We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to kick back in the evening”
Review of A Page in the Sun

A Page in the Sun
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to kick back in the evening”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Located in Old Town across from the Plaza this place is a haven from the tourist atmosphere surrounding it. Books to read, buy or exchange you can relax with a coffee and dessert. It's a large place with a quaint atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    55
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Even foreign books”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Great place for some coffee and a book which you can buy for only 5 pesos. Not only that, they have books in several languages such as English, Dutch, German, French etc

Helpful?
Thank Paraplu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Can be recommended”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The DIFFERENT cafe! You can read a book quietly in the shadow and have a Cappuccino at the same time. I enjoyed it a lot and I will surely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno NV
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Rediscovered”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife, Kathy used to frequent this used book store/cafe often when it was in its old location which was just across the street from Playa Los Arcos where we were staying. We recently rediscovered it in its new location when we were down in PV in May and we revisited it again in October. It is only a couple of blocks from its old location on Lazaro Cardenas across from the park. It is significantly larger than the old store with an expanded menu. Since we only go for the books, I can't comment on the Cafe fare. The breath of the book selection is quite large; something for everyone. Whether you're trading books or purchasing outright, the prices are very good especially considering how much new books cost in PV. My wife has actually received more for a book than she paid for it at a used book store in the States. Now there's a deal for you. One last thing, I have never encounter anyone on the staff who did not have a reasonable command of English.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimN1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Depressing cafe with bitter coffee”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

So disappointing! I used to love this place at their old location. Now it is dark with no atmosphere. Lots of people with headphones and microphones "chatting" online, so it's kinda noisy. The staff had poor English skills and to top it all off, the coffee was bitter. I won't be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MssdFlght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Page in the Sun also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to A Page in the Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing