We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring the south shore of Banderas Bay”
Review of Casa Iguana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Iguana Hotel
Ranked #84 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at Casa Iguana during the Vallarta Bird Festival, & it was a comfortable base from which to explore all the activities on the south side of Banderas Bay - the zoo, botanical gardens, diving at Los Arcos, travelling by boat to Yelapa. Also a short bus ride in to Puerto Vallarta. The suites are comfortable, but the kitchen area is a bit small & there are not a lot of options nearby for buying food - just a few convenience stores within walking distance - i guess you'd want to load up groceries in town for a long stay. The restaurant had excellent tequila shrimp. I did not try out the pools.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Casa Iguana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 312 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Casa Iguana Hotel is located in a lush green jungly setting in Mismaloya, on the road leading to the Puerto Vallarta Zoo & El Eden. Rooms are simple, all 2 bedroom suites, included a kitchenette with small fridge, 2 burner stovetop, dishes, living room with sofa. One bedroom has full size bed, the other bedroom 2 twin beds. The place was always spotlessly clean. The maid frequently left fresh flowers in my room. The grounds are lovely. The pool was cold, but long enough to swim laps. Restaurant very good, and there are other economical restaurants nearby (nearby walk). Very quiet -- except when the local ladies were doing their zumba class on the basketball court next door! (They invited me to join them.) Staff SUPER nice. Free (spotty) wifi. Shower had plenty of hot water in the evenings, however not so much in the mid-mornings. You can catch the bus into PV for 7 pesos. Walk across the road to get to the beach next to the Barcelo Hotel. Good birdwatching in the vegetation of the hotel & also along the river across the street.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank snowy_and_sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were at the Casa Iguana for a week in February. This was our second visit there - the first being several years ago. Things had certainly changed. The last time the place was bustling - with busy poolside, bar and restaurant activity and a nice comraderie among guests. This year we had the place to ourselves. It felt like we were 'between seasons'. The place is under new management and as such, there were some glitches... hot tub not always hot, restaurant and bar not fully stocked or attended. HOWEVER, that being said.... we really enjoy this 'off the beaten path' resort . The staff is so nice... they go out of their way to accommodate and be helpful. The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. We had a good breakfast everyday - cooked to order. The bus ride to town or to the Botanical Gardens is easy. The town of Mismaloya is quiet - but with a couple of good restaurants: El Patio and Tony's. The surroundings are lush - with interesting bird watching and flower viewing. The walk to the beach is less than five minutes - though we didn't swim there as the water was cold during the time we were there. Puerto Vallarta - though a great town - was madness during these late days of winter. We were happy to return 'home' to Casa Iguana after a busy day of touring or shopping. If we get back to PV, we'll return to the Casa Iguana for the restfulness and friendliness it affords.

Room Tip: We prefer one of the top floors and the end away from the office. There are not elevators so a lowe...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Casa Iguana from Feb 4 to 18 and as usual we were not dissapointed. Although the staff were new to us this year it seemed like we'd known them for a long time. We love Casa Iguana and this year was no exception as we practically had the whole place to ourselves. The grounds were beautifully kept as usual and we enjoyed the peace and quiet everyday. We ate at the restauarant almost everyday and the food was great as always. We especially enjoyed spending our days with the hotel cat. We had seen her several years before and were happy that she is still there and still loveable. We hope that everyone who stays there treats her well and maybe feeds her also. I want to thank the entire staff for their hospitality and we look forward to going back every year for many years to come. If you're looking for a nice quiet place that is safe and has all the amenities you need right there, I highly recommend Casa Iguana. And lastly, check out the town while you're there. Stop by Tony's and have a meal and I promise you will love it, go to the beach for the day or just hang by the pool and order up pool service from the restaurant. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We always stay in 415 as we enjoy the view and privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have just spent another wonderful two weeks at the Casa Iguana Hotel in beautiful Mismaloya. This was our fourth visit and by far the best. Most of the hotel staff is new this year. Their friendly, caring and accommodating manner was a pleasure to observe. Without exception all were very attentive to our needs at all times. Jose, the reservations manager had many new suggestions for us to try such as the Ocean Grill restaurant which was opened about a year ago. As usual, the suites and grounds were exceptionally well maintained and we enjoyed using the lovely pool and hot tub every day.

The restaurant on the premises is under new management and is now called La Enredadera. The chef and his staff provide great breakfasts and lunches and, although we did not eat dinner there we were told by others that their evening meals are just as good.

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing stay in the area of Puerto Vallarta, we highly recommend Casa Iguana Hotel and Suites.

Room Tip: We enjoy the corner suites on a higher floor but for those who have difficulty with stairs we sugges...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maclab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

While stopping in PV during a cruise we had the fortune to stumble across this wonderful place. The grounds were impeccable and set within the beauty of the Jungle. We spent most of our day here enjoying incredible margaritas, eating shrimp fajitias, and swimming in the pool. The location is quaint and has you feeling like a local. Great access to all of the local attractions and the service was some of the best I have ever received. This is not a huge party resort but an intimate and beautiful stop. A great place to stop by for the day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gluch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

While not staying in the Casa Iguana Hotel we did have the pleasure of dining at the Serrano Restaurant one evening during our stay in the Misaloya area. An absolute delight and the manager/seronader Jorge was such a dleight. Wonderful food and an overall grand experience. While dining we could not help but admire the grounds of the Casa Iguana Hotel and if the interior is equal to the grounds and outside condition I'm positive the facilities would most definatley appeal to those who want a little hide away from the all inclusive or party areas of PV

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
6.1 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#83 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
322 reviews
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
#63 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
157 reviews
6.2 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#57 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#80 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
158 reviews
8.1 mi away
Vallartasol Hotel
Vallartasol Hotel
#88 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
37 reviews
3.7 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#35 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana Hotel

Address: Ave. 5 de Mayo #455, Puerto Vallarta 48394, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $41 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Iguana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the adventure, tranquility and natural beauty of authentic Mexico in the picturesque village of Mismaloya, Puerto Vallarta. Casa Iguana Hotel offers personalized service and modern amenities in a relaxed garden setting. Water sports, jungle tours, horseback riding, shopping and dining are all just moments from your door. Escape to Casa Iguana! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Iguana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Mismaloya
Hotel Casa Iguana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing