We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great day in the ocean!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marietas Islands

Marietas Islands
Book In Advance
and up
Marietas Islands Eco Discovery Snorkeling Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great day in the ocean!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was a great way to spend a day in the sun! You load the boat and ride out to the islands. We just so happened to find a large group of whales on our ride to the islands. We took about an hour to watch them, Amazing!! Then the boat took us to the island in which you snorkle and get your choice of activities: kayak, paddle board, going to the beach, and scuba diving. Breakfast, lunch and beverages were provided!

Visited December 2012
Thank Jillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Awesome Islands, Be Careful Who You Go With”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We went to Marietas with Vallarta Adventures (the monopoly of excursions in Vallarta and Mexico) and made a great time out of it, however I would suggest going with a smaller company instead.

First off the island -- the hidden beach is truly amazing, the wild life including birds, dolphins, and whales is spectacular to watch, and the little beaches and coves throughout the islands make for great snorkeling and diving.

However the main company that goes to Marietas is Vallarta Adventures. They take a fairly large boat and in our case crammed seemingly as many people onto it as they could -- having people sitting throughout the lower and upper decks on plastic lawn chairs. This really detracted from the experience and if we knew it would be that crowded would have booked with a smaller company or a private charter for only about 2x the price.

Overall it was a great experience, just be careful who you go with.

Visited December 2012
2 Thank Brendan917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Have you seen that awesome picture on the internet showing a beach inside of an island? This is that place. You swim in and can take a break on the beach. Don't climb off the beach as this is a federally protected reserve and you will get in big trouble for disturbing the blue and yellow footed boobies. Also this is a decent place to dive, not a lot of variety to see but a cool complex of caves and tunnels are waiting to be explored.

Thank mrkickit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach with an adventurous outlook.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This beach is one you should stay away from if you are claustrophobic because you need to go through a hole that is a natural rock formation that you need to enter in order to get to the beach itself. We loved it and found it interesting, but I do feel the need to caution those who are afraid of closed spaces.

Visited November 2012
Thank worldtraveler73_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sailing on the Isis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Isis, operated by Pegaso Chartering, was the perfect choice for my husband and me to visit the Marietas Islands for snorkeling. Conditions were in our favour, as only 7 people had signed up for the trip, the weather was beautiful and the ocean was warm. The crew of three were attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. We sailed out of PV, then along the coast to Nuevo Marina with dolphins in the lead. After picking up another couple, we motored the 22 miles out to the islands. Snacks and drinks were offered throughout the cruise, with lunch and alcohol after snorkeling. Approaching the islands was exciting, as we'd only seen them from a distance. The panga/lifeboat transported us into the shallow, turquoise waters for a full hour of snorkeling. Since the swells had increased, we weren't able to snorkel through the tunnel to the interior beach, but the fish were plentiful and the underwater scenery was wonderful. One of the highlights for me was floating on my back watching two blue-footed boobies cuddling up. As a bonus, we circled the big island in the panga and were able to see the varied rock formations, nesting birds, even an area used for Navy target practice years ago. The return trip was made under full sail, as we took our time to enjoy the vast beauty of Banderas Bay, including sea turtles and sea birds. Cost: $75 to $80 per person. Time: 7 - 8 hours. Sign-up: hotel tours, Chico's Dive Shop on the Malecon, etc.
Equipment: bring towels, sun screen, hat, bathing suit. Ideal time: summer or fall. Interesting facts: the history of Isis

Visited November 2012
3 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marietas Islands also viewed


Been to Marietas Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing