We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away, very far away!”

Tizoc Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #357 of 1,039 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have been to Cafe Tizoc back in January 2008 and it was pretty decent typical Mexican fare.. We went again in January 2010 and thought the food had gotten worse but still not to bad. However during our visit in January 2013, the food was just plain horrible. Everything in the Mexican platter had the same bland taste, was either way too mushy (Chile Renne) or dry to death (Enchiladas, quesadillias). My partner had the giant shrimps in "special Tizoc sauce" and hated everything about it. Shrimp was over cooked, dry and the special sauce tasted like expired mayo. In addition, the extremely pushy and annoying owner (or manager, not sure), who haggle you to come there like I never remember in previous years tries to harass you by selling you time shares while you are eating! No wonder the place was empty every night for the 8 days we were in PV, when it's neighboring restaurant were all full. This use to be a charming decent local eatery and now it's a sickening place to avoid at all cost

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Poolie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 76 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

Cafe Tizoc has a really nice menu and good atmosphere. When we were there, they were just tearing up the sidewalk so a lot of people were bypassing this place but what a mistake! My husband ordered the shrimp burger which had large pieces of fresh shrimp and very little filler. I had the fajitas which included incredibly tender and flavaorful beef. Our waiter, Alfredo, was entertaining and his hospitality was well worth the short walk across a little bit of dirt. Highly recommend checking this place out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShariJVancouver_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We went for dinner in mid january, to this little outdoor restaurant in old town. Great service, and the most delicious jumbo prawns ever! My husband had a whole red snapper, also fabulous! Good vino tinto too! all at a very reasonable price, would highly recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank carcar47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017
Google Translation

Thank roberton195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Marco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tizoc Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Tizoc Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing