We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly patient and knowledgable trainer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vallarta Surf Guide

Vallarta Surf Guide
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surf lesson, surf tours, stand up paddle lesson, rentals.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly patient and knowledgable trainer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had an incredible time learning to surf with Pepe! He is incredibly patient and did an excellent job teaching us how to catch our first waves and progress from there. We had such a blast and wish we could have gone back for more. If you're headed to PV, definitely sign up for a couple surf lessons with this excellent guide!!! You will have the time of your life! Money well spent...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    6
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best day of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Our day surfing with Jose was so much fun. My wife and I had never surfed but wanted to try. Jose was patient and encouraging giving us little tips along the way to help us paddle, stand up and ride the waves at Punta de Mita.
He picked us up right on time at our Old Town PV condo. We drove about an hour to the the beach, we had some lessons on the beach and then spent a couple hours in the water with the boards. He was in the water the whole time. Afterward we stopped at this little cafe and had marlin tortas and he took us back to the condo.
The beginner boards are long and bouyant which makes it that much easier to get up and ride. The beach is wonderful, it actually has a guard and you can only get through the gate if you have a surfboard. There were a couple other resort groups doing lessons too, but that was it.

We did get an email the afternoon before our scheduled day that there would be no surf and they had to cancel, but since we're dealing with mother nature and we're on vacation we took it in stride and pushed it out to the next day.

I highly recommend Vallarta Surf Guide. If we could have we'd have booked a couple more days, and will when we go back with our kids. So much fun.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked for surfing lessons in this company and they charged, but never sent the mail to comfirmate our lesson. So we had to call and they mentioned it was fine, but just one day before the lesson, In the afternoon they sent a mail saying that they didn't have available places. So we couldn't take any lesson, because by that moment everything was full and too late to book something. I think this is really a lack of professionalism.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GreyAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VSG_PV, Owner at Vallarta Surf Guide, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hi Ana,

Thank you for your review, however, we would like to find out a bit more about your experience. Who did you have contact with? We do not have any reservations or email contact in your name and our surf guides also did not have any communication with you. I just want to make sure this is not a misunderstanding. Please let us know and I will be happy to assist you further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun Time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We enjoyed our day in Punta Mita...we were picked up in Puerto Vallarta, shuttled to the beach, and were in the water...we all had surfed once before and Jose gave us great tips and built our confidence to catch our own waves, our little ones ages 6 and 8 caught waves as well...super laid back and fun, beautiful beach would highly recommend

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank melissamcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Jose and Javier took my family along with another group of 4 people two weeks ago. It was a great experience. We went to a nice beach south of Punta Mita. They kept a ratio of 3-4 people in the water with one guide, and then just rotated who was in the water, and let us surf until we were all exhausted.

WAY BETTER THAN VALLARTA ADVENTURES - that outfit just puts 12-15 people in the water all at once (they were beside us, so we saw this) and they would bang into each other for half an hour, and then leave.

Jose and Javier were great with our kids - really supportive and good technical advice. My son (12 years) needed a bit more help to get going, but by the end he was consistently catching waves (ok, they were small, but we still loved it). Perfect balance of safety aware, but also letting us figure out our comfort zone.

We all went for a nice lunch together afterwards - very easy guys to hang out with. We had such a good time, we went back again a few days later and had just as much fun. Can't recommend them enough.
Chris & Kristin
Vancouver, BC.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallarta Surf Guide also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Vallarta Surf Guide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing