there are so many 2-1 deals to take advantage of.

I did not ever find the security to be "aggressive" as I read in other reviews. We were never bothered. Ever. Everyone who worked there was very polite and very attentive. Jose at the pool took very good care of our group. We were a family of 11 and he was always checking on us, making sure we were okay. When it was happy hour, he made sure to come let us know.

We ate at the restaurant quite a few times because it rained pretty much every night and we didn't always want to venture out in the rain, and it was very good. No complaints there... Just got a little tired of eating there. Karaoke night in the lounge was lots of fun and was nice because we could bring the kids there to enjoy as well. We also had fun with Mariana by the pool, playing the games and hanging out.

We did not book any excursions through the hotel, and I wouldn't recommend doing so. You can get much better deals on your own. Do some research before you get there and haggle with the people selling the tours. We booked our tours with Vallarta Adventures right outside the hotel. You must do the Las Caletas tour. It's expensive but worth every cent.

You can easily get a cab at the hotel to get wherever you need to go and you can grab the bus to get downtown which comes about every 15 min. The bus is totally fine... and way cheaper.

Go to OXXO across the street from the hotel for waters/snacks.. even beers. It's cheap and so easy. We went everyday.

We had to switch rooms because of a flood in the room but they took care of the situation and made it right.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor and 7th floor. Both were very nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ALiR1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

You can and should find a more friendly and suitable hotel or condo for your stay in pv. I was given a week by a friend and from that standpoint things are great. When you arrive keep in mind you will not be able to check in until 5:00 pm and you will not be provided with a quality room, unless you attend a timeshare meeting. Those are the facts. Additionally, you will be charged automatically between 400-500 us dollars to cover any costs incurred during your stay. Charges to be aware of: towel fees; as much as $160.00 for a 7 day stay. Internet fees 23.00 even if you don't use it and of course a daily room tax of $4.00. The hotel is very nice, not the best, but nice. The security team is a bit overzealous and they intend to be in your business. Be mindful if you don't attend their Sunday breakfast (timeshare mtg) the concierge will do nothing for you. We pre-booked all of our events online through separate sources (diving with Chicos and offshore fishing) they don't really appreciate this ( the hotel) they want a cut on everything you do. Go to the happy lobster... The best seafood restaurant on the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MasterdiverCibolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
#43 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
#111 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclus...
#47 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta

Property: Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur S/N | Fracc. Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Wyndham Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Mayan Palace
Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing