We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be better...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol
Ranked #63 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
mkm1013
Level Contributor
169 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good, but could be better...”
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Villas Vallarta is the second cousin of the Canto del Sol resort jsut across the plaza. We had our 81 yr old mom and college daughter. The location is good, about 25-30 minute walk to downtown area or a 50 pesos taxi ride. The beach is nice and the activities provided are good (nightly shows, daily kids' events)...if you are accepted into the Canto del Sol complex. We were on the European Plan which is breakfast buffet only, as we like to sample the local restaurants and not feel tied into the resort's all-inclusive plan. It's also a lot less expensive! We paid $1200 US for 9 nights including the breakfast. The reservation was made over the internet. For the first six days we were part of the family, then the rules changed for New Year's week - no EP types allowed. To their credit, after complaining to one of the managers, she provided our family with an extra wrist ban that allowed us access. Basically, they resort was trying to keep down the crowds. You can still access the beach through the public walkway in between two resorts as there are no private beaches-only above the high tide line. The 2BR condo was nice and clean, although the furnishings are bit dated. The staff was exceptionally friendly-daily housekeeper, breakfast waiters, front desk, and guest relations. We did sit through the timeshare spiel for a $50 credit, 2 massages, and the city tour including a tequila factory. Internet is free in the Canto side lobby. Beach towels provided at front desk. Nightly shows were good. Lots of Canadians. Not one bad meal-recommend La Andariega, the Sports tavern in the Canto plaza mall, and two places on the walk to town that we just stopped into. A Mega supermarket is four blocks. We dixed several meals on our own. Very limited parking. We chose not to get a car this trip and it was fine. Taxi from airport is overpriced (rate set by govt), but elsewhere 40-60 pesos will get you anywhere in town. Finally, we caved in to another timeshare pitch (5 hrs) in Nuevo Vallarta at the Mayan Palace/Bliss. Our only rection was "wow" at both the place and price-a bit out of our league. Great benefits-great breakfast, three canopy tours, and $2000 pesos, but the pitch got intense at the end. No buyers here! Overall a great getaway vacation from the cold!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkm1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    135
    71
    31
    25
See reviews for
72
100
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

There were 4 of us that stayed at the Villas Vallarta. We have been to Mexico 4 times before and we thought this hotel was great. We had access to the sister hotel Canto del Sol. The location was fabulous, close to all the shopping and restaurants. It is very close to downtown Puerto Vallarta. The Villas Vallarta is just across the street from the sister hotel, so close you would never hardly know they are not the same resort. We went in April so the Villas Vallarta buffet was closed for slow season, but we pobably would have eaten at Canto del Sol anyway. The buffet and ala cartes at Canto del Sol were the best we have ever had, and we have been to a different all inclusive a year for the last 7-8 years. The downtown hotels are older, but well kept. Our room was great, very clean and everything in working order. The hotel staff was so good, again probably some of the best that we have had. The pools were good, Villas Vallarta has a smaller one, and Canto del Sol has a big one. One part is set up great for younger children. Don't have small children anymore, but it is set up great for a young family. For us adults, a swim up bar on the other side. Nightly entertainment was good. Liked the outdoor theatre. Great price, great food, great service, great location, what more could you want. Will definitly go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Absolutelygreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Restaurant and housekeeping staff are very accommodating. However, the hotel has a number of sub-standard rooms which they routinely put new people in. The ones who either yell the loudest or stand at the desk the longest are the ones who end up with better accommodations. In addition, after being told there were no rooms available, we observed a number of them vacant for two and three days. They were ultimately filled with all inclusive vacationers like us. The rooms in the "back 40" (sub standard rooms are mostly located at the far end of the hotel) are generally dark, overlook a noisy street and feature old electrical outlets that won't run three-prong appliances. These rooms may not have in-room fridges which is a hardship since beverages must be obtained in Canto Del Sol after 6 pm Our original room had a tiny, dusty balcony that overlooked a roof and the Sky dish. The room was dark, the drawers didn't close and in fact, didn't match. The faucets leaked, some lights were not working and the paint job was sloppy. Ending up in one of these rooms is not a very nice way to start a holiday. It took us one week to be moved to a better room, but then it was like night and day! If you are laid back and flexible you will probably enjoy this hotel -- the location is terrific and the food all right. If you are used to traveling in Four and Five Star locations, give this place a pass.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenmorcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We just returned from Villas Vallarta. The project is older, but well cared for. It is not plush, but met our needs. We really liked the location. We could walk everywhere, or take readily available taxis. The beach is OK (lots of rocks) but the pools are very nice. Puerto Vallarta is beautiful and very friendly. We used our RCI timeshare and were very satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northwoods1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

Oh boy where to start! What a dump! We stayed one night and got out the next morning, ASAP. We were given room 705. I would have taken pictures but I was speechless and traumatized by the state of the given room.
First of all it was the dirtiest room we have ever stayed in. Even though it had been cleaned. We gingerly took off the bed spread and placed it on the floor (Yuk), A couch was provided in the room and it was so dirty that we would not even set our luggage on it, let alone sit on it! The balcony was so dirty you did not go out there without shoes! There was one filthy plastic chair out there for furniture! Plus a dirty diaper in the corner as well as bird poop all over the place. As a smoker my plan was to smoke on the balcony (I don't think so). We would not even go out there after the first look. The balcony door did not lock. The bathroom was horrible. Dirty tub and filthyfilthy tiles and walls. Wires hanging for plug in outlets..(Nice). To make my hair dryer work (one was not provided) I had to get my husband to hold the plug in to the outlet to keep a connection. Then there was the small murky pool! It was also dirty and in dire need of an overhaul! Went in once for a minute and that was enough for me. We checked in at 2 pm and did not even unpack (we knew without a doubt that we would not be spending another night). Even the Porter that took us to our room said" you can change rooms tommorrow before we even seen the room! What does that tell you?
We went over to the Canto for supper and used there facilities. When it was time for bed we did not want to go back to our room! The only people I would recommend The Villas Vallarta to is young party kids that are only there for the free drinks! Would we go back? Not for FREE. We had to pay extra money to get moved over to the Canto del Sol for the next 6 nights. The best money we have ever spend! There was no way we were going to stay there another night! If we could not get into the Canto we were willing to sleep in the lobby on the couches until they found us a decent clean room. Do your homework people. The posters that say it is wonderful, obviously had a RCI Room or a Timeshare. But for the average Joe, you get the left over crap that nobody will stay in.
If you are on a bit of a budget and are thinking of staying here...DON'T! I'm sure there must be other places in the lower price range that are acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beechwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sask. Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We have just returned from a week at the Villas Vallarta sister resort of the Canto Del Sol.
We very very pleased with this resort. Our room location was perfect. We had a room with patio doors that led right out to the pool - room 511. Since we are more the pool type people this was fabulous.
The room was equipped with a kitchette and king size bed.
The maids did an excellent job of keeping the room spotless and offering us extra towels and bottles of water each day. (We even had turn down service one night!)
The service at the bar, front desk and snack bar were super, very friendly.
The small pool was ideal for us as it was very quiet compared to the loud and busy pool at the Canto where people were saving chairs in the wee hours of the morning.
We ate most of our meals at the buffet at the Canto and found it to be ok at best.
We did not go to the al a cartes as we wanted to try some of the local restaurants instead.
Considering we paid $400 each less for staying at the Villas instead of the Canto we felt that we had the best value for our money. If we had paid the price at the Canto I think I would have been disappointed in their pool, beach and buffet for the price.
Overall we would definitely stay at the Villas for the good price and location. (If only we could be guaranteed the same room, which was just lucky this time.)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2009

We spent our first trip to Puerto vallarta at this hotel. I was a little nercous when I read some of the comments but we more than enjoyed the quietness and great location of this hotel. We didn't do an all inclusive but did buy the dinner buffet 3 times during the week for the Canta del Sol buffet. We are time share owners in another city so they gave us I think a 20% discount which allowed both of us the have the buffet for a total of $26.00 US. A great price considering some of the restaurants in the Romantic Zone, very pricey. Dacquiri Dick's was lovely but $8.50 for about 1/2 a cup of wine. the buffet was okay, desserts were better, nice location and waiters were friendly. There are lovely shops underneath the hotel. You can buy almost anything you need in the vacinity. There is a mega store 3 blocks from Villas. Being able to use all ammenities of the Canto del Sol was great. You had the best of all wrolds. the Canto seemed to have a party flavour with lots of drinking with the AI. We were happy to be removed from that scene. We did go to the entertainment at the Canto from 8-9 p.m. It was very good.Overall the only other hotel that was closer to town was the Sheraton Buganvillias. It didn't have the community flavour of the Villas and Canto del Sol. We had a corner unit 562 on the main floor. It had a partial view but we really enjoyed watching all the Mexicans in their day to day life. This is not a fancy hotel but very clean and large rooms. We had a few complaints but they were tended to very quickly for us. Just remember this is Mexico and if you need fancy furniture this is not the place. Staff were just great and the time share people were just as great once you said no but indidcated that you wished to talk to them about their life. Very receptive, however if you wish to help them out by doing the time share presentation by all means it is appreciated as that is their only income.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeliclovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.4 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#66 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
4.4 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#38 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
#58 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#57 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.9 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#80 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol

Property: Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol
Address: Calle Clemente Orozco 125 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HRS, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Vallarta By Canto Del Sol Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Villas Vallarta Canto Del Sol
Villa Vallarta Canto Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing