We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff Service Good. No view from room at all.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Ranked #43 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
WI
1 review
“Staff Service Good. No view from room at all.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are average, the food and choices were below average. Our room looked onto another building about 5 feet away. We did not have a screen - so keeping our window open for any type of fresh air was not an option. Only rooms on first floor had patios. Requested at check-in, but was told the rooms were all booked, but I could move to another room 2 1/2 days later. We declined to unpack, pack again, only to unpack for our final 2 nights. Spent alot of time tying to get the safe reset so that we could use it. Family members in another room, requested, but never received a safe at all. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RONALD E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    690
    357
    113
    85
See reviews for
825
467
65
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed at the Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort for a week in February and have nothing but good things to say about it.

Resort - smaller resort, great location, close to bus service to go downtown or to smaller towns outside of P.V. and close to shops. Very comfortable atmosphere, relaxed and laid back, not a fancy 5 star but a more Mexican feel to it. There is a smaller pool by the rooms and close to the buffet - more for families, and a small walk away is the beach club pool - much larger, lots of activities around the pool, music playing and located on the ocean front. So much fun there!

Staff - amazing! so friendly and helpful and a joy to be around. Special thanks to Pedro in the buffet - your smile and friendliness made my day. Also thanks to Abi and Fernando for all the fun activities around the beach club - yoga, water arobics and volleyball, games, etc. A very special thank you to Eduardo at the beach club - you are amazing, serving drinks to all of us around the pool, with a smile on your face and working so hard every day - it was such a pleasure to get to know you. Also, a big thanks to Julio at the smaller pool - so friendly and kind - enjoyed our talks every day.

Rooms - spacious, very clean, good showers and very comfortable beds- the housekeeping staff always did a wonderful job, left 2 water bottles for us every day and the room looking great.

Food - read some other reviews re the food complaints (cannot believe what some people complain about!) - I found the food to be just fine - fresh, a pretty good variety, lots of fresh fruit and salads and traditional Mexican food. At times it can be repetitive, but you will find that at just about any other resort in Mexico. The breakfasts were really good, and the snack bar at the beach club was great - hamburgers, fresh fruit and nachos with yummy salsa! We did one of the a la carts - the japanese one and it was soooo good - great food, and wonderful service from our waiters.

My only cons would be - no free wifi, and to get it was expensive - about $50 for the week - we wanted to stay in touch with our family, so bought phone min. - very expensive to call home from Mexico - and our room window did not have a screen, so when we left it open lots of mosquitos got in and we were bitten quite a bit (that has never happened to us before in P.V.).
Also, at times music from one of the nightclubs nearby was very loud - hard to sleep.

Suggestions - go to the Malecon, lots of shopping and restaurants, take a trip to Sayulita - a fishing/surfing village - really cool place - about 1 hour away from P.V. The Rhythms of the Night Tour is amazing - well worth the money spent.

Thank you to all of the staff for a great vacation - we will miss you all!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The overall resort was great. Staff very friendly and attentive to all needs. Bartenders always remembered you drinks. The buffet was okay, nothing to write home to mama about but it became repetitive. Actually, a couple of nights went off the resort grounds to enjoy a seafood restaurant!!!! The pools were great... the pool by the buffet was more for the kiddies, just across the walk way the other pool was more for adults with a quick snack bar on the side and swim up bar. TEQUILA uno mas.

If looking for excursion to do, the best concierge/excursion planner is Melisa!!! She gave all the pros and cons, ins and outs of everything. Melisa made sure everything went off without a hitch. Melisa even followed up after the excursion to get feed back. Make sure you ask for Melisa!!!!!


Cons:
No hair dryer
No refrigerator
No Iron or ironing board unless requested
No wash clothes our first day

After booking two days prior to my trip will not complain for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Me and my friends had the best time at Pelicanos. It's in a great location close to downtown PV and there are lots of stores close by for any items you might need (we went to Sorianas about a five minute walk away, they have really cheap water and sunscreen). The resort itself was great, not as fancy as other resorts but it suited our needs perfectly. Our room was nice (first floor, garden view) and was kept very clean. The only downside was that it was very loud at night as it was so close to the sports bar. The food at the buffet and the snack bar was good - we didn't try either of the a la cart restaurants. As a vegetarian I was worried I wouldn't find anything I could eat, but I always had lots of options. The best part about Pelicanos is the incredible staff. Every single person working here is super friendly and they all work hard to make sure you're having a good time. The absolute best was our waiter Luis. He was really helpful and a lot of fun. Find him and make friends with him - you will not regret it!!! The guys by the beach were great too and always kept activities going. Its true that a lot of locals stay here on weekends. It didn't bother us but it definitely got a lot more crowded and A LOT louder.
Overall Pelicanos is a great place to stay. It definitely had a fun party vibe, but we still had a relaxing vacation. I would recommend it to anyone (especially young adults), the location is great and the service is amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a little patio with a pool or garden view, but they can be very loud a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have stayed at MANY all-inclusive resorts over the years. This one is by far the only one I really didn't care for. A true disappointment.
The food was lacking and variety did not change much from day to day
The buffet is disappointing . Very small with very little selection.
If you want day activities this isn't the place.even after talking to a supervisor did not change.The evening entertainment was mediocre. I'm sure kids would love it but it was cheap and cheesy compared to what many of the other resorts put on each night.
The beach itself is very small. Beach venders were all over and usually took no for an answer while others hounded you til you left the beach.,i skip the beach ,could not take this venders in my face every minute.
the only highlight in this 1 week V.C was Meeting several other vacationers, and enjoyed many pleasant conversations with others from different countries.,all seems to feel the same about the hotel,but still i read great reviews from others,so i dont really know who writes this other reviews.
All in all would not stay here again and really don't recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mariel5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONT
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Amazing staff, friendly and always willing to help. Conscierge went above and beyond to make our trip to Mexico the fantastic holiday that it was. We watched a couple of the evening performances by the pool and these shows were very entertaining, especially the circus night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JANE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Overall this was a great hotel. The staff are all very polite and helpful, especially all the servers and bartenders, and the place is overall clean. Beach and both pools are nice, the one by the buffet is more for children, the one by the beach is more for the adults there. The food there was just okay though, not very flavorful and gets repetitive, but for a buffet in Mexico catering to many, it is good. Breakfast is the best as there is an omelet/ egg station. The rooms are clean and overall nice, the a/c worked wonderfully, we got new water bottles every time our room was cleaned, however pillows were pretty hard. Also wi-fi cost $3.50 US for an hour so its easier to find free wi-fi along the Malecon. For the cost, its what we expected, a great getaway spot for a week in Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.5 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
2.5 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Reso...
#36 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort

Property: Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Address: Diego Rivera 120 Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 5 minutes to downtown Puerto Vallarta, at Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort entertainment is always available: all day long and beyond the sunset, there is a full activities program for all ages that suits your wish to live it up in paradise; from beach and swimming pool contests to theme nights with live music and karaoke. All rooms fully furnished with two twins or one king size bed (view and type of bed is subject to availability), air conditioning, safety deposit box, fully marble equipped bathroom and bathrooms amenities. Non beach front section, access to the beach (walking steps) crossing a private street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing