We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but too croweded”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Marietas Islands

Marietas Islands
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Marietas Islands Eco Discovery Snorkeling Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful but too croweded”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

It would have gotten 5 stars, but there were soo many different tours there it took away from the natural beauty. We went snorkeling and literally kept on getting kicked in the face by other people. Don't even bother going into the romantic cove - literally felt like we were in a stampede

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,283
    521
    266
    102
    68
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You don't touch the island”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I took this trip with a friend. I thought after the snorkeling, we would go to the island to explore and see the birds. That does not happen and maybe I misunderstood. The crew was accommodating with drinks, snacks and knowledge about the different sea life. We had an "unofficial" whale watch as we saw about 4 humpbacks. They are supposed to be gone from Banderas Bay at this time so it was a surprise to see them! Sum up of the trip~There is breakfast of fruit, juice or soda as you boat out to the island. Snorkeling for about an hour with a guide. A short drive around part of the island as the guides point out the different birds and tell some history. Lunch of sandwich, rice, guacamole and drink as you boat back to PV. It was a nice day, just wish we could have set foot on the island.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nfrerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Ok so we went on this trip and was disappointed. It just an island that supposed to have great snorkeling. We saw barely nothing. You swim in through these rocks to a little beach. That's it.. Then you can go to the other side of the island to hang out at the beach. There is nothing to do there. I guess it's just a preserve, kind of boring.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Diving”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

if you love Scuba diving is the place to go love it, we took the tour with Vallarta Adventures from the hotel and it was all day and everybody was amazing

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JVDreamBig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A must do”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We used Ocean Riders... they did a great and fun job.

We saw whales and lots of dolphins on the way.. The hidden cave was amazing and fun to get to... snorkeling was really... clear water and lots of beautiful fish.

The trip back was fast and fun... like on a speed boat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marietas Islands also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Marietas Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing