We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coolest restaurant experience ever”

Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 1,033 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mexican, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in a pristine, white sandy beach cove Ocean Grill is a great option for those who want to spend the whole day away from the crowds. Ocean Grill is not just a great restaurant, it is a destination on it's own. In order to serve you as you deserve, please reserve your spot in advance. For reservations and important information please visit our website.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“coolest restaurant experience ever”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

this was the coolest experience for our trip... we take a cab to a small village, where we get on a tiny boat that beaches in the sand for us to get in (this part was a little challanging, wear flip flops and be prepared for your feet to get in the water a little)... the boat takes us to another little cove where it beaches and we get out and walk on this super cool path to this outdoor bar/restaurant. try their house margarita- YUM. food was excellent and the views were insane. sounds funny but be sure to check out the bathroom. amazing. in a good way :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,610
    241
    74
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wow...don't miss this!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This restaurant is an exquisit adventure. The restaurant is approximately 30 minutes south of PV. It will be necessary to either take a local bus (7 pesos) or a cab ($25.00) to get to Boca de Tomatlan. Go to the pier and wait to be picked up in a small motor boat. Once at the restaurant, the owner and his large Great Dane greet you at the entrance. There are only 8 tables at this time-he is expanding. Then, sit back and enjoy a lovely meal and a great view. Fantastic way to spend an afternoon. The last seating is at 3:00 and he only accepts cash. Reservations are a must. Go! You won't be sorry.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An Experience Not to Miss”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great Food
Great Atmosphere
Great Beach
GREAT EXPERIENCE!!

If you have the chance please try out this place wont be disappointed.

I had the house Margarita it was not sweet at all, very refreshing, other had the strawberry margarita, sangria and of course cervesas.
The bathroom should be at the top of best bathrooms - it is outdoor, but there is a board you put down to show that it is occupied.

We were a party of 6 had 5 appetizers, 2 order of lobster, 2 orders of octopus and 2 orders or red snapper and of course dessert (Key Lime pie, cheese cake) - $300 for the group.

Make sure and make your reservations a head of time - then relax and enjoy

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COLOGIRL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Co
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“adventure for palate & soul”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

5/1/13 rez. Knowing this destination restaurant had limited seating, we promptly met our quick water-taxi ride for the most unique dining setting you can imagine. Greeted on a hidden jewel of a beach by 'Wilson' and personally attended by owner Alfonzo, our group of 6 was blown away by the food, warm hospitality and bano (toilet - not to be missed). While the delightful waterside cabana cannot accommodate people with physical challenges (and I personally would not recommend for children) it is at the top of our list of 'all-time-best experiences EVER'!!! Stick to downtown P.V. if you're into loud bars & chicken Mcnuggets. If Jimmy Buffet were in town - this is where he'd eat! Our group of 6 tried most of the menu and found it out of sight ~ Beautiful presentation. The addition (under construction) will be awesome & allow more seating. Wear swimsuits w/cover. Take adventurous spirit, pesos (no credit cards) and sunscreen. Make advance rez ~ Promptness is appreciated and anything else is just plain rude. We will not miss O.G. when we're in P.V. Thank You Alfonzo! P.S. Tried to download pic of 'Wilson' but Mac is moving too slow. Peeps just have to come and see him for themselves! ;~)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rkymtngirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stunning Locale, Nice Concept, Needs Work”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I'm a regular visitor to Vallarta. Dining on a deck above the surf crashing on rocks in a semi- isolated location is hard to beat. Part of the adventure is getting there via boat launch from Boca de Tomatlan (fun). The grilled food and service were fine. "Solo effectivo" for payment. The drink options and bathroom are what cause me to give it only a 3 star rating. The margaritas were sugar bombs, north of the border style. The meager wine selections available were unpalatable - one red and one white - the white some unheard of sweet blend. (Not a cold copa de chardonnay to be had.) No problem, order a diet Coke, right? But I was served old diet Pepsi from a half full two liter bottle that had lost its fizz. The bathroom (only one) is up the path, open air with no privacy. Embarrassing moments for all who accidently encounter each other there "au naturale." There needs to be at least a rudimentary door and a functioning "occupied" sign. We will give this restaurant another try due to spectacular locale, good grilled food and friendly staff, but still some rough edges to be worked out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EpicureoEducado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing