We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay but EP felt second-class citizens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Ranked #7 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place to stay but EP felt second-class citizens”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is quiet, away from beach crowds with easy walk into town. All as advertised and reviewed here. Surprisingly good food with vegetarian and low-cal options at reasonable prices (we didn't do the all-inclusive as PV has excellent restaurants we wanted to try at at $500 pp we didn't think we could drink quite that much!). Drinks BTW are more expensive than they need to be in comparison to town, but nice surroundings to drink them in. Staff are all attentive and helpful. This review would get 5 stars if not for a few details that took the shine off the general aura of hospitality. The website had prominent claims that if on the European Plan there would be a $50 resort credit, a relatively small gesture but one they refused us with some vague 'oh things change all the time'. We just spent the $50 in town instead but the attitude rankled. As well, no bottled water in rooms on the EP, though we could buy it relatively cheap around the corner it was a hassle to stay stocked up and we did end up with the e.coli experience for a couple of days. Now, any 4 or 5 star hotel in the world supplies bottled water in all its rooms, even in countries where it is unnecessary (one of my pet peeves) but here it really is and they refused. At one point I'm down in the lobby at midnight, sick and dehydrated out of water and they did go so far as to *sell* me a few bottles from the bar. Cleaning was a bit hit and miss as well, but not to the point of being a problem for us anyway--just hard to predict sometimes if you'd get bathroom supplies or not, bits of this and that left on the floor, etc. All instantly taken care of on request.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank w0ndering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa_premiere_hotel, General Manager at Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We appreciate your feedback about how you feel not to doing the all-inclusive; this is a decision that only you can make without anybody push you in to that. We treat every guest the same, so I ask for an apology if you did not feel comfortable with that, Puerto Vallarta is a place with great options about restaurants, bars, fun, etc., I am glad you explore the city and see how many things The Port can offer to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,738
    440
    140
    58
    29
See reviews for
147
1,550
78
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SFO
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My two kindergarten friends and I decided to meet for a re-union in Puerto Vallarta. And the best thing that happened to us on this trip is this hotel. Food was exceptionally good ! Fine dining at its best. It is very close to the board walk, approximately 10 min or less. Every room has a great view of the ocean which is again a huge plus. Staff were just amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa_premiere_hotel, General Manager at Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity of being your host,for your re-union with your friends, that´s amazing ! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences at trip advisor; for us, all our guests are unique and each one of you are the most important one and our intention is to make you feel happy and satisfied with the service and facilities. Hope to host you once again on a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had the opportunity to experience the hotel restaurant and what a beautiful evening we had with great service,, nice ambiance, view of Banderas Bay, Cuban night life music at your table , and the best salmon steak I ever had.

We highly recommend the detour just for a nice diner under the big palapa .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mymercedes2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa_premiere_hotel, General Manager at Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for expressing your opinion about your stay with us and it will be my pleasure to welcome you in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was my husband's and my first experience in an all-inclusive and it was outstanding. We had only a week and had never been to Puerto Vallarta so, based on your reviews TripAdvisor friends, we chose the Villa Premiere. Walking distance from old town, downtown and the Malecón (an oceanside boardwalk), there was no need to feel captive. The VP is adult-oriented but if you need more action (and noise), you can go next door to its sister hotel, the Buenaventura. Apart from the occasional walkthrough when returning to the VP, we didn't bother.

Food at the Villa Premiere is outstanding. One restaurant for breakfast and lunch (plus a different menu at the pool) and two restaurants for dinner, as well as one or two special event dinners per week provided lots of variety. All food is a la carte; no lukewarm buffet but you can go next door if you're craving a buffet meal. A special "thank you" to the chef whose innovative, tasty meals (each entree with different accompaniments) made the week a gourmet delight!

The servers, bartenders, hosts, front desk and housekeeping staff were all very good at their jobs, went out of their way to make us feel welcome and help when we needed something. They clearly enjoy working there, a sign of good management. We also met some of the management team (the General Manager and Catering and Bar Managers); all echoed the same friendly and positive attitude as the staff.

We booked a deluxe room which was perfect for our needs... spacious, very clean, on the first floor (above the ground level) with a lovely patio, great for lounging on when we wanted a change from the pool.

This is a very popular property which has a loyal following. We met a number of people who'd been coming back every year for 8-9 years and we plan to return, hopefully next year, the sooner, the better!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa_premiere_hotel, General Manager at Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much for all your beautiful comments; we are so grateful for considering Villa Premiere as your destination. Thanks for your positive comments on our service and cuisine. In our restaurants we are worry to have a wide variety of gastronomic creations and innovative spirit to satisfy all guests needs ! Thank you once again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My friends and I decided to book this hotel for Spring Break off of luxury link for an exceptional deal given the location, hotel itself, and spectacular service.

Because we bought the deal off luxury link, our package came with a massage, and a five course dinner out on the pier as well as free daily breakfast A LA CARTE. When I first got there, I was greeted with a quick 5 minute massage, which felt like heaven given the fact that I had been traveling all day long. Then they started handing champagne to us while we were checking in. Then they asked us what SCENT we would like for our room and type of pillow we would like. I was honestly amazed and bewildered. I had never had a hotel that catered to my needs this attentively.

The hotel was beautiful, quaint, and romantic.
The rooms were clean, and had an amazing ocean view.
The breakfast a la carte was simply delicious and offered a variety of mexican breakfasts and fresh squeezed juices.
The five course dinner we had on the pier was simply delicious. The dinner was definitely meant for couples, but my friend and I still very much enjoyed it. The night of the dinner, the cleaning service even folded a romantic swan towel and gave us chocolates in our room.

Overall, my experience at this hotel was unforgettable, but in a very positive way. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially for couples who are looking for a romantic getaway as this hotel caters to couples very well!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa_premiere_hotel, General Manager at Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
It is our pleasure to read such a nice comment, Thank you very much for sharing this valuable information with other travelers. Villa Premiere has the pride to be a Boutique Hotel, four diamonds, focused on Spa concept and relaxing atmosphere. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will keep the promise of good service and quiet ambiance. Thank you once again and hopefully we can host you and your friends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had an all-inclusive 10 day stay and enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and the good service. The hotel room was spotless and done every day, even to towel art at night with bed-ready chocolates.The meals were a la carte and presented as designer platings. Because I was staying at the Villa Premiere, I could avail myself of everything the next door hotel, the Buenaventura, had to offer in the way of food or amenities, and it was all-included because the Villa Premiere sees itself as a 4 diamond hotel, which is superior, so there are perks. I would go there again, if I were going to Puerto Vallarta, because it is close to so much, but I would not go all-inclusive because I could not eat or drink enough to make it cost effective.There were those who ate all day long, and drank from 10 am into the night, but I think they were the minority. Besides, it is more fun to go to local restaurants and be a part of the culture.

Room Tip: all rooms face the sea....enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normpimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa_premiere_hotel, General Manager at Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and posting your nice review. I am so glad that you pointed out the benefit that Villa Premiere guests have of being able to walk next door to our sister hotel Buenaventure if they want a little more action around the pool or if they want more variety in their dining experiences. Puerto Vallarta has many options to offer about food, fun and nature areas, so we will be very happy if you visited us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We celebrated our 30th anniversary at the Villa Premiere in Puerto Vallarta from March 6 - 14. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted with a glass of champagne and a wonderful massage from Lisbeth. She has the most amazing hands, totally relaxing. We were taken to our room and a wonderful chocolate dessert with "Happy 30th anniversary"was awaiting us which was wonderful. The view was spectacular. The only thing not right with the room was the fact that we paid for a deluxe room with a king bed and we were put in a deluxe room with 2 double beds. We immediately informed the concierge as he had assisted us with our luggage to our room but it took 3 days to rectify this situation. Sleeping for those 2 nights were restless. Apparently there were no rooms available with a king bed so we had to wait until someone checked out of a room with a king bed.
Our new room became available the 3rd day of our stay and it was just right but it would have been nice to start our holiday in the room we paid for.

After this, all was just beautiful. The food was delicious, the wait staff very friendly and efficient especially Eduardo, Edgar and the many others who served us our meals each day. The young lady who works at the pool bar was so helpful and provided prompt service whether you were by the pool or the beach. The chefs are to be commended for the presentation and the manner in which the food is prepared. Each dish served was a work of art. In fact, one night my husband requested plantains which was not on the menu. To our delight it was prepared especially for us and it was oh so delicious! This was way above and beyond our expectation. Thanks again!

Arturo the manager was so pleasant and accommodating. In fact, we had not made reservation for the Cuban theme night but he promptly had us seated at a table and was served a fabulous meal. What service!

From the maids to management, staff at the Villa Premiere were exceptional.
We would not hesitate in recommending Villa Premiere Hotel & Spa.

Only reason for 4 stars was our room situation.

E. & S. Lee

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa_premiere_hotel, General Manager at Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for expressing your opinion and for giving us the opportunity of being your host, We are sorry for the situation with the room, but unfortunately we did not have your request of type of bed, needless to say that I will be more than happy to welcome you in your next visit here at your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.7 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#15 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,556 reviews
5.1 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,243 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,567 reviews
0.7 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway

Property: Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Address: San Salvador No. 117 | Col. 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Ambience, Sophisticated Elegance (for adults only)... Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway is a true emblem of refined taste and a proud owner of prestigious International awards for its personalized service. In all of its surroundings, it reveals a contemporary interpretation of the traditional hospitality of Mexico, under an atmosphere of understated luxury. Each of the 83 rooms and oceanfront suites offer an impressive experience for sophisticated guests, and a wide variety of excellent services with emphasis on details. Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway... where something special happens all the time. Adults Only (16+ years of age). All Inclusive Optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Premiere Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Villa Premiere Hotel And Spa
Hotel Premiere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing