We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Ranked #7 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Small hotel, great location”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at Villa Premiere 12/21-12/26. The hotel is small but quaint. All the rooms have an ocean view, which we really liked. You could sit out on your balcony and enjoy the view.
The rooms were roomy and clean. Mini fridge was stocked with a couple of beers, soda and water. In room safe was working properly. The one complaint about the rooms would be that the housekeeping service would make up the room late in the afternoon. We would be gone all morning and most of the afternoon and would come back to a room that was not cleaned, which was an issue when we wanted to get ready for the evening and had no clean towels.
Food at all the restaurants was a la carte and delicious. Drinks were good as well. We opted for the all inclusive plan, which we thought was well worth the extra money.
Staff was friendly. The one thing we did notice was how slow the service was at all the restaurants. Once we were served we were not dissapointed with the quality of the food.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again if we go back to Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jessc2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa_premiere_hotel, Gerente at Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We thank you for your positive feedback and observations. I will extend your congratulations to our excecutive Chef Tony Martinez and his team. I am sure they will be satisfied to know your kind consideration for a job well done.
It was our pleasure to have you here and would love to host you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,691
    432
    136
    57
    28
See reviews for
142
1,510
76
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks during the Christmas and New Year's holiday. Staff were very friendly and nice; however the fundamentals were consistently overlooked. We had to request washcloths almost every day after coming in from a day at the beach...nuisance. Also, the ice machine on each floor was rarely ever stocked so we had to wait regularly to prepare drinks. Hotel quality was average at best. We went to another beach and hotel 8 of the 10 days we were there due to the substandard service. They really must be providing incentives to those who leave such positive ratings. Will return to Puerto Vallarta but never to this hotel. Wish it was otherwise, but these are the facts.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Tyoung369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa_premiere_hotel, Gerente at Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We appreciate your opinión. With total honestly I must say we are sorry to hear Villa Premiere did not met your expectations. We learn with every comment the points we are failing and we recognize the good points as well; but we absolutely never provide any incentives to people for their reviews, those are honest comments from who had a nice experience at Villa Premiere Hotel & Spa but of course we understand if not everybody does it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our 3 generation family enjoyed Christmas 2013 immensely at the Villa Premiere. This was our 13th Xmas holiday away from home and by far our favorite. Food was the best of the 13 places (Cancun, Ixtapa, Nuevo Vallarta, Cuba, etc). Besides the great taste and selection, we really loved the sane portion size. We thought the food spicing was perfect (meals were usually accompanied with extra hot sauce if required). White wine was not to our liking but the sparkling white and the red were enjoyable. Drinks - some of the best margaritas we have had.

Re: slow service - I have had much slower service in our home city than here. We enjoyed the ocean while waiting for our food. If timing was an issue, we ordered room service which also had great food and was delivered within 20-30 minutes.

The room was AMAZING!!! The view, the sound of the ocean and the person cleaning were all some of the best we have experienced in Mexico. Sure the fridge door needed repair and our safe needed to be reset once but it did not diminish our enjoyment at all.

Some of the reasons we chose this hotel besides the great vacation package price at Xmas; no loud music (next door was available to party), no extreme pool drinking and the location. All much appreciated.

Best of all were the wonderful people working here – cheers to the breakfast group and pool bar people who made our vacation extra special. David and Gabby it was an honour to meet you. We are hoping to see everyone next year and hoping to run into all the nice fellow vacationers again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyHoliday81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa_premiere_hotel, Gerente at Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking your time to share your experience with our readers.
Villa Premiere Hotel & Spa would like to thank you for your preference. We have new changes going for our Guest to enjoy in future visits and take home a wonderful experience. I see that our staff members receive great comments. The tittle says it all, we are so happy to know you had a nice time. We look forward to see you again in your home Villa Premiere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived at the hotel 2 hours after check-in. Still, they made us wait for over 15 minutes before taking us to our room. They wouldn't give us a key so we could go to the room ourselves; they want a staff member to take you. There was just one guy working and he was going back and forth with various parties checking in.

When he finally brought us to our room, it had two double beds even though we booked a King. We refused the room, went back to the front desk and asked for the king bed we requested. They told us that they didn't have any but that one would become available the next day. I called hotels.com and they confirmed this screw-up and, though the hotel offered us no accommodation, hotels.com did and we're very apologetic.

People, this is NOT a luxury hotel. I've stayed at 3 and 4 star chain hotels in the States that are more "luxurious" than this place. A true luxury hotel has a water purification system running through the hotel (yep- don't drink the water!) A true luxury hotel had WiFi THAT WORKS. A true luxury hotel has nice bedding/sheets/towels and they replaced them when soiled or used. Not so here. Also, the in-room safes are not bolted to anything in the armoire so anyone could simply walk off with your safe. Be sure to check that yours is bolted in, or else ask them to come up and bolt it in place.

Don't get me wrong: it's a nice enough place. But when you bill yourself as a luxury hotel & you charge that kind if fee and you don't deliver, I feel ripped off. It's a smaller, clean property and they staff are affable enough, though ineffective at delivering true customer service. The food selections are fine if all you eat is meats/animals and their products but if you're a strict vegetarian, vegan or are gluten-free, there's nothing here for you. The spa services are mediocre. I had a decent deep tissue massage and a painful and poor quality mani & pedi. The spa is small, noisy and unrelaxing.

The location is too far north from all of the great restaurants, bars, art galleries and everything that's happening. It is not the luxury hotel haven that would warrant the inconvenient location or the exhorbirant price we paid. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DrEthan725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa_premiere_hotel, Gerente at Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
I am really sorry to know that Villa Premiere was not what you expected, I offer you my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced, with total honesty I must say that comments like yours inspire us to continue making an effort to improve the services we provided. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

After doing a bit of research for hotels in Puerto Vallarta, I kept coming back to Villa Premiere. It is one of the few "luxury" hotels that is adults only. So, I booked a 5 night stay for my husband and me.

When we arrived at 5:30PM, we were told our room was not yet ready, that it would be another 15 minutes or so. Considering check out time is 12:00PM and check in is 3:00PM, I don't understand how our room could not be ready. We were offered chair massages while we waited, but turned them down. After a day of travel, we just wanted our room. What we were not offered were the glasses of champagne that the hotel supposedly gives all guests at check in. When we finally got our room it was wrong. Despite booking a room with a king bed, we got a room with two doubles. We immediately went back to reception to change rooms. We were told no king rooms were available, but that we could get one the next day. So, for one night we had two doubles. The next day, around 1:00, we moved to the room with a king bed.

The alleged "luxury bath amenities" were not luxurious at all. In fact, they don't include conditioner, only shower gel, shampoo and lotion. After a day in the sun, salt water and pool, I like to condition my hair. Thankfully there is a "farmacia" across the street where you can pick some up.

It was raining when we were there and we didn't pack any umbrellas. Unfortunately, despite calling themselves a luxury boutique retreat, the hotel doesn't provide them. I have never been in a 4 star hotel that did not have umbrellas for the guests in the rooms. I understand that rain is not common in Puerto Vallarta, but it does happen. The front desk did have one we were able to borrow that was most likely left behind by a previous guest.

We checked out the restaurant and inquired about vegan options. The hotel claims it can accommodate special diets, but when we talked with the hostess, in perfect Spanish, she seemed confused. Eventually she understood and brought one of the waitstaff to talk with us. He didn't get it at all. However, the next day, the manager of the dining room sought us out and apologized for the confusion. She went over what we could and couldn't eat and promised that they would be ready the next day and even have tofu. When we came for breakfast we were told, "oh, we have a special meal for you." Unfortunately it included french toast, made with milk and eggs. We said to skip the toast and we would just have the chiaquiles with tofu. They came with no tofu. The same thing happened the next day at lunch. We were served refried beans and chilaquiles, but no tofu. We asked about doing a stir fry with tofu and veggies and were told that would be available for dinner. Sadly, again, no tofu. When we asked we were told the chef didn't have any. Well, this would have been something to tell us when we got there. Not the mark of a luxury property.

The rooms were adequate, but not well cleaned. Our sheets had stains and a spill on one of the night stands was never cleaned up. We intentionally left it to see if it would get cleaned. It never did.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the Malecon and 30 minutes to Zona Romantica. You are removed from everything. So while it ensures quiet, it is not convenient to get to restaurants, shops or galleries.

There is no information on whether the water in the rooms is potable. They do provide 2 complimentary bottles of water, but if you want more, you have to either pay for them or get your own. If the water isn't potable, they should be providing fresh water daily.

When you bill yourself as a luxury property and charge luxury prices people have certain expectations. This place is way over priced for what was delivered. For $175 - $200 a night it would be fine. An average nightly rate of $400 it is not. I understand there is an upcharge for holidays. But this was beyond overpriced.

The pool area is nice and the beach is nice, but other than that, this hotel is not what is claims to be.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MGSUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa_premiere_hotel, Gerente at Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
First of all, we would like to thank you for the comments regarding your resent stay. All our guest´s feedback and observations are very important to us and we always value the fact that you choose us as your vacation destination. In addition to taking the time to send us these nice remarks, we appreciate your comments, we will definitiely take care in the matters about the food restrictions and we will make a big effort together with the staff to improve our services, as you mentioned in the cleaning and informartion provided to ur guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a great vacation at the Villa Premiere & Spa, everything was great, the staff, the food, quiet place, the location right beside the Malecon (Boardwalk) it was fantastic... We had a great time and we plan to be there again for are next vacation! Positives all the way...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brigitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa_premiere_hotel, Manager at Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
Dear Brigitte S,

Thank you for having stayed at The Villa Premiere Hotel & Spa and for recommending us with your nice review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, restaurants and service; we always try to make our guests’ stay memorable, with a good service and nice atmosphere. We look forward to hosting you soon.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

After reading a few negative reviews about the hotel, just before my trip ... I was a bit skeptical about how my stay was going to be.. But to my expectation our stay was excellent.. Starting from the front desk to housekeeping staff to the concierge .. Everyone made our stay very memorable.. The best part was the restaurant staff, very knowledge about the menus and dinning options.. We celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary there .. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was really pleasant and our room was done by the hotel staff esp for our anniversary .. Which was very sweet of them..the view was great.. Thank you for your great service villa premiera ... Will definitely recommend !

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa_premiere_hotel, Gerente at Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for the very complimentary comment regarding your stay at our resort. It is always nice to have positive feedback from our guests and to know that we have met or exceeded your expectations at Villa Premiere Hotel & Spa. We look forward to host you and celebrate 2 years next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.7 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,531 reviews
1.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,149 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,547 reviews
0.7 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway

Property: Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Address: San Salvador No. 117 | Col. 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Ambience, Sophisticated Elegance (for adults only)... Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway is a true emblem of refined taste and a proud owner of prestigious International awards for its personalized service. In all of its surroundings, it reveals a contemporary interpretation of the traditional hospitality of Mexico, under an atmosphere of understated luxury. Each of the 83 rooms and oceanfront suites offer an impressive experience for sophisticated guests, and a wide variety of excellent services with emphasis on details. Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway... where something special happens all the time. Adults Only (16+ years of age). All Inclusive Optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Premiere Hotel And Spa
Villa Premiere Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Premiere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing