We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Fantastic Week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Tres Vidas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Tres Vidas
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We just stayed in Casa Tres Vidas for the 12th time. Once again it was the most relaxing time of our year. We have been lucky to be able to visit Hawaii, Morrocco, Jamaica, the Caymans, St. Maarten, Puerto Rico, cruise the Carribean, etc., yet the place we choose to return to year after year is Casa Tres Vidas. We have also stayed at the sister property next door, Quinta Maria Cortez, a most amazing B&B.

I am writing to describe the typical attention to detail you find at Casa Tres Vidas that you usually only hope for at other places. My wife recently received a very nice Sworovski pen from one of her best friends and she was really pleased with it. After we checked out she realized it was not in her purse so we called the manager's office to request help. They could not find it, but emailed us about a week later to say they had found it buried in the cushions of the sofa, and would be sending it back to her. THAT is customer service!

Since I am already writing a review (my first ever, even after 41 years of international travel) I feel I should also depict a typical week at the Casa: hugs from the same staff we had on our first visit 13 years ago; total relaxation in VERY spacious and elegant but comfortable surroundings; a private chef willing to offer suggestions or follow your ideas (we opt for one Chef's surprise night and have always been greatly pleased); superb service by the house manager, who also serves at bartender and wait staff, and the best weather in the western hemisphere: consistent temps from 82 - 84 degrees farenheit, a slight breeze and low humidity.

On Sunday nights, the staff is off so we have a tough time picking from one of Puerto Vallarta's tremendous restuarant options. We love Trio, Vista Grill, La Palapa, Barcelona Tapas, Maximilliano's (the best Austrian resturaunt outside Austria I have ever found) among many others.

I feel I must address the negative publicity Mexico has received over the last few years. Though the country no doubt has its problems, we have never had one issue in Puerto Vallarta that would make us feel unsafe. There is no violence or obvious drug dealing, we have never had anything stolen or been accosted by anyone. It is our winter refuge, has many American and Canadian residents, a lively art scene, and we plan on returning for many years, especially to our home at Casa Tres Vidas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent a week at Casa Tres Vidas during the Christmas holiday and it was pure paradise! We stayed in the middle villa - there were 7 of us and we had plenty of room. The accommodations are spacious and comfortable. The beach is picturesque. The staff are top notch and really make the stay perfect in every way. Eduardo is a fantastic cook and had no problem accommodating our varying eating styles (vegetarian, meat-eaters, vegan). Daniel is a delight and made every meal a wonderful experience. The fresh guacamole and frozen drinks every afternoon were delicious. Roberto and Jose also went out of their way to make sure things ran smoothly - helping us organize transportation for a day trip, arranging for jet skis, getting cabs, etc. We were traveling with 5 kids ranging in age from 16 through 21 and they also thoroughly enjoyed the stay. We definitely hope to return to Casa Tres Vidas in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for a week at the beginning of October with 5 friends. This was the best vacation I have had in Puerto Vallarta. The villa and the staff were all so amazing! There are three villas and we stayed in the middle villa which was close to the beach and had amazing views. Having your own private pool was great and everything was so clean and well taken care of. The staff accommodated all of our food and drink requests and made this a very special vacation. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaCanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

After our fifth year in a row staying at Casa Tres Vidas, I thought I would provide an update to my first review.
Our crowd varies from 10-15 folks and we usually take all three villas. CTV is ideal for this kind of vacation for reasons noted in other reviews, but I underscore the flexibility of accommodations, having a full hotel staff and amenities, excellent food, and the overall value.
To elaborate
• We always choose the end of June/early July for a two-week visit. The town is quiet and off-season rates apply. While this time of the year is the official rainy season, the weather has never spoiled our good time – even with a tropical storm. While it may rain, we have mostly sunny days, and the site works for all changes in climate. Thunderstorms are a fabulous show from the Alta Lounge.
• Everyone gets a spacious and well-appointed bedroom and neat bathroom – Each is very different and gets assigned based amenities and personal preferences, and we price them accordingly.
• There are a variety of common spaces (decks, lounges, pools) where one can relax alone or congregate – or where you can be alone without even being in your room.
• When we are here we are home while also being away. There are times when you feel like you are renting a home – I mean, the entire 8 floors and beach feels exclusively yours – but ¬– there is this great familiar hotel staff (which has not changed in five years) that professionally meets your every need. Plus, sit-down formal group dining for breakfast and dinner gives it that ‘away on vacation’ touch.
• Despite our communal dinner habits, our group’s dietary preferences vary greatly – vegan, vegetarian, carnivore, those who will eat just about anything, no cilantro, no eggs, extra spicy, mild, and none of this appears to be a problem to the staff – actually it is more a matter of pride for Eduardo to meet the challenge. The chef(s) can and will cook anything and, to their delight, more and more we have explored more classic Mexican meals. On Sundays when the staff is off we cook for ourselves – but still insist on a formal dinner setting. And no stomach issues in five years. Note that we have been coming to PV since 2000 and have eaten in many great restaurants, but rarely venture out now.
• Other habits vary – we have diverse tastes in cocktails (we run a full bar, it seems, and Romero has become an adept bartender). Cocktails at 6, dinner at 7 – and we ‘dress-up’ for dinner – meaning collared shirts (no tank tops) for the men. We have several smokers who self-relegate their consumption to several outside areas – no one smokes in their rooms. One couple sunbathes in the nude on the upper cabana on Vida Alta – ‘Lizard Lounge’ – designated clothing optional (by us). Another couple always rents a car and takes daily and even overnight excursions into the countryside – CTV is their base of operations. We read a lot (hard cover, soft cover, Nooks, iPads, and Kindles and bring DVDs and iPod devices. WIFI/Internet service is excellent. Key to the culture here is that no one feels compelled to do anything. For most of us our annual visit to CTV is a time to get lost in just mindless relaxation. Hence, despite CTV’s proximity to town, we rarely stray from the compound. It is a lazy time and, aside from breakfast and dinner, an unscheduled time. It feels like being on a cruise when you are ‘at sea’, except that you can jump off anytime.

We shall be returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brklynguy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Casa Tres Vidas is a charming, well-appointed villa (3 villas, actually) with beautiful views and an amazing staff. The meals were delicious and the service is really excellent. It's very safe and the staff will shop for you if you want to prepare meals for yourself in the kitchen. The bedrooms are air conditioned and comfortable, the pools are clean. It's a great deal and again, can't say enough about the wonderful, kind, helpful staff.

Room Tip: The one bedroom in Vida Sol with 1 king bed instead of two has no windows. It's quiet but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

A group of friends and I arrived at Casa Tres Vidas yesterday for our 5th consecutive year. It's a llot like coming home again.

There are fewer of us this year, so we only have Vida Alta and Vida Sol, but everything is perfect as usual.

Jose Ruiz de Anda, the GM and his staff as always offered a gracious welcome. Chef Eduardo even came in yesterday, his day off, to make sure we had fresh guacamole and salsa for our daily cocktail hour.

It is SO refreshing to be welcomed as friends, no really more like family, every year. The facility is state of the art and the staff is simply superb!

It's so great to be home. As a hospitalilty professional for more than 30 years, I can assure you that they do it RIGHT here at Casa Tres Vidas.

Room Tip: Just a great place to stay and relax. AAHHHH!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Having lived and worked and played and owned and vacationed some 40 years in PV in the hotel, airline, social and fashion sectors, I was very picky about the venue for my Big Birthday celebration where friends would be joining us from all over the globe, many for the first time in Mexico. I knew the property from its early incarnations and thought of it as magical and special. It did not disappoint!
We took the entire 3 apartments plus 2 rooms at the B&B next door and all shared the costs. In honesty, not all the Villa rooms are equal in luxury or views or space but with dear friends you can figure out what suits each personality and assign accordingly. As hosts, we gave up the grand suite for the busier, less private middle room by the kitchen but even that was never a problem. The staff quietly set up breakfast every morning with hardly a clank or bang for anyone hoping to sleep in a bit..The rooms were cleaned without our awareness,.. efficiently and quickly. The entire staff were a delight and made the quirky seem, well, intentonally quirky! We had a couple of pre -planned special meals and in hindsight should perhaps have scheduled more in the Villa as the presentation and flavours were exceptional. gracias Edaurdo. The owner says she has some of the best staff in all of Vallarta and I couldn't agree more. The week was really a treat for all of us who not only fell in love with PV but with each other as we formed a bond casually hanging out in the common spaces and feeling so relaxed. We made short videos and major phtos scrpbooks to commemorate our fabulous vacation!. Would rent the Villa again for another such occasion, for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pvfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
#33 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#10 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#38 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tres Vidas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tres Vidas

Property: Casa Tres Vidas
Address: Calle Sagitario 132, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terraced down a hillside to Conchas Chinas Beach, has three individual villas each with private pool, heated jacuzzi, living room, dining room & kitchen, set on a stunning private cove. 3 & 4 Bedroom Villas that can be combined to create a 6, 7 or 10 Bedroom Villa. Fully Staffed with maid service, english speaking house man & Private chef. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Tres Vidas Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing