We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME AN ABSOLUTE MUST TO DO WHILE IN PUERTO VALLARTA”

Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 1,033 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mexican, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in a pristine, white sandy beach cove Ocean Grill is a great option for those who want to spend the whole day away from the crowds. Ocean Grill is not just a great restaurant, it is a destination on it's own. In order to serve you as you deserve, please reserve your spot in advance. For reservations and important information please visit our website.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME AN ABSOLUTE MUST TO DO WHILE IN PUERTO VALLARTA”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Best way to describe Ocean Grill is exactly as Alphonso, the owner writes on his website "YOU THOUGHT PARADISE DIDN'T HAVE AN ADDRESS" Whether you hike or take the water taxi, you are in for a wonderful experience!!! Just can't beat the food, friendly service, ambience, views!!! It's definitely a feel good day out at Ocean Grill for me everytime I go!!!!!!! Do yourself a favor and check it out!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skynomad69, Owner at Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Hey Linda!!! You are the best! thanks so much for the great review and hope to see you soon here at your casa! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,610
    241
    74
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Jewel on a cliff with fabulous food-a must on your Vallarta vacation”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My husband and I ventured to Ocean Grill on an unusually cloudy day...a short and beautiful ride from PV by taxi (150 pesos) or bus (7 pesos) to get to Boca de Tomatlan pier. After calling the owner, Alfonso, a water taxi arrived to take us as there are no roads to get there. We couldn't believe the magical setting that the restaurant has. The view is a cozy private cove with beach and, the Pacific Ocean....very romantic. We had wonderful fresh ceviche, grilled lobster with their special butter and garlic sauce, and grilled veges. After walking to the beach, we indulged in the key lime pie. The presentation of the food was perfect.
It rained off and on while we were there so we weren't able to enjoy using their kayaks or swim at the beach, both of which they offer. The ownwers say, "come enjoy the day here". It was obvious that Ocean Grill was designed and constructed with attention to detail. Plan to spend one of your days in Vallarta enjoying lunch and your afternoon at Ocean Grill.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed restaurant in spectacular remote setting”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We came across the Ocean Grill by accident and luck. From PVR we took a local bus to Boca de Tomatlan. We walked around the villiage and saw a sign for a trail to a beach, Playa Colomitos. We started off following some much younger hikers and walked on a very narrow and steep trail. It seemed to take a long time as we had no idea where we were going. Finally we see the most beautiful beach with turquoise water from high on the trial. We met up with the earlier group to find out we were now on a nude beach. We thought it might be best for us just to follow the signs to this restaurant walking over a raised wooden planked walkway to a tiny bit of paradise created by Alfonso. He came down the stair to greet us and invited us to sit. We ate the best shrimp we have ever tasted and a bowl of fries that tasted wonderful. The beer was ice cold. Alfonso has it set up with the local water taxis to pick up at the beach in Boca to come to his place for the day, eat, drink, enjoy the beach, clothed or otherwise and he pays for the water taxi. The trail is fun but not for everyone, so the water taxi is perfect for all. Go visit Alfonso and his wonderful hill side restaurant. He is very gracious and although next door to a nude beach says he has never seen anyone nude. We did not either but it makes a good story. Water taxi is available from 11am to 5pm. Closed on tuesdays. His web site is www.oceangrillvallarta.com . Enjoy and you will impressed.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skynomad69, Owner at Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Hello Helen, thanks so much for the review. It was a pleasure having you!
Abrazo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Once in the life time experience”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

What a great place to be, If your looking for a unique dining experience head to Boca de Tomatlan, call the restaurant and get a fee water taxi ride to the restaurant. The best view of Vallarta... We got there at 11:30, and had a snack, one ice cold bear and went down to de beach, the restaurant provided us with kayak and snorkeling equipment, we had a blast!!!
Then we got back to the restaurant for the best ever ceviche, grilled smoked oysters, catch of the day , and a marvelous octopus. Make yourself a favor and visit this piece of paradise on your next trip to PV!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The chef is a genius as each dish is beautiful, delicious and different.”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Our group fo eight had, mahi mahi, grilled oysters, grilled octopus, ceviche, hamburger, cesar salad, grilled vegetables, and BBQ ribs. Each dish, done over nogale charcoal, was gorgeously displayed with good pairings with other items on each plate. One of the best meals I have had in 4 months of dining in Puerto Vallarta. Alfonso, one of the owners, admits he is a poor waiter and needs more English speaking waiters but it may take a while in that location. The excellence of the food and location more than make up for the any limitation in service. Besides what else do you have to do here? Really!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodyOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skynomad69, Owner at Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thanks so much for the great review. I now have some help from a wonderful waitress and service is impecable as you deserve it. Hope to see you soon amigo! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Ocean Grill Restaurant & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing