We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“January is a good month” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eco Explorer Whale Watching

Eco Explorer Whale Watching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have been doing the whale encounter for several years and we contribute with research projects to conserv the whales and promoting the best ways to do the whale watching in the bay. If you really want to learn about these mammals, you have to give us the chance to share our passion with you.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
416 reviews
234 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“January is a good month”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The whales are migrating south and breeding in the bay of puerto Vallarta . All boat excursions are seeing them. The best time is the middle of the day when they are having fun in the water. Too early they are not up and too late they are tired.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ETHKino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eco Exployer--more people should know about their whale watching tours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Although other excursion companies get all the hype, the small but experienced crew with Eco Explorer not only knew where the whales were but their knowledge, understanding and respect for the whale environment really made our trip worthwhile! Charlie and Paul made our midwestern family feel welcomed and tried to make it a once-in-a-lifetime experience without making us feel like they were just along to earn another few pesos! If you need a high-glitz operation to get the most of your whaling adventure, don't go with this company (after all, it's tucked away in a out of the way part of the Marina Vallarta that isn't easily found--our taxi took two different tries to find it) but if you want to truly have a memorable whaling experience, give Eco Explorer an opportunity to show you what it's all about!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eco Explorer the way to go for whale watching & snorkelling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went out with Eco Explorer on two different outings last week. The first was a three hour whale watching tour with the greatest whale guide, Carlos AKA Charlie Delfin. it was amazing and the in large part due to the perfect size boat and competent crew. Our second tour was snorkelling at Las Marietas. Same boat, different captain and guide. Equally as good. Diving with Leesandro was a fun and instructive adventure. The small boat could get us into places the bigger boats can't and the captain followed us from bay to bay as we swam through the various tunnels around the islands. If you can, avoid the big bats and go out with the smaller boat. The ride is more fun, the crew more approachable and once you get there, you see things other than lot's of tourists. Eco Explorer's boat takes out a maximum of ten people. We were three one day and 9 the next. Both times, the three hour trip extended into 5 hour journeys as we spent more time finding whales and diving for longer periods of time. We bought our tickets directly from the company, not through a time share visit deal. They are located in a great spot at the Marina behind Collage and you have superb restaurants to go to after you finish your tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marc2878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairie view
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We wanted to whale watch and there are 3 groups in the area. One seemed very commercial so we decided to go with this smaller company. Very helpful personable service. Carlos (Charlie) our guide is very passionate about whales and dolphins. We were able to get very close to these wonderful graceful creatures.
There was a photographer on the boat who offered pictures and video of the trip for $40 - we were a little hesitant because we had taken pictures but we bought it. It was delivered to our hotel and well worth the money. We have a wonderful record of our trip (our pictures didn't turn out as well). We had a wonderful experience

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank wardgb2us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eco Explorer Whale Watching also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Eco Explorer Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing