We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Trip”

Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in a pristine, white sandy beach cove Ocean Grill is a great option for those who want to spend the whole day away from the crowds. Ocean Grill is not just a great restaurant, it is a destination on it's own. In order to serve you as you deserve, please reserve your spot in advance. For reservations and important information please visit our website.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Trip”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Ocean Grill was a great way to spend an afternoon. The drive to the pier was beautiful and our taxi driver left us and promised to return to pick us up, which he did. We were early for our 1 o'clock reservation, but we were seated right away and given refreshing cool towels. We both had the catch of the day with grilled vegetables. Everything was cooked to perfection-the most enjoyable meal of our trip. We enjoyed the personal touch of meeting Wilson, he was very well behaved. I wished we had worn/brought swimsuits but we were still able to enjoy the beautiful beach. My only wish would be that they take credit cards, as I would indulged more and tried more things had i not been limited to cash. Next time I will be better prepared!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline3412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,550
    226
    72
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gilles review?”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

His review of the prices are a flat out lie. Feel free to look at the menu online. Nothing on the menu is even 30 dollars US let alone 50. Traveled to this destination in March with Two other people. 3 entrees, two appetizers, and several drinks totaled less than 100 dollars with a 20% tip. This place is spectacular and I will never forget my experience. Obviously there's something personal for Gilles!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetlu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skynomad69, Owner at Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and support.

It is now obvious to us that there is something definitely personal about Mr. Gilles reviews. Let's just wait and see if Mr. Gilles doesn't write another bad review stating that we as a business are the ones encouraging our customers to write positive reviews as he suggested in his latest review.

It is VERY rewarding for us to see our customers reacting to shady reviewers and posting their thoughts. For that we are very grateful.

Another reviewer replied to Mr. Gilles first negative review but unfortunately Trip Advisor erased his review... That customer was there the day that Mr.Gilles honored us with his presence and he and his party saw us bending over backwards to try and make Mr.Gilles visit a pleasant one.

Trip Advisor is such a great tool for travelers and business alike when used as intended.

For travelers it is a great way to see what actual users/customers have to say about a business and for us businesses it is a great way to see what we are doing right or wrong and react accordingly.

We have learned from our customers constructive criticism and done our best to improve in the areas our customers have pointed out. It helps us keep our business in check and also it is a source of motivation for all of us who work in Ocean Grill.

The actions of people like Mr. Gilles may or may not hurt our ranking in Trip Advisor, but what really matters to us is the honest and constructive opinion of the overwhelming majority of our customers.

Thanks again for your support and looking forward to your next visit!

Alfonso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went to the Ocean Grill because a couple friends of ours recommended it and it couldn't have been better. Imagine taking a water taxi to private dock at a private beach, having one of the best lunches ever and THE best, most unique Margarita you have ever had, then jumping off of the restaurant floor into the ocean and swimming to the beach and just hanging out for several hours and then returning to your hotel. This was paradise and I couldn't have asked for a better way to spend your afternoon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Oaktownboi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groover beach cali
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel and an adventure to boot!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We finally got around to the Ocean Grill Wed 31 July. Took a taxi down to Boca and stood around the pier for a bit and up walks...Alphonso! Great time talking to him while we boated over to the restaurant along with a fair amount of the day's catch (octopus, I'm looking at YOU!). So we get to the landing, clamber up the pier and stairs to the restaurant ensconced on the side of a verdant hill overlooking the bay.

Alphonso brings menus to our corner table and we shortly order drinks and lunch. Iced green tea and house margarita (ginger, mint, and lime, deliciously different and POTENT!) in hand, we admire the scenery. (A trip up the stairs to the open-air bathroom-slightly reminscent of many we encountered while in Indonesia, yields a commanding view of the bay). Make sure your camera/phone is in working order, folks, this is a postcard vista, make no mistake. Shortly our food arrives. Shrimp aguachile; something akin to a ceviche, very spicy lime marinade, zippy and very fresh. Octopus, very fresh also, nutty, and tender, dressed with olive tapenade. and my sea bass Zarandeado in a spicy chile paste, yum! Another round of drinks (which I don't necessarily recommend if you're doing ther hike, heh) and we knocked ourselves out of the running for dessert, sorry to say.

We followed the path from the restaurant to the beach for a post meal frolic and found, to our delight, little gold flakes floating downstream into the bay. Fools' gold, you might be tempted to say, but I know when I've found a treasure, and Alphonso's little gem is just that. I almost hesitate to write such a glowing review--the pirate in me wants to keep it all to meself, arrr!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 4d3fect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
155 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Secluded and Seductive”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I know that I was in Mexico, but as the boat came around the bend and the restaurant came into view I thought that we were having lunch at Tarzan's villa in deepest Africa. There is a sense of anticipation and seclusion as the boat captain asks if you would rather land at the private beach with a short trail to the restaurant, or if you would prefer jumping onto the floating dock with a short climb to the restaurant. The arrival begins this adventure in paradise, and you will not be disappointed. You are greeted with a tray of cold towels and margaritas. Relax, sit back, the view is magnificent.

I don't want to skip over the food. For starters the Smoked Marlin Tostados and Grilled Clams were delicious. The fish main dishes were as fresh as you would hope for and the sauces had that extra kick of flavor. The only draw back was the cost of the taxi from the hotel zone to the restaurant. Well even paradise comes with a price, but at least you get to swim after lunch at a private beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyMan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing