We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just re-opened with new owner” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Oceano Restaurante

Bar Oceano Restaurante
Ranked #143 of 980 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Bar Oceano Tropical on the Malecon in Puerto Vallarta. Food Drinks and Fun since 1955.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just re-opened with new owner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

They told us they had just re-opened about 3 weeks ago and were still finalizing the menu so they were even willing to make something not on the menu for one of my friends who really wanted taquitos.

They did not skimp on the nacho platter, and the main food items were good. Our total meal with drinks for 4 of us was less than 300 pesos (about $25 USD).

Good food with a great ocean view at a great price and great service. I will be back.

Read my full review at http://www.keithstravellog.com/index.php/bar-oceano-pv-mexico

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    61
    17
    5
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Food is bad. Had beef burritos and an order of cheese burritos. Dry, no sauce and a spoon of beef or cheese. Had better for less at Taco Bell at home. Beers are $1 until 7 PM and then jump to $3.50. We noticed a small taped note at the bottom of the back of the menu (after the fact).
View is great but so are a lot of other places. Bathrooms were small and filthy. Very loud music playing and we could not even hear each other talk as we a large group (14). Got 1 bill with no itemizing but only some scribbling and a total. When we questioned it, they "lost" the order form portion and that is also how we found out about the beer price jump.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank senorbobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So sad.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This has been our favourite place to stop for drink/snack for over 20 years. It is currently closed for renovations, but should be opened by early November. We missed it this time, but will be back on our next trip to PV.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn_Gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap beer, Big Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We came to Puerto vallarta with friends and love to be on the Malecon. The one thing we really wanted were some Coronas, and our hotel did not have any. We found the Oceano Tropical and went inside for some drinks and a great view of the sunset. There was music playing, beer flowing, and we had a great, and most important, relaxing time. $1 beer and margaritas before 10pm...who could ask for more. With places like these, you dont need all inclusive!
Steve, the owner, introduced himself to us and he was one of the most easy going bar owners I have met. He keeps things simple and gives people what they want. We loved it so much on our last night, we came back! And boy am I glad we did! Their margaritas are delicious! They make their own fruit base for all their margaritas and I have never had one more fresh (and I live in San Antonio, TX).

Like them on facebook; they keep you posted on events and make me want to come back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitnessbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun, great place to eat on the Malecon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

There was a group of 12 of us and we were deciding where to eat when a couple of gentleman were encouring us to go upstairs to try their restaurant. We all just shrugged and thought, "why not?" Well, I'm glad we did as it was spectacular!
The waitstaff were attentive, live entertainment was excellent and our main waiter handmade us the most delicious salsas ever! It was a pleasure to watch him use the mortar & pestle to make it from scratch! The food was excellent! Pizza! Best crust ever!
The restaurant itself was Mexican rustic and that just added to the whole ambiance of the place. It was a lot of fun and I'm glad we ate there and the sunset was spectacular from every seat!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank safarifour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Oceano Restaurante also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Bar Oceano Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing