We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The One And Only!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garbo Piano Bar

Garbo Piano Bar
Ranked #112 of 999 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
san francisco,ca
Level Contributor
71 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The One And Only!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the only bar in Puerto Vallarta that is SMOKE FREE!!!

Although pricey for the area, It is worth been in such a welcoming environment.
I have been coming to PV for years and for some reason this bar never appealed to me in the past. This trip, as it frequently happens, things change. After visiting the spot we always went to before and after dinner on Olas Altas (I won't mention the name) we decided it was time to move on and we were grateful to have enjoyed Garbo's as much as we did.
Thanks to German for the great 'Hattans' I have been day dreaming about this year's trip ever since I came home.
Hasta La Proxima!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisethethird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    31
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I did not eat. I came here every night to start my nights out on the town. It's a fun piano bar and a great place to start your evening out on the town. Very friendly, welcoming and easy to make new friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRSawyer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Martinis, LIVE music, and YES even dancing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have been coming to Garbo's for over 4 years now. Everytime I am in PV (about twice a year) I make Garbo's one of my first stops for one of their superb matini's and to say hi to German. I'm never forgotten and always welcome with an "Hola Pollito" (my nickname). They have quite the selection with fun names for their martinis "CoCo Chanel" <--- one my favs = YUMMY! If martinis are not your think, fear not as they have a full bar.

The atmosphere is low key, fun and inviting for all. The lighting is low and tables are candle lit. Not in a dark creepy way, but rather creating a very nice ambiance. Easily great for you and a special someone, or to go with a group of friends. The bar itself is not huge, but there is plenty of seating; both at the bar and at the loung styled chairs and tables.

There is LIVE music nightly @ 1030pm which never dissapoints. During my last visit (Nov. 2012) my boyfriend and I broke away from the group we were traveling with and had a few of thier tasty martinis, listened to the live music and yes, even made room to dance! It was great. I'm looking forward to our next visit this coming Nov. 2013. I hope that a new name to me "Ryan Rigazzi" is still around as I'd love to hear him perform.

Drink prices are reasonable (a little more per PV standards/expectations) yet still totally affordable (approx. $75-100pesos or $6-10USD). The service team is always on par and they too never cease to forget my name "Pollito". VERY fun and efficient service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pollito F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
152 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Intimate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Nothing to dislike for a great Martini this is the place! Includes a nice pianist, dressy or casual great crowd!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaninPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Garbo's Legs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Legs are the last thing I think of when thinking of Garbo, but its catchy. And we love this bar. It's the music and the very nice ambiance, design. And the lighting. Yes, and its also the nice staff and the fact that you can talk here and find people to talk to if you want. The music is usually so good that you may not want to talk; may prefer to listen. And, as for the food, Cocktails are cocktails.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garbo Piano Bar also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Emiliano Zapata, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Garbo Piano Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing