We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Ranked #43 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
ONT, CANADA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Met our expectations. The staff were all really friendly and the service was great. The place is clean. The food was ok. For us vegetarians in the family, the selection in the buffet was limited and repetitive but non-vegitarians family members thought it was ok. On a la carte dinner nights, the food was served cold. Great salsa though. We made use of the local bus (that happens to stop right out front) to take us into town. It was quiet for the first couple days and we enjoyed the pool side room and patio that we had. Then the hotel filled up and it was very loud with people and over cranked music. The beach side pool was great. Be careful not to step on the clusters of spiny sea urchins on the man made reef in the water! This is very painful and it is almost impossible to remove all the needles that bury themselves under the skin!
In general it is a nice hotel and a good place to be based out of but I would definitely recommend getting out of the hotel and spending your time in PV going into town and exploring the south end where there are fabulous sites, restaurants, and attractions. As mentioned the local bus is super easy to manage (convenient and one comes by every couple minutes) but the taxi service once you are away from the airport is also very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JOANNE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    694
    358
    113
    85
See reviews for
828
470
65
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Our son & his now wife wanted to have a destination wedding. As we all love PV it was the first destination choice. We looked for a budget resort so all our family and friends from across Canada (and even Seoul, S. Korea) could afford to join us. We actually had 60 guests at the wedding and most of them stayed at the Pelicanos.
The wedding pre-planning was a breeze with the help of Mauricio and Leaslie. We weren't sure how the setting would be, but it was stunning. A jetty onto the ocean, a romantic setting for dinner Oceanside, great food and superb service. They even provided a piñata for the children attending. So cute.
As far as the resort itself we were very impressed. We have stayed at many 3 - 4 star resorts in Mexico over the years and this is one of the best. The first thing that stands out is the service. The employees we encountered were awesome. They take pride in their job and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We loved the food, but it wasn't for everyone. Which is often the case at AI. One of our favourites was the Italian a la carte. On our second week they changed the menu, so we got to try even more yummy dishes.
The resort gets very busy on the weekends. Again the staff are very organized and keep things running smoothly. We tried to plan our 'off resort' activities during the weekend, so wasn't much of an issue.
We didn't have trouble finding a beach chair when we wanted one. Towels were always available. Yes the beach area in front of the hotel is smaller, but don't forget that all the beaches are public, so you can walk as far as you want in both directions.
We took part in different activities around the resort. We did attend a presentation at the Sunset Plaza. That is a beautiful resort! For our time we got some resort credits that we used for massages and also discounts on our tours. The presentation was informative and once we made it clear we would not be buying there was no pressure.
Our granddaughter loved the Kid's Club. The bartenders would make the kid's a Mickey Mouse or Sponge Bob drink which they loved. As far as the 'adult drinks' go everything that we had was great. The red wine they serve is very nice.
We were lucky to have perfect weather for our 2 week stay. It was a great vacation and we would not hesitate to stay at the Pelicanos again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank charpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Pelicanos twice before but this time was a real disappointment. What should have been a relaxing trip left a lot to be desired. The music in the courtyard was very loud and one night unbearable 9-11pm when we were tired from our arrival. Other times in the pool area the music was so loud we could not hear out TV or sit outside on the patio.When the hotel was very busy on the weekends there were children running and shouting in the hallways at all hours.The karaoke bar went on til 4am and we could hear that too. The food was very boring and I did not expect weiners in a lot of dishes and fake crab in the seafood dishes.Every meat dish was in a sauce. Several times we had to ask for a new cup as there were cracks in the cups.
We asked 3 times for blankets and face clothes. It was clean.
We ended up leaving 3 days early as we couldn't take it anymore. Don't recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Laurella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our family loves Puerto Vallarta for its vivacity, kid-friendlyness, amazing weather and sweet people so when my fiancé and I finally decided to get married, it was a no brainer. We found a great deal on a flight and hotel to Plaza Pelicanos Beach Club Resort and we are so glad we booked it. Our wedding planner Maurizio was amazing and kept in close contact with us the whole way. The wedding itself was magnificent, on a jetty into the water (whales in the background!) and they played our favourite songs for us. The reception was between the ocean and the pool (which was closed just for us) and the decoration was above our expectations (our wedding colours, bird of paradise flowers, a pink sunset). The staff liked our group of 60 so much some of them asked to work our wedding (shout outs to new friends Juan Luis, Eduardo, Claudio, Daniel, and many many more!) People complain about food but we found it just fine. They made special food for our picky kids and there was tons of amazing baking and fresh fruit. Plus a bar by the pool with nachos and burgers: yum! The a la cartes were amazing and varied (and for the price of your stay, go out for dinner on the Malecon and experience real PV! why not?)

Room Tip: There are actually two buildings for the Beach Club and we were in the far one as we had a suite. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We arrived at the Pelicanos with the idea it was going to be at least a 3 star hotel. We found the first impression of the hotel to be less than that. The rooms were clean and had the essentials but lacked any extra ammenities.

The buffet was mundane and again it provided the essentials but left us not looking forward to the next meal. They did have a hamburger stand that provided hamburgers and snacks and that seemed to be better than the buffet.

The drinks were watered down but they did provide any kind that you wanted. We were not limited to local alchol.

The upside of the hotel was its staff. I have never stayed at a hotel where the staff was so helpful and really anticipated your needs before you even knew what you wanted. 10 stars for the staff.

Would I stay here again....probably not. It was a definite favorite with the local populations and they arrived by the bus load...which made the poolside area almost impossible to enjoy. Everyone was packed in like sardines and to find a lounge chair was almost impossible unless you arrived at 7AM to reserve.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie19552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

stayed here one week (should have made it two), very nice surroundings and accommodations.
staff are absolutely fantastic, can't do enough for you, always pleasant and very friendly.
chambermaid "Karen" was always 125% always little extras with a smile.
favorite pool-side bar-tender "Armando" also 125%, terrific guy!
food okay, service "excellent"
many fun activities all the time, beautiful beach, and grounds, lots of amenities within short walking distance. service, service, service excellent from the moment we arrived to the moment we departed. we will definitely vacation here again !!!

Room Tip: can be a bit noisy, rooms facing pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garf27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I was at the resort from Nov 22 - 29, and loved it! It's a small resort, but the stay was absolutely fantastic. The rooms were clean, grounds were beautiful and tidy, food was good, but the staff made it amazing. We were part of a wedding group, and the event location was stunning.

Reviews stated that this was a 3 star resort, but they have a 5+ star staff! We always had drinks, food, and felt like we were part of a family. Eduardo and Claudio were absolutely amazing, Juan Luis was funny and charming, and Daniel was like an old friend. I would recommend this resort in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.5 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.5 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Reso...
#35 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort

Property: Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Address: Diego Rivera 120 Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 5 minutes to downtown Puerto Vallarta, at Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort entertainment is always available: all day long and beyond the sunset, there is a full activities program for all ages that suits your wish to live it up in paradise; from beach and swimming pool contests to theme nights with live music and karaoke. All rooms fully furnished with two twins or one king size bed (view and type of bed is subject to availability), air conditioning, safety deposit box, fully marble equipped bathroom and bathrooms amenities. Non beach front section, access to the beach (walking steps) crossing a private street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter and HRS so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing