We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Seafood -- Exceptional Value”

Restaurant Mauricio's
Ranked #310 of 1,014 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 2001; Restaurant Mauricio's opened its doors to offer service and quality in its dishes. We strive to offer you a rich variety of dishes, created only with the highest freshness and quality of seafood on the Pacific coast, to delight the most discerning palates. Mission Highlight the style of regional cuisine, prepared with fish and seafood of the highest quality, freshness and variety. View Reach new markets in major cities in Mexico and the United States in the coming years. Transcend as a family business for several generations without losing our essence. Philosophy To achieve a preponderant place in the gastronomic area like the best Mexican cuisine of seafood in Puerto Vallarta.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
527 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood -- Exceptional Value”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Worth the long bus ride, Mauriso's serves good seafood very well. As soon as you are seated, the servers bring a tuna salad on a tostada, then soup (No charge). The combination plates are affordable, tasty and grilled perfectly. Excellent BBQ according to one of my dinner mates. Beer comes in a bucket full of ice to keep it cold. I really liked by lobster and shrimp combination (#4), while others raved about the shrimp cooked three ways. Whatever you have you can't go wrong with the best value for the money meal in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RussellJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    54
    26
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico city, MX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Seafood (and not seafood) with excellent quality”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I just loved the BBQ at Mauricios. Yes, I know it sounds weird, as Mauricios is better known for the seafood, but a combination of shrimps and BBQ, simply delightful! 10!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank MRN_EnjoyingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was a couple of years back”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Last time we went , portions were a little smaller , no complimentary Tequila or Kahlua. One geriatric Mariachi band (past it). Very few customers making it a gloomy atmosphere. Don't know how they will get their reputation back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nastynev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent fish”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Our first visit we had whole fish fillet for two. It was wonderful. It was cooked perfectly on the grill and only about 280 pesos (about $24 US). It was more than enough for 2 people.
Our second visit I had the combination plate of garlic butter & breaded shrimp. It was very good, lots of shrimp. My husband had the cuchi cuchi shrimp which is shrimp in a cream sauce with pablano peppers & spinach. It was excellent. Both shrimp entrees were about 160 pesos (about $13US). All entrees are served with lettuce salad and mexican rice. You also get tequila shots and a piece of baked plantain with sweet sauce after your meal.
Our only complaint was on the second visit my husband's food was brought to the table and at least 10 minutes later my food had not been served. We sent my husband's back to keep it warm until both of us could be served. Not sure what happened but hopefully it doesn't happen often. The beer seemed alittle pricy compared to other restauants. We are considering visiting a third time for the BBQ ribs because they looked excellent as well. If you are familiar with taking the bus you can take a bus that goes to Ixtapa or Las Juntas. The driver may know the restaurant name or it is close to the Home Depot. You can easily catch a bus back to town just across the street. The restaurant does have a website that has the menu and map of their location.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach FL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Seafood & Lots of It”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

It's off the beaten path behind Home Depot but worth finding. You are going for the food here, not the ambience. We both ordered the shrimp, lobster & fish platter. It was all outstanding. Fresh, plentiful and reasonably priced is the best description.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeresaLouPCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Mauricio's also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Restaurant Mauricio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing