We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marietas Islands

Marietas Islands
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Marietas Islands Eco Discovery Snorkeling Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We were very disappointed with our visit to the island. The tour we took was good, a bit of a long boat ride though. We saw a massive family of dolphins, which was amazing, but when we got to the island we were fairly unimpressed.
The island is home to an insane amount of birds, which was also neat, but the stench was horrible. We swam snorkeled into a cave which brought us into a hidden beach, which would be nice with a small group, but with two or three boat loads of people, it was just too much, and not enjoyable.
The jellyfish in this area are horrible also. When we swam in to the cave it was clear, when we swam out there were jelly fish every where. People were getting stung and panicking and screaming.
We did a scuba dive in the area which was actually very cool, but the area is protected so you can't touch anything, which was a little disappointing. It would have been interesting to be able to interact with the sea life a little more.
I wouldn't recommend taking one of the catamaran tours if you have young children. The activities on these tours are a bit advanced.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank meggziec89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,259
    510
    257
    101
    66
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“true natural beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We traveled to Marietas on Vallarta Adventures. We went on a Tuesday and left early. We were the only group out there for about an hour. It is a nature preserve so tour guides are very careful to give precise instructions. We were surprised we had to swim about the length of a football field. Our tour had 80 to 8 year olds and everyone had a great time. The caves and rock walls were amazing. We saw Dory(?) fish and blue footed boobies and a pod of dolphin. On the return trip we saw a "bait ball" and possibly a swordfish. Plan to do this again. A warning: our guide said you cannot swim under the arch to the hidden beach during high tide. No headroom, so inquire to access before you book. Note....we stayed at Royal Decameron all inclusive and were bussed to the marina at Vallarta Adventures. Our tour was arranged by Oscar one of the approved beach vendors. He treated us awesome and got us a reasonable price.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank lonamhVancouver_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So attentive and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Simply said...best day in PV. We had a group of 14 and we did the private cruise. It was AMAZING. The staff didn't let one of us have an empty cup in our hands. The food was good, the crew was fun AND funny, we saw dolphins swim alongside the boat...just all amazing. But the best part of the story was when we dropped a tequila bottle in the ocean. Our captain turned the catamaran around and three of us dove in to retrieve it, then continued drinking it. It was the perfect mix of relaxation and fun. Kudos to the crew for making this trip amazing!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Day Trip on the Water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a great way to get out of the city and on the water. We went to Las Marietas with Vallarta Adventures and would highly recommend the trip. We left around 8am and took a boat about 90 minutes out to the islands. Its a little chilly in the mornings, so I was glad I brought pants and a sweater for the ride out. Breakfast was provided - pastries, fresh fruit, juice, and coffee. When we got to the island, we couldn't actually go in. It was jellyfish season and the cave through which you enter was filled with jellies. However, the boat anchored away from the jellies and we were able to snorkel and kayak around. Kayaking was fun but the snorkeling wasn't that great - the water was a bit murky.

After a while, everyone hopped back on the boat and we drove to another island where you could lay in the sun or explore for about 30 minutes. The island was beautiful and great for photo ops! Once back on the boat we had a great lunch of sandwiches, salad, and pasta salad. The bar opened up at that point -- the drinks were just okay, but that's what I would expect on this type of tour (especially for the low price!).

During the 90 min ride back everyone relaxed in the sun and enjoyed the little shows put on by the incredibly friendly and entertaining staff. We were back around 3:30pm.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank julesmo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A place that will take your breath away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

A must go place if you are in Vallarta. A place like no other, the beauty of the islands, in particular the hidden beach will fascinate even the most skeptic eye. Nature will show its magnificent side while you are exploring the underground caves formed by the erosion of the waves hitting the Island.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lety J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marietas Islands also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Marietas Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing