We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Ranked #44 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It was decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I think most people booking here are looking for a good price. We sure got one through Sunwing through Winnipeg. With a solid economy price you do need to give and take a little and roll with the punches - that is just the way it is. Compared to a Dreams or a RIU, well not quite there. But value for your money - for sure.

To address the not on the beach concerns. Technically it is not....you won't see the ocean from your room. The lobby is on one side of a cul-de-sac and the path to the beach/beach pool is on the other side of it. Compared to a big resort, you could probably walk to the beach area faster at this hotel. It is pretty much on the beach.

Beach area and beach pool have some great views and they are decent. Pool number two is also decent. In this area, you cannot see the ocean. Both pools were relatively quiet and it was never hard to find chairs etc. Some people did put down towels to reserve but again we never had any problems.

Food was decent but yes, repetitive. This is normal. Sometimes a little cool. Again, pretty normal for Mexico in my experiences. It was average and did the trick and we were happy to go out a few nights with the big savings we had by booking here.

Staff was excellent and the waiters very attentive. Even served us on the deck, at the beach etc. This type of service is not offered everywhere.

Karaoke Bar was way to loud for our liking. Wouldn't be a place we would spend much time at.

One couple in our group did report hearing the bass from a nearby bar but they said it didn't bother them. Other two couples could not hear it.

One night there was a party above us and it was loud and long. I figured the hotel would shut that down and they didn't. Had it happened again we would have done something about it but it did not happen again. Kicked out/checked out/too tired...not sure why it didn't happen again but they did let it slide that one night. Slightly annoying but not a deal breaker.

Awesome location for walking around and seeing things.

No timeshare people bugging us at the resort. Asked once and a polite no did the trick.

Room are simple and adequate. Tubs small for taking a bath is that is your thing but me and my wife made it a challenge to see if we could both fit in. We did. Barely.

All in all a decent place. Lots of locals stay here which is no problem for me. It would be like complaining there were lots of Americans at your hotel when you were in the U.S.A. (we are Canadian)

Everyone very nice and polite and we would go back again.

Room Tip: As many have said, bottom floor gets a deck. Floors 2 and 3 do not. Ask and you may get it if that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ryanwhiskey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    703
    364
    114
    86
See reviews for
848
480
66
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I should have paid more attention to the fact that it was a more family type of hotel/inclusive. The children playing and screaming in the pool right in the main area of the hotel was not what we had planned. There was another pool a short walk close to the ocean that proved to be a better place to hang out. Thankfully, we didn't spend a lot of time around these areas as things need a huge amount of improvements. I can't believe that they have the pool liner splitting and separating from the edge of the pool right in the main courtyard and no one is on it to get it repaired. The food was adequate and you kind of have to not be picky on big choices as they tend to serve the classic basics and at least it's clean. I was ok at learning that internet was not included as you can go anywhere near to get free wifi, but they charge $10.95 a day or $3.00 for 15min. No way!! Most restaurants give it away as they want to keep you there and spend money!!

The whole week went relatively quick and i know that we still love PV, we just won't be returning to this hotel....Back to old town and our original fave place to stay!! All in all, this hotel is not bad in price and the room was clean....just don't expect frills!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank EVELYN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel was clean and well maintained. Food was very good and had a lot to choses from. Hours to have meals were long and food was always fresh. Was not sitting our for long periods of time. Rooms were very clean and everything worked. Beds were comfortable. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
Only thing I would change is to have a disco that is designed in a fun party feeling for evening.
There is nothing else I could think of changing.
Everything was great including the price.
Our flight home was delayed and the resort still let us use the facilities including drinks and the buffet even though we had checked out. It was also in a location that you could walk to the Malecon in 30 mins (If a walker) and also a short cab ride to the port if going on any water related events.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank CANDISE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is the first time I stayed at a 3* and it was pretty good. I was actually surprised.
The best thing about the resort is the servers- bartenders and waiters. They were kind , funny and very good at bringing you drinks before you could finish the one in your hand.
The breakfast buffet was great which included fresh made to order omlettes- if you want bacon all you have to do is ask as they do have it.
The pool snack bar was excellent as well. (hamburgers, nachos with fresh made salsa and french fries)
The supper buffet was ok
There is bottled water available in your room the first day. If you want bottled water in your room everyday , you just need to ask and the maid will leave you some every day.
I brought ear plugs to sleep and had good sleeps, it does get noisy sometimes, but that is ok as everyone is having a good time and is on vacation.
The only suggestion I have is that the bathrooms at the pool get cleaned more often througout the day.
From the resort to the Malecon the cab ride is 50 pesos. very cheap!
Our flight home was delayed and the resort still let us use the facilities including the buffet even though we had checked out

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank MARIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We couldn't have asked for better service! Gus, the doorman, Louis our waiter in the A la carte and buffet. And Eduardo our bar server. I don't know why others didn't like the food, our food was great! Order the omelette for breakfast, it is delicious. We ate most of our meals in the A la carte restaurant and the food was wonderful.
We had no problems with noise. We had to ask for a blow dryer and extra blankets for our room. Anything we requested we had before the end of that day.
We didn't take our service for granted, we showed our appreciation by tipping.
The resort is clean and our service was exceptional!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The experience here was ok. The price was great, so I really can't complain. The food was not very good - but that can be said for many 3 star resorts - and we certainly didn't starve. There is always something to find at the buffet to fill you up, but if you are there for the food, this isn't the resort for you. The service was excellent! Claudia and Armando - the pool bartenders - were fantastic. They went out of their way for everyone. The restaurant staff were awesome as well. The maids were wonderful as well as the front desk. Amazing people make an amazing trip.
I didn't like the bar there. It was inside and very stale and the hotel location was a block off the ocean so you couldn't hear the ocean in the background which I really enjoy, but you can walk to the beach (1 block) so it wasn't that bad. There are 2 pools, one on the resort and one across the street. The one on the resort was heated so that was nice, the one by the ocean had the activities and snack bar. It was quite nice. I did find myself at the resort pool more tho because it wasn't so cold.
There isn't an adult pool, which can be a disappointment to some people, and there were no balconies in the rooms.
For the price, it was good. I like going out a lot and to me, the all inclusive are the cheapest way to travel.
Note: excuse mess in room pics. Forgot to take them for you guys until I was walking out on last day. :)

Room Tip: If you can - which we couldn't - try to get on the main level. This way you have a little patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traci w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONT
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

My room was not equipped as advertised on net. I requested to switch to a room with safe deposit box twice but was totally ignored. Requested for an iron twice, was ignored as well. Bottle water not provided in room had to ask daily for it.Lack of security as my 3 nights were sleepless due to rowdy drunkard guests on third floor who were yelling, banging and slamming doors shut and had to call front desk twice to get action.

At times there was very nasty strong smell of sewer around the premises. The buffet area where the food was small and congested plus food tasted very blend comparing with the food of Holiday Inn, Las Cabos and Tesoro Manzanillo in Manzanillo where I visited recently.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JOHNNY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.5 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#23 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
2.5 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Reso...
#36 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort

Property: Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Address: Diego Rivera 120 Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 5 minutes to downtown Puerto Vallarta, at Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort entertainment is always available: all day long and beyond the sunset, there is a full activities program for all ages that suits your wish to live it up in paradise; from beach and swimming pool contests to theme nights with live music and karaoke. All rooms fully furnished with two twins or one king size bed (view and type of bed is subject to availability), air conditioning, safety deposit box, fully marble equipped bathroom and bathrooms amenities. Non beach front section, access to the beach (walking steps) crossing a private street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing