We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise on the hill”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Puerto Vallarta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AshleyC65...
Seward, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise on the hill”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Where to even start? Everything about our experience at Casa Hortencias was top notch and better than we could have dreamed. Four friends decided on an adventure to celebrate a 40th birthday,. We choose Puerto Vallarta where we none of us had ever been before. We didn't want the resort thing, we wanted to be able to immerse ourselves in the culture and enjoy time with each other in a private setting. We found that and more here.

We were picked up from the airport by the delightful Ricardo. He had stocked the fridge with our requests and we had cold drinks when we arrived. What a relief to not have to venture to the store after a long day of traveling.

The house, it's hard to really put into words. Those pictures you see, myself I thought for sure they were staged to show the house in its best light. What a joy to see that is how it really is! Exquisite. Jeffery is an amazing decorator, and he takes great pride in his homes. Truly a great experience to open up your walls to the outside. We only used the AC when it was bedtime, and we were there in the rainy/humid season!

The rooftop pool area was a favorite of ours. We spent many hours staring at the beautiful view of Banderas Bay, floating in the pool, having drinks and composing synchronized swimming routines.

An absolute must is having Maria cook for you. She makes amazing margaritas and, of course, food! We had enough leftovers for two more meals! She was such a joy and even ordered a cake from a bakery for one of our birthdays. We made her sit and enjoy a piece with us and she entertained us with stories of people she had cooked for. Highly recommend and worth it!

Puerto Vallarta is a special place with such friendly and helpful people. Do come and visit. We are sure to come back.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2012
Ashley, Thank you so much for the nice review. We all try very hard to make sure our guests have a great vacation. Our success rate is very high, but we never mind seeing another glowing review. Thanks again for taking the time to post. Jeffery
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie S
York, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I want to give it more than 5 stars”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This house was AMAZING. I can't begin to say enough about how the house was decorated, clean, comfortable. If I were a regular traveler this would be a place I would stay at all the time. We never saw the staff but when we left and came back everything was clean and in place. We left clothes out one day and they were washed and dried when we came back. Hiring the chef one night was the best idea EVER. We swam in the pool everyday, sometimes twice. We were even there late at night.

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing~~
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewed October 30, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ca
Reviewed October 27, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Date of stay: September 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MN
Reviewed August 11, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Date of stay: March 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed May 25, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 25, 2012
Thanks so much for the nice review and including the photos. I always appreciate when people take the time to write such nice reviews for me and helpful reviews for future guests

Casa Hortencias is a very special home and has wonderful memories for me and for thousands of guests over the past 12 years.

Anyway, thanks again. Hope to see you again in the future.

Jeffery
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bremerton
Reviewed April 18, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Date of stay: April 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing