We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The absolute best experience!! See hiking directions here.”

Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in a pristine, white sandy beach cove Ocean Grill is a great option for those who want to spend the whole day away from the crowds. Ocean Grill is not just a great restaurant, it is a destination on it's own. In order to serve you as you deserve, please reserve your spot in advance. For reservations and important information please visit our website.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The absolute best experience!! See hiking directions here.”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Found this place on Trip Advisor and it did not disappoint. You can only get there by hiking or by water taxi and you must reserve your spot in advance on their website. CASH ONLY so come prepared. There are lots of delicious things on the menu and a full bar, so you might want to bring more cash than you think you need. You can swim out to a little dock belonging to the restaurant a few hundred feet out, some come prepared to swim!

HIKING DIRECTIONS
One problem we ran into is that we wanted to hike to the restaurant but could not find specific directions online. We had to ask some of the locals who directed us as best they could in English, though many of them had not heard of the restaurant. This is a moderate trail which is quite narrow, steep and crumbly in places. You'll want to wear good walking shoes. Here are directions for hiking:

- Take the bus to Boca de Tomatlan (coming from PV it is the last stop on the bus line, where the bus turns around. when you get on the bus you will find many American tourists heading there for the beaches).
- Get off the bus and walk down the hill to your right toward the beach.
- Walk left down the road at the bottom of the hill (you will feel like you are now heading away from the beach)
- Look for a bridge across the river to your right. There are two different options- either will get you where you need to be.
- Cross the bridge and walk to your right. Follow the path that leads along the edge of the river and then turns to follow the coastline. At times this path merges with what look like private driveways, but just keep going. You should be next to the ocean at all times until you reach the trail. Walk past Casa de los Artistas, Lagunamar and Casa Boca del Rio.
- The trail is clearly marked but does not say "Ocean Grill". Rather, it points toward the beach nearby -"Colomitos".
- Follow this trail, following the marks on the trees when it forks.
- About 40 minutes later you will arrive at Ocean Grill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jnavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,550
    226
    72
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It's not a meal, it's a travel adventure destination!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Touted as the best restaurant near Puerto Vallarta, my husband and I and my best friends from Delaware, USA, were primed to have a late afternoon dining delight. Ocean Grill (OG) did not disappoint. It was balmy bliss.

From the moment we jumped off the small, private boat ferrying us from Boca to OG, we were in tropical paradise, perched on the ocean's edge. As we arrived at the private beach, I surveyed every passenger who had just eaten. Not that I needed to. The grins on their faces told the magical story. Each person raved about their meal. "You can't miss the grilled vegetables...Get the OG sauce on your fish, to die for!...The octopus was the BEST!...My mahi mahi was a treat." We got the picture.

After a rather treacherous rock climbing event, walking the rope and planks course, and a trip to the lovely open air potty up several flights of stairs, the real treat awaited. The meal was elegant, delectable, and the whole experience divine. We even had the pleasure of a huge Great Dane, Wilson, who made us laugh as he tried to chase the sun's reflection off my camera lens. I know I took 50 photos of the food as well as our surroundings. Lovely!

This was the best Valentine's treat we could have imagined. We are all in our 60's, but we felt like happy kids again exclaiming about our food. I did mention the swimmingly special shrimp, didn't I? Cheryl Nash said it was scrumptious and so was her Caesar salad and our guacamole. The rest of us ate with abandon and what the folks told on the beach was spot on. The octopus and mahi mahi were exceptional. Repeat: Get the OG sauce. It was a unique treat. So was the entire experience. A must visit with delightful staff who were super efficient and friendly. All in all, a WOW! rare treat we will repeat!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JudyKrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ocean Grill Vallarta”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Waited 2 years to visit the Ocean Grill, rated very high on Trip Advisor. The ambience and experience is definitely a 5 out of 5. It is a beautiful place high on a cliff with a million dollar view. We started with smoked marlin which was terrific and then I am sorry to say, it did not work out for us after that. We were told no shrimp or lobster, but other people were served shrimp. Our entrees, chicken and ribs were mediocre. Sorry, not my favourite restaurant in PV. There are so many.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ManitobaGump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

What a beautiful place for lunch. Very nice quiet hideaway. The staff is great as well as the food. Ocean Grill is a place you don't want to miss!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoot52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our PV trip!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Even if you have limited time on your Puerto Vallarta vacation, you MUST come here! We had the best time at Ocean Grill Vallarta and will definitely be coming back on our next trip to PV. It's only 8 pesos (per person) to take the bus to get to the pier, FREE to take their water taxi and the experience is priceless. Such a fun atmosphere- everyone is fun and friendly, and there is so much to do other than eat.

The food was great, our service was great, their private beach was great- I could go on and on but it truly is something you have to experience for yourself.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing