We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, Great BBQ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rio BBQ-Bar

El Rio BBQ-Bar
Ranked #105 of 980 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: https://www.facebook.com/EL.RIO.BBQ.BAR
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great views, Great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

In Col: Paso Ancho along the Cuale river. Beautiful riverside location with towering cliffs along the Cuale river. Outside and covered seating. The BBQ ribs were outstanding and the portions huge. Very good pulled pork sandwiches. Prices are reasonable and the beer is cold.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmarkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    58
    25
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“El rio- nice change of pace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Third visit. Went twice in 2012 and then once in 2013. A sad day as was a memorial service for band members wife. Not same atmosphere but good food. Will go again next year but probably for Sunday buffet. Interesting bus trip there, since not right in Old Town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyle39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dang it, their BBQ is better than mine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I'm not a BBQ competitor, but everyone who has tasted my "Q" has urged me to start. However, after tasting the ribs and pulled pork at El Rio, I think I'm back in the intermediate catagory.
You can take a cab from town to El Rio, but most likely you will have to catch the local bus back into town. The ride back is an adventure in itself, but in a good way.
Anyway, El Rio is on a beautiful, sandy riverbank in Paso Ancho. There are butterfly bushes and flowers everywhere. Everything is very clean (even the bathrooms, gals), so have no worries about that. It's a bit cooler up the river, also.
I ordered a 1/4 rack of ribs, note: They do not cut their ribs into baby backs, spares, and tips, like most do here in the U.S. Their ribs are whole, from top to bottom, so you are getting a substancial pile of meat with only a 1/4 rack. In fact, I couldn't finish, and I'm a big eater. The sides of beans and potato salad are great, too.
Fantastic experience, and this will be a must visit whenever we go back to PV.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeNEverett_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Food, Quiet Area, Entertainment, All At Bargain Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Getting there was a bit interesting (out of the busy areas of Puerto Vallarta) and the view is not really what you'd think of for your typical "on the shore of the river" expectation. The restaurant is a relaxed beach-like environment at the foot of a solid rock cliff along which flows the crystal clear River Cuale/ Service was excellent although a few of our 20 some guests had their dinner served after the others were finished.

Prices are very affordable, both for drinks and the food. I recommend their ribs, but note that the portions are very large (half an order will feed two hungry adults and left-overs are a possibility!) We were entertained (60s-70s pop hits) by a lively signer with live musicians in the late afternoon. The owner also mentioned that he has a Mariachi group that comes in once a week.

Overall, we all had a great time and came back on the local bus that stops right in front of the gate to the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mx.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great restaurant on the river....tasty BBQ and great service.
Location isolated from the city away from crowds and traffic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank menwhotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rio BBQ-Bar also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to El Rio BBQ-Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing