We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location in the marina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #29 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
bemidji minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Convenient location in the marina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We have stayed at other Mayan Palaces (Nuevo, Mazatlan and Riviera Maya) and this one ranked right up there. I believe it is the second to be built so I expected it to look a little worn around the edges but it was really nice. The floor plan is different than the others we have stayed at and I liked the privacy of the lock-off. The rooms didn't seem to carry noise. The marina location was great for restaurant opportunities. (Mariachiles and Mr. Cream....YUM!) There is also an OXXO right across the street for any simple needs. You can catch the bus right in front to pretty much anywhere for 6.5 pesos. Taxi was reasonable too. We took a Vallarta Adventures tour out of the Maritime Terminal which was only a 60 peso taxi ride from the marina. I don't know if this is usually the case but the clientele seemed to be sort of the "senior set". At low to mid fifties we were the youngsters at this resort. There were a few (adorable) children there but not many. We really liked the smaller layout of this resort and the great view we had from the 7th floor. The beach is disappointing in the marina, but pretty much what we expected. This just turned in to more of a pool vacation instead. Great 2x1 options around the resort. The 2x1 breakfast buffet every day from 7-8am and then 11-12 (I think) was a great bargain. Also varying happy hours around the resort. Fun little activities by the pool. I enjoyed this spot and would go back again.

Room Tip: If you can get a higher floor nearer the water you get a better view. We were in 2754 and 2755. I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNhasSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    301
    118
    49
    61
See reviews for
250
289
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was my 4th trip to PVR, staying each time in the Marina district. We had previously stayed at the Regina nextdoor to the Mayan. We love the Marina location, having easy access to shopping, spas, restaurants in the Marina. The resort was clean and the staff attentive. Our group of girls were all in their 30's and we learned quickly that this resort was not the spot to meet others in our age group. We didn't find anyone to participate in the scheduled activities that we planned to enjoy (beach & pool volleyball). So we went wandering to other resorts but generally found most of them did not have our age group, at least during our week-long stay. Perhaps we were a little early for the more varied crowds that come closer to spring break schedules.

The resort had 1 large pool area and more chairs/lounges by the beach, most of which got pretty busy the nicest weather days we were there. We were able to find enough for our group of 6 each day we spent lounging. The pool was not warm, the ocean was warmer!

We did try the different restaurants in the resort for either breakfast or lunch, but most of our GREAT meals were either downtown or in the marina. The almost-continuous happy hours around the resort were nice for those of us that wanted drinks during the day.

Overall, it was a great week and beautiful, relaxing resort even though it wasn't the best fit for our age group.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back tower (closer to beach) have very small balconies (can't even fit a chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RaKaHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

I took my family for naive vacation to Puerto Vallarta, I bought a week from a friend of a friend, the hotel is beautiful and nice location in nuevo Vallarta, the high pressure annoying calls to go to their presentation was unbearable, lost money on the deal, which gives me no choice ever go back or use any Mayan palace resort. I asked for a credit after I realized they lied trough their teeth once I got back to the states. They offer me options with no value from the down payment on a contract I signed, thus making it difficult to deal with all their departments. One of the people I talk to said to me, " just cut you loses as you have gone to Vegas and lost money at the casino" . What reputable business in the USA will tell you that. My advise don't go to those presentations or stay away from any Mayan Palace resort to eliminate more fiascos.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank soccermn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We went back to Puerto Vallarta and had a wonderful time staying in the Marina District.
We stayed at the Mayan Palace with our exchange from RCI points. The place was beautiful and we were treated very well. Lunch by the pool was great and following the happy hours saved us alot of money on drinks. The covenience of getting on a bus right outside our place to go downtown was really nice. we ate at Porto Bello's in the Marina and the food was great. We will be going back to PVR because there is so much to see and do that one week is not enough.

Room Tip: try and get an odd numbered room for pool and bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Katkev23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Reception easy, no timeshare pressure. Friendly staff, bar fridge. Pool no heated a bit cold in February. This our second time here would come back
Visit Victors and beer &taco across road

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pdorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

1) Single Location- I've stayed at the Grand Mayan in both Nuevo Vallarta and Cancun. This location is somewhat different. The Mayan Palace - Marina is a single location so you don't get as many restaurants and bars as the locations with Mayan Palace's and Grand Luxxe. On the other hand this isn't an all inclusive so the Grand Mayan has to compete with the Marina's restaurants which are very close. So close that many of them were closer to our room then the actual restaurants in the Grand Mayan. We ate at the Marina 90% of the time.

2) Times to eat or Drink at the Grand Mayan. There are a few times when it makes sence to eat at the Grand Mayan instead of the Marina. One Mon and Thur they have 2x1 pizza. I suggest you take a night off, order some pizza to your room and save some money. Keep an eye of the happy hours at the bars, each is different but if you play your cards rights you can move from Bar to Bar and capture multiple happy hours with the Grand Mayan. Other then the Happy hour the drinks are more expensive then the Marina.

3) Head to Wal-Mart and save some coin. It's seems like a pain but if you take a few hours to taxi to Wal-Mart and grab water, beer, and any other alcohol such as wine, tequila etc. You will save a ton of money. I'm not cheap especially on vacation but spending $3 on tiny water bottles and needing several a day is a waste of money. Regardless of whether you have a kitchen in your room, or you plan to use an ice bucket or cooler, a Wal-Mart run is worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the street in the first building and not by the beach. You want to be close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MexicanFoodMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

We recently stayed there (Janaury 2012) for a week and had a great time. The rooms are nice and the staff do an excellent job of taking care of the guests. The hotel is on the marina is very close to shops, restaurants, etc. In fact there is a convenience store right across the street. This is our 2nd time staying here and we will definately be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mdhokenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
#42 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
#100 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclus...
#47 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#7 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta

Property: Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur S/N | Fracc. Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Wyndham Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Mayan Palace
Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing