We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the club resort, not the grand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Ranked #45 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed March 8, 2014

It's a shame to have to add this to Trip Advisor, because the hotel was absolutely fine in all respects: cleanliness, food, amenities - we just got a bad room covered in black mold, that should not have been available.

In fairness, we were promptly moved to a new room - a suite in fact - the management were concerned and we were treated very well by the staff. However, I feel I need to write this review to make sure the hotel understands that exposure to black mold can cause serious health issues.

Also be aware that choosing the Pelicanos Club resort is not the same as Pelicanos Grand resort, some photo's and maps show the Grand resort.

Room Tip: At the time of writing this review, the north facing rooms on the ground floor were not fit for habi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicemandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 2,051 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

I'm a gay man my partner and I have stay a Plaza Pelicanos club for the last four year, the resort is older but very clear and the staff are fantastic they remember us ever year and go out of there way to make us welcome and comfortable The food was good. pool heated and the drinks are cold for the price it is a bargain

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank giftie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were in room 236. There is a disco behind it and things in our room viberated till 530 am. Manager likes to lie. Over book locals. Poor food.
Claudio at the swim up bar did a great job with what he had to work with. Some of the staff was very good.
Swim up bar did smell like puke all week.
Pool is in desperate need of repair. It's a tile pool that has had vinyl liner put in. The liner is lifting from the bottom of the pool and pulling off the sides.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is my 5th time at the Pelicanos. I am disappointed about not having access to the Pelicanos Grand. In all my other stays I had access and was really looking forward to the grounds at the Grand. The ocean side of the resort did not have enough beds for the amount of people there and really missed the nice beds that were always at the GRAND. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and a/c worked great. The food was very repetitive. Really missed the huge salad bar that was there in the past, and disappointed with the dinner at night. The breakfast and lunches were good and had warm food. Tried the Caruso dinner one night, was disappointed that the chicken served was a chicken thigh, expected it to be a chicken breast, service was excellent at the Caruso. We tried to book the Temaki a la carte 3 times, the first night it was booked, the next day it was Italian food and the 3rd night it was closed. Really disappointed that we didn't get to use the coupons for a la carte!!!! The beach has improved and is clean. I would probably not stay here again unless it was cheaper...only because I know how the Pelicanos used to be. Stayed Feb 27 - Mar 6-2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larjone8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I have been staying at varying locations in PV for fifteen years now including several all-inclusive resorts. Overall I have to say this one is average although from a value standpoint it does the job. It is a smaller resort which has a nice feel to it although you have to walk across the entry street to get to the beach area. It is very close to a bus stop for a quick trip into town and If your lucky enough to get the ground floor like we were then you get a nice patio to sit out on. The rooms themselves are a bit sparse but reasonable in size although the shower we had was pretty small. If you need a hair dryer or a blanket you'll need to ask for one.

The buffet food was okay with the breakfast being the best. Like has been mentioned it was pretty much the same thing everyday we were there. I realize it's difficult to completely change things up on a daily basis but after six days it was getting a bit stale. Your offered a one-time dinner meal of Italian and Japanese food but neither was exceptional. The red wine was not very good with only one choice which was the same for the beer. I can't comment on the other types of drinks.

Now as far as the staff.....all were great and this includes the grounds staff that kept everything very clean. Anything you needed was handled right away and everyone seemed to appreciate you had chosen their resort to stay in. The front desk allowed us a few extra hours (at a charge) after check-out time as we had a late flight so that was a nice benefit.

Overall the resort is a very descent place to stay if your looking for an all-inclusive at a good value. I would try a get a ground floor room as the patio was a nice place to sit in the morning and have a cup of coffee before the sun got too hot.

Room Tip: Request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksharpe98021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our stay at this resort was extremely pleasant. All of the staff are excellent and they work very hard. We were accompanied by our youngest son, his wife and 3 grandchildren. Lisbeth (at the front desk), in conjunction with the room manager, was able to get us 3 rooms together - 2 of which were poolside. This was perfect for our grandchildren ages 13, 15, and 17. Luis in the restaurant nicknamed our grandson "Harry Potter" and always greeted us with a smile and provided excellent service. The bartenders at the pool bars even remembered the grandkids favorite non-alcholic drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank DALE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have stayed at five star resorts and have not felt as looked after as I was here. Koodos to this very intimate resort for making everyone staying here feel welcome. Staff here is this resorts best asset. I can not say enough about them. They all worked tirelessly to make sure that every need was attended to. There were evening shows to go to with special themes. During the day we had free kayaking, water aerobics, water volleyball, games etc.

This is a two part resort. We did not stay on the beach but just had to cross a small walkway to get to the second part of the resort which was on the beach. you could choose to stay there where that activites were or you could go straight to the beach area.

They had two restaurants and with our week stay we got two vouchers to be used if we wanted. We tried the Italian and it was great. Usually we ate at the buffet style area. They had fresh fruit at every meal, salad, many fresh and cooked vegetable selections. Also a couple of choices of fish, chicken or beef. We could not believe that anyone could complain.

Again, Thank you to all the staff at the Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach for making our stay so great. Love the Mexican people and Special Thanks to Pedro!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank eyereent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,075 reviews
4.6 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#36 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
1,527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa...
#67 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Reso...
#37 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,552 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Marina and Beach Resort
Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Mar...
#39 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort

Address: Diego Rivera 120 Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $98 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 5 minutes to downtown Puerto Vallarta, at Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort entertainment is always available: all day long and beyond the sunset, there is a full activities program for all ages that suits your wish to live it up in paradise; from beach and swimming pool contests to theme nights with live music and karaoke. All rooms fully furnished with two twins or one king size bed (view and type of bed is subject to availability), air conditioning, safety deposit box, fully marble equipped bathroom and bathrooms amenities. Non beach front section, access to the beach (walking steps) crossing a private street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing