We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol
Nearby Hotels
$331
$279
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$179
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$255
$195
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$321
$299
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$139
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$307
$257
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$370
$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$449
$152
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveler rating
55
142
76
32
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
142
76
32
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelvillas poolmain hotelmexican and italian restaurantstime sharesurf and turfa la carte restaurantschanged roomsstar resortolder hotelsized bedbuffet restauranttowel cardsmain buffetpool sideall inclusive optionclose to downtown
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 331 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here in January 2014. The hotel could you use some updates. We had to go to West Jet vacation at Canto del Sol to get us a better room as they upgraded us but it was over Golds Gym and no view. They finally gave us one overlooking the pool and street. (609). It was very adequate. Our best experience was the staff. Jose, the Bell Boy was absolutely excellent, he couldn't do enough for us and helped us to get a better room and insisted that he move our luggage from room to room. I wanted to bring home, WE heard from other people at the hotel that Jose was absolutely wonderful too but he wasn't to excited moving to Canada LOL.The waiter Miguel and Manual in the restaurant were also outstanding. The restaurant in the Villas was our favorite.

Room Tip: Room 609 has separate bedroom livingroom dining room and full kitchen. Overlooks the street and the pool
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gailee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We weren't sure what to expect here as it's not "ocean front", but we were pleasantly surprised! This is an older hotel that could use some renovations, but was clean and comfortable. When I asked for a light to be repaired, it was fixed the same evening before I got back to my room. Also, they don't have hair dryers in the room, but I was provided one immediately upon my request. We went with another couple and shared a room... or a suite, I should say. We had a full kitchen, living room and dining room, with two bedrooms, each having their own bathroom. So much space! Room 621 is a great room if you are travelling with another couple... just up the stairs from the pool, but facing the other way, so there was no noise issues at all.
"BRISTOL" was the BEST server ever! He worked the poolside bar most nights and was fast, attentive and very pleasant. "Adan" served when Bristol was off, but he was not as happy to be there, it seemed. The food at the buffet (at Canto del Sol) was average buffet food... You could always find something to eat, but there was definitely weird stuff in it. The snack bar was decent... order two "snacks, though, or you'll still be hungry. The a la carte meals were great... we had 5 for 10 nights. The tuna at the Italian restaurant was amazing! It was nice that 3 of the 4 a la carte's were outside, but I wonder how they'd cope with all the reservations if it were raining.
The beach was nice and clean, though the water can be pretty rough (so be careful). We were able to get loungers on the beach a few times, which was nice. Being at the pool at Villas Vallarta was nice and quiet; you could almost ALWAYS find a lounger which was nice. Definitely not that way across at Canto del Sol. It's a complaint at almost every resort that other guests get up at 6:00 and "reserve" loungers... Canto was no exception. It would be nice if management got a better hold on that. We were unable to get loungers at Canto at all over the course of 11 days.
We really liked the location of this resort, as well. About a half hour walk into downtown to walk the Malecon, and a liquor store, a pharmacy, 2 OXO stores, multiple souvenir shops, massage parlors and a Laundromat all within the block that this resort sits on; there is also a Mega (grocery store) one block away.
We booked excursions with one of the tour companies downstairs called "Bora Bora". It's in the main aisle of this building, not beside the pharmacy. The fellow we dealt with was "Cesar" and we HIGHLY recommend dealing with him. He was honest, not pushy at all and spent a lot of time with us. I wouldn't go to anyone except him.
I'm not sure if we're heading back to PV next year or are going to try out Cabo, but when we go to PV next, we will most certainly be staying here again!

Room Tip: Room 621 has two bedrooms and two bathrooms & faces away from pool, so it's quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights while traveling around Mexico. Worst hotel we had ever been and we stayed also in 2 star rated ones during our trip.
First room - bed not clean, bathroom dirty.
Second room - mood in the bathroom.
Third room - one bathroom with leaking toilet, the other bathroom with ceiling coming down partially, which we needed to take as other options were not available.
Breakfast - you will find good ones around.
Gym - although mentioned as included you are not allowed using it, as it is in another hotel, if your are not on all inclusive, which they tried to sell us with 50% discount.
They told us that we received the 3rd room as an upgrade and wanted us to sign a letter that we are satisfied with the room but in the letter it was also stated that we would abondon any further claims.
The staff is friendly but they cannot cover the obvious quality lack of that hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fraseb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I love this place! It is clean and comfortable with the best staff of any resort I have ever stayed at! This hotel gives you the best of two worlds, if you want quiet you stay at the Villas side, if you want action go over to Canto del Sol which is a short walk across the street. It is an old complex but they are working on improvements and it is still a nice complex. I like small resorts so it is perfect. The food is very good with alot of selection so you don't get bored. The snack bar at the pool has really improved the selection since my last stay and I looked forward to a nice snack by the pool in the afternoon.

Did I mention the great staff!!!! They make the stay memorable, there is always someone to help or just give you a nice smile.

There were three of us aged 22, 55 and 72 and we all had the same sentiments of the place!

There is just one word of caution and it has nothing to do with the hotel itself. There is a tour company just outside the Villas hotel (beside the Pharmacy) - avoid this place at all cost and book through anyone else but these guys. They charged my uncle for an expensive tour and wrote down a cheap tour, he didn't notice and when we when for our tour we had to pay another $20.00 for the tour he had already paid for.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool area which are probably the best rooms to get. Some of the others probably do not have great views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

this was the 3rd time this year that we were lucky enough to visit our second home...this last time was from Nov 13 to Dec 11..Thank you again to all our family/staff of the Villas and the Canto del Sol for our wonderful stay..All staff from bellmen, maids, check in,activities,restaurant and bar, including Manuel on the beach...thank you so much.. Cannot wait to get back Feb/March 2014.
Carl&Joanne

Room Tip: just be friendly and respectful to the staff
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews