We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$351
$279
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$184
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$181
$113
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$255
$195
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$321
$274
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$307
$257
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$381
$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$449
$152
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$197
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$169
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,150)
Filter reviews
2,150 results
Traveler rating
740
783
408
124
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
740
783
408
124
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa ground floor roomlots of fresh fruitmexican familieswater polorooms were very cleanactivities staffbeach accessnightly entertainmentpool sidebuffet restauranthamburgerswim up bargreat vacationtacoskids clubfood and drinksocean view
Filter
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 2,150 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have been to Puerto Vallarta many times and to many hotels. My husband and I found the Plaza Pelicanos Club a great place to stay. We had a wonderful view from our room, which was nice and clean, and found all the staff very friendly. The bartenders and waiters were great. But the activities staff are the ones that made our trip!! All of them are awesome friendly people with lots to do and had fun Dandy in the karaoke bar.

Room Tip: Overlook pool area
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlebud59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are happy you have chosen to return Puerto Vallarta. Please let us express our gratitude for sharing such nice comments regarding your latest stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you really enjoy your vacation and we hope to have you back soon. I will extend your congratulations to our staff for their great job.
As you mention our activities staff is the most important piece of fun and we have a lot of thing to do, like: -Daily activities (kayak tour, yoga, scuba diving lessons, lazy games, volleyball, aerobics, beach voleivol, dance of the house, bingo, black jack, crazy games, zumba, foot ball and much more) -tennis courts -Kids club including games, contests and more –Nightly entertainment (shows, live music) and Karaoke (according to our program). Thank you for your appreciation.
Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit
Leaslie Gómez / lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed there for only a couple days, but had a marvelous time. The entertainment guys are the greatest, they really know how to have a fun time, specially Dany who I must admit is excellent on the Karaoke. Totally recommend it

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eslf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have been staying here for several years! Love the staff,food and management! Very wonderful people always accommodating and inviting. We love it and will return again. All areas are clean and pools are terrific" you will love the view from the Oceanside pool. Great activities available to do. Walking in a great area and close to downtown

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank CINDY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Met our expectations. The staff were all really friendly and the service was great. The place is clean. The food was ok. For us vegetarians in the family, the selection in the buffet was limited and repetitive but non-vegitarians family members thought it was ok. On a la carte dinner nights, the food was served cold. Great salsa though. We made use of the local bus (that happens to stop right out front) to take us into town. It was quiet for the first couple days and we enjoyed the pool side room and patio that we had. Then the hotel filled up and it was very loud with people and over cranked music. The beach side pool was great. Be careful not to step on the clusters of spiny sea urchins on the man made reef in the water! This is very painful and it is almost impossible to remove all the needles that bury themselves under the skin!
In general it is a nice hotel and a good place to be based out of but I would definitely recommend getting out of the hotel and spending your time in PV going into town and exploring the south end where there are fabulous sites, restaurants, and attractions. As mentioned the local bus is super easy to manage (convenient and one comes by every couple minutes) but the taxi service once you are away from the airport is also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JOANNE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Our son & his now wife wanted to have a destination wedding. As we all love PV it was the first destination choice. We looked for a budget resort so all our family and friends from across Canada (and even Seoul, S. Korea) could afford to join us. We actually had 60 guests at the wedding and most of them stayed at the Pelicanos.
The wedding pre-planning was a breeze with the help of Mauricio and Leaslie. We weren't sure how the setting would be, but it was stunning. A jetty onto the ocean, a romantic setting for dinner Oceanside, great food and superb service. They even provided a piñata for the children attending. So cute.
As far as the resort itself we were very impressed. We have stayed at many 3 - 4 star resorts in Mexico over the years and this is one of the best. The first thing that stands out is the service. The employees we encountered were awesome. They take pride in their job and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We loved the food, but it wasn't for everyone. Which is often the case at AI. One of our favourites was the Italian a la carte. On our second week they changed the menu, so we got to try even more yummy dishes.
The resort gets very busy on the weekends. Again the staff are very organized and keep things running smoothly. We tried to plan our 'off resort' activities during the weekend, so wasn't much of an issue.
We didn't have trouble finding a beach chair when we wanted one. Towels were always available. Yes the beach area in front of the hotel is smaller, but don't forget that all the beaches are public, so you can walk as far as you want in both directions.
We took part in different activities around the resort. We did attend a presentation at the Sunset Plaza. That is a beautiful resort! For our time we got some resort credits that we used for massages and also discounts on our tours. The presentation was informative and once we made it clear we would not be buying there was no pressure.
Our granddaughter loved the Kid's Club. The bartenders would make the kid's a Mickey Mouse or Sponge Bob drink which they loved. As far as the 'adult drinks' go everything that we had was great. The red wine they serve is very nice.
We were lucky to have perfect weather for our 2 week stay. It was a great vacation and we would not hesitate to stay at the Pelicanos again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank charpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews